Customer Reviews for

Hill 488

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    i would recommend this book to anyone looking to find a first ha

    i would recommend this book to anyone looking to find a first hand account of an intense 10-1 odds battle from the vietnam war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    very good I would Recommended it

    I would recommended this book it tell the true about Vet-Nam...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    HOORA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    "It is well that war is so terrible, for we humans would grow fond of it." -General Robert E. Lee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    Great read....Hero's all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    For the soldiers

    The authir brought the battle into my home. There were times I didn't want to continue to read. Not because of the writing but because I was so overwhelmed by the consequenes of war. My father was a Korea and Vietnam vet. Some of my friends went to Vietnam and now Afghanistan. I felt sick knowing my family and friends experienced such tragedy as was described. This book needs to be read by all. With hope we can learn how to avoid what happened to a group of men and teenagers on a hill that nobody wanted. My respect for our soldiers past, present, and future. Where does your bravery come from?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Excellent

    A great account of an epic battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Like any non-fiction it starts slowly as the actual participants are identified. You will finally hit a point in the book where you cannot put it down, unfortunately that moment for me was around midnight, so it was 4:00 AM when I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Amazing!

    This is a book that deserves to be read because of the story it holds. This book is entrancing and extremely well written, but most of all it honors those marines who fought and died on that hilltop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Great book. Realistic account of Marine Recon and command errors in the Vietnam conflict.

    A must read for those of us who served in the military but did not experience combat operations in Vietnam This book illustrates the value of superior training and combat effectiveness of the US Marines. As a retired member of the US Army, having trained US Marines at the Army Intelligence School I have the highest regar for them, espcially those who graduated from the Counterintelligence Course and went on to serve in Vietnam. The book also points out the weakness of command elements in sending a small, lightly armed unit out on a barren hill without having a viable extraction plan. The book also details the fact the as a general rule the Vietnamese fighting abilities were discounted by those in authority, but not by the EM who fought the battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Thank you Mr.Hildreth

    A ferocious battle. Mr. Hildreth described in chapter 55. My father-in-law, Major William J. Goodsell U.S.M.C. service, duty and death in a light that describes his brother and brotherhood that will show the endurance,spirit,duty and honor of the United States Marine Corps. Therefore, I am biased, thank you for all those who served and gave the American way in this campaign.

    Respectfully Submitted,
    Family and friends of S.Guy Pellegrini & Terri Goodsell-Pellegrini

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    A Must Read

    Like any true story, it has it's slow moments, as characters are identified and the moment of destiny arrives. Then it takes off like no other action story before or since. A true inspiration for all who have worn the globe and anchor. Semper Fi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    Hard core devil dogs.

    This book is survival of the fittest, and what some hard core devil dogs can do in a life and death sittuation. good book overall, non-stop killing, the devil dog way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2