Customer Reviews for

A Hint of Wicked

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    WARRIORS DEN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    I loved this book and found myself rooting for both of the main men! I bought the sequels immediately! Love this Author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    A permanent addition to my library

    This is a novel that i will definitely read again and I am happy that i found such a talented new author. I've bought the others in this series and look forward to reading them soon. Ms. Haymore's writing is top notch. She brought the multi dimensional characters to life and had me vying for them all. I really wasn't certain how this would end as she kept me guessing the whole way through. I was written eloquently and believably. I didn't want this bittersweet romance to end. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Hint of Wicked is not only a hint of greatness but a shout of wonderful!

    Sophie James had served as the Duchess of Carlton with her first husband Garrett James Duke of Carlton and also with her present husband Tristan Westcliff. She loves both men equally but married the second husband with the belief the first had died. Much to Sophie's surprise and dismay Garrett reappears in her life and bedroom declaring that he is very much alive and they are still married. What is a woman to do with two husbands knowing only one that can remain?

    Tristan married Sophie the love of his life & he is prepared to give everything up but he will fight for Sophie because he like Garrett has loved her since their childhood days. Garrett may have gotten to Sophie first but Tristan feels he has the right to stay since he has been there waiting for Garrett's return. They searched for him and mourned his loss but were able to move on in each other's arms and fall in love and Tristan plans to keep it that way. Garrett disagrees and wants him out of his house, away from his wife, his life and hopefully London.

    But so much has changed in the years since he left especially Garrett. He had lost his memory when injured at Waterloo and spent his years as a peasant farmer basically in servitude to stay alive. However, when William Fisk finds him in Belgium everything again seems to fall into place for Garrett. Fisk appears to be Garrett's salvation but not everyone in convinced of this - mainly Sophie. How is it this man, Fisk, is so conveniently around to find Garret and to be his salvation. She is leery of this man and truly does not think he is on Garrett's side.

    There is much obvious tension as all these details of who is really married to Sophie, who is going to keep the title and property and most important of all whom will Sophie stay with. She has always been the peacemaker between the two of them and she is not good with conflict. But conflict is the least of her issues as she sees the two men she loves so much tearing each other apart emotionally as well as physically. She has to make a decision and while not pleasant it is necessary for their salvation but one of the men in her life has to leave.

    When Garrett's memories come back to him they are not all pleasant or comfortable, but he does remember what a wonderful friend he had in Tristan and that they were brothers in their hearts if not by blood. But as decisions are being made on the future the plot thickens as the present and past are coming back to haunt everyone. Gossips are wagging, the papers are printing lies about the family and Garrett appears to be going mad.

    Sophie is front and center at the end of the fighting and legal dramas because she is caught loving two men but can only have one. While she dreams of having the both of them in her life and bed this is not a realistic possibility and she knows she has to let one go. But which one owns her heart and feeds her soul. Which one is the light for her and will keep her warm and safe throughout her life. Which one...

    This book was such a groundbreaking read for me and a delight. With the 2 husbands, mysterious past coming back and Sophie dreaming of a life that includes two men all this scandal was giving me the vapors I don't believe I have ever read a book when it appears that the heroine is conflicted between responsibility and following her heart especially when her hearts tells her that one husband may not be enough.

    Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reivewer at www.mar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Haymore provides a thrilling historical romance

    Seven years ago her husband went off to war, but never came back. The Duchess of Carlton Sophie assumed he died as did everyone else, but she remained patient. Finally after all that time, the court declares Lord Carlton dead. -------------

    In 1823 Sophie marries her late spouse's cousin and best friend Tristan who inherited the ducal title. However, soon afterward her first husband Garrett comes home; he suffered from amnesia after the Battle of Waterloo. Garrett feels betrayed by Tristan as he claims his title and his wife. The squabble between the two men is over Sophie who cares for both of them; she must choose one, but fears the impact on her children and for the one she rejects as fate has created for her an untenable triangle.--------------

    Though a spouse declared legally dead coming home to find his or her mate married to someone else has been done many times (for instance the movies Move Over Darling and My Favorite Wife), HINT OF WICKED is an exhilarating regency romance refreshed by the era and the strong triangular cast. The trio are real kindhearted people struggling with reality of loving and caring for one and concern over the kids. Jennifer Haymore provides a thrilling historical that will have sub-genre fans wondering who is Sophie's choice.--------------

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Regency at its Best!

    Author Jennifer Haymore grew up in Hawaii, where she surfed, learned how to fly airplanes, raced bicycles, and developed a love for sailing. She has a bachelor's degree in Computer Science from UC Berkeley and a master's degree in Education from UCLA. Before she became a full-time writer she held various jobs from bookselling to teaching inner-city children to playing bit roles in soap operas. A Hint of Wicked is her first published title. Jennifer resides in Southern California with her husband and their three children.
    When Sophie's husband, Garrett, died at the battle of Waterloo, it was their childhood friend, Tristan who picked her up and helped the Duchess of Calton get over the tragedy. Giving her body and soul to him, Tristan introduced her to a passion she never knew. Now married seven years later, they are happy with their newly formed family and life together. That is until Garrett returns and wants his land, his title, and his wife back. Garrett, scarred in both body and mind, will do anything to regain all of his memories and make up for lost time. Unsure which man she is even legally married to, Sophie is forced to choose between the childhood love from then, and the best friend she grew to love after. As the two men battle for her affections, Sophie begins to question the motives behind the man Garrett brought home with him- a supposed confidant and war hero. They soon discover that this is more than a question of love, it is a dangerous game of revenge and reprisal. One in which someone may not survive.
    The only fault I can find with the book was the title. I understand why it was chosen, or used, but it didn't seem a great fit for me.
    I have to give a lot of credit to the author, Jennifer Haymore. To use this plot in a regency historical romance, and in a debut novel no doubt, was brave, unique, and intriguing. So, bravo Jennifer! She truly understands the style and period for regency. The characters were relatable and engaging. You could feel their frustration and torment seeping out of the page. The secondary characters moved the plot along nicely and were charming, as well. There weren't any moments throughout the story where I lost interest, nor were where any dead spots. The setting was spectacular and you could envision it easily.
    A Hint of Wicked is a clever, provoking, and steamy story from an upcoming author to keep your eye out for!
    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1