Customer Reviews for

Hip-Hop High School

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    A MUST READ IF YOU LIKE HIP-HOP!!!

    Dang, why can't more books be like this? I laughed, I was on the edge of my seat, the true spirit of hip-hop was captured on the pages -- I ain't never read a book like this. Plus the fact that it portrays minorities in a positive light is just such an amazing element -- like we never see that in books. So much of this stuff is just too true about schools and the people who attend them. Man, just DEEP!!! After reading about Tee-Ay I am inspired like no book never before did for me. This book is a MUST read!! I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    HIP HOP? Then this is a MUST READ. The book was overall amaz

    HIP HOP? Then this is a MUST READ.




    The book was overall amazing,  amazing because it’s about a girl that goes to a highschool mainly recognizwed for its Hip hop talent between the students.Her first day at school was a interesting way to start her high school adventures, with almost getting caught cheating in her fist day of instruction.   The book keep me very interested on to keep reading it, it left anxious to finish the book and wasn’t boring at all. The main reason I personally likedf the booked it used a lot of slang language,  which is used in a lot in our present time in high school. Mr. Sitomer wrote the book with giving the messegae about no matter what kind of problems they are going on around you, you should always over take them and reach to your goal, which in this case was to pass the SAT. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    this is a vevry good book that hepl kids understand life and wat

    this is a vevry good book that hepl kids understand life and wat certain people go through i love athe book and can read it over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Recommended

    As a sophmore Theresa Anderson, known to her friends as Tee-Ay, struggles through same difficult measures. Theresa struggles to survive high school, and also dealing with her best friends pregnancy, a drive by shooting, poverty, and discimination. Theresa and her friend Devon and he helps her to get her life on track.As soon as she gets to the slightest bit of hope, Devon gets shot in a drive-by. It is up to Theresa to have a brighter future. She is in the shawdow of her "overachieving" brother Andre.This book is a eye opener

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. It was real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Meet Theresa Anderson, known to her friends as Tee-Ay. Alan Lawrence Sitomer has captured Tee-Ay's struggle to survive high school and make it to college, and at the same time deal with some serious issues -- drive-by shootings, discrimination, and poverty. HIP-HOP HIGH SCHOOL presents big-city teens with big-city problems in a realistic, yet positive and inspiring story. <BR/><BR/>As a sophomore, Tee-Ay is finding it difficult to measure up to her older brother, Andre. (His story is told in Sitomer's HOOPSTER.) He is attending Stanford, and Tee-Ay thinks it would be great to be accepted at USC someday so she could tease Andre when USC kicks Stanford's butt in football. Attending a top-notch university seems like a pretty lofty goal, but Tee-Ay is willing to fight for it. <BR/><BR/>The story takes Tee-Ay and her fellow classmates through 10th, 11th, and 12th grade to graduation. Along the way she watches one friend, Cee-Saw, become pregnant and drop out, and another almost lose sight of her goals due to family obligations. One positive force in Tee-Ay's life is Devon, who helps her tap into her true potential as they study together for the dreaded SAT -- their ticket to a brighter future. <BR/><BR/>Sitomer uses hip-hop language to create vivid characters that grab the reader and carry them through right to the end. Big-city teens will be able to relate to the situations, and more sheltered teens will be transported to a world beyond their own. <BR/><BR/>Note: Although this is listed above as grades 9+, many of my 8th-grade students have read and enjoyed it. In fact, when several of them saw me reading it, they immediately commented about how much they liked it. So many other students are requesting it now, we will probably need to hold some sort of lottery to determine the next reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Hip Hop era

    Hip Hop High School is very fast paced.I couldn't put it down even if i wanted to! Theresa Anderson aka TEE-AYE is a very intelligent young lady with an attitude to match, sometimes a little bit to much attitude. This book takes place from her sophmore year through her senior year. She has alot to deal with that happens in those three years. He best friend stops coming to school, her other friend got pregnant, and the guy she has the hugest crush on, well you just have to read it and see what happens. But the most important thing is that she is studing for her SAT's when all of these things happen. I really enjoyed this book because is it tells young girls that grow up in a ruff enviroment that their is hope and you can go to collage. So the only thing that would be stopping you would be yourself. This is an excellent read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    YOUR HANDS WOULD BE GLUED TO THE BOOK!!!!

    Theresa Anderson a.k.a TEE-AY, is a teenager in high school, going through life trying to fight her way up the education scale! Along the way she copes with her friend who is going through a pregnancy, her best friend gets shot,and she struggles to pass the SAT. This book is not like any other and everyone could relate especially teenagers in high school! I love this book and would read it all over again without hesitation!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Meet Theresa Anderson, known to her friends as Tee-Ay. Alan Lawrence Sitomer has captured Tee-Ay's struggle to survive high school and make it to college, and at the same time deal with some serious issues -- drive-by shootings, discrimination, and poverty. HIP-HOP HIGH SCHOOL presents big-city teens with big-city problems in a realistic, yet positive and inspiring story. As a sophomore, Tee-Ay is finding it difficult to measure up to her older brother, Andre. (His story is told in Sitomer's HOOPSTER.) He is attending Stanford, and Tee-Ay thinks it would be great to be accepted at USC someday so she could tease Andre when USC kicks Stanford's butt in football. Attending a top-notch university seems like a pretty lofty goal, but Tee-Ay is willing to fight for it. The story takes Tee-Ay and her fellow classmates through 10th, 11th, and 12th grade to graduation. Along the way she watches one friend, Cee-Saw, become pregnant and drop out, and another almost lose sight of her goals due to family obligations. One positive force in Tee-Ay's life is Devon, who helps her tap into her true potential as they study together for the dreaded SAT -- their ticket to a brighter future. Sitomer uses hip-hop language to create vivid characters that grab the reader and carry them through right to the end. Big-city teens will be able to relate to the situations, and more sheltered teens will be transported to a world beyond their own. Note: Although this is listed above as grades 9+, many of my 8th-grade students have read and enjoyed it. In fact, when several of them saw me reading it, they immediately commented about how much they liked it. So many other students are requesting it now, we will probably need to hold some sort of lottery to determine the next reader. **Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka 'Readingjunky'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Great book

    I felt that this book relates to some of the problems that goes around in life. I picked this book after reading Hoopster (which is one of the books in the triology). I really enjoyed this book and how the main character Tee-ay goes to hip hop when she wants to tune out her problems. This book is 'real' in the way it shows what problems Tee-ay goes trough, like studing for the SAT and having a friend being pregnat at a early age. I really enjoyed this book. This book is worth your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    This book is GREAT!!!!

    This book is so good. Im not a reader at all. I dont like to read and I finished this book in one day. It is very inspirational and also helps with the SATs. I love this book. I will say this is the best book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1