Customer Reviews for

A Hip-Hop Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Put it Down

    Just Wow! It's a haunting read, all these years later I still find myself thinking about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Wowz!

    Im only on like chapter 7 and im in love with this book. Wow its so detailed you just cant turn away! Im going to finish reading right now lolz!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    EXCELLENT B00K

    this b00k is one of the best books i read so far its great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    HOOKED

    Your hooked by the second page. This book I read three times and had to re-buy twice. If you love hip hop and a darn good book, A Hip Hop Story is it!! Big ups to Huru Patah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    This Book was 'off-the chain'

    This book was very factual. The author used gruesome detail to describe the hip-hop industry. He uncovered the true reality behind the lives of most rappers that came from the streets. I like how he incorporated real-life issues with the rhymes of the characters, Flawless and Hannibal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Off the chain!

    This book was so real. It captured all the aspects of the true hip-hop culture. It was a page turner from cover to cover. Anyone who enjoys battle rap will enjoy it. The lyrics are excellent. Everything about the story was real, from the battles to the love story with Ericka and Micah to the deaths. All of it was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    Classic

    Everybody is not a novel reader. But if you like hip-hop, are interested in contract negotiations, behind-the-scenes coverage of hip-hop performances, the love between a man and a woman, ghost writing, or the effect hip-hop has on its fan base, please pick up A Hip Hop Story by Heru Ptah. If you don¿t want to read the whole book, just check out one of the strongest chapters in the whole novel, Chapter 32. Ptah has mastered the art of writing about critical events (i.e. war, politics, violence, etc.) in a conversational matter when no other writers so far have been able to do this without preaching. Even better, he does it through the eyes of two fictionalized hip-hop artists with totally different backgrounds, lifestyles, and philosophies. Flawless, the exceptional pretty boy who has a major talent for lyrics, is the infamous freestyle battler who beat Hannibal, the raunchier, in-your-face lyricist. After that freestyle, they have gone back and forth down the road to their future. They both share one dream though: to get to the top of hip-hop music. I won¿t lie to you. There were some spots where I wanted to pull out the violins. I used to say women made love sound corny, but this book proves that men do too. Ptah should¿ve asked some women how it felt to lose their virginity cause the whole ¿wanting him deeper and deeper¿ deal was completely inaccurate. But anyway, the author made impressive points like the difference between an industry audience during a performance as opposed to a public audience. (If you saw the reaction to Lil¿ Jon & the Ying Yang Twins on the Vibe Awards, you¿ll understand his point). He spoke on the sometimes-overprotective love between siblings. He spoke on the problems with holding onto friendships when a hip-hop career becomes successful. He even speaks on the power of words during battling sessions, adding along several freestyles of the fictional characters. Ptah even adds as much humor as he does realism in a part so surprising all I can say is read Book Five. Better yet, just read the whole book. It¿s worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    This is GREAT!

    I bought this book from the author who was selling copies on the train last year. It is incredible book! I'm so happy to see he got published! CONGRATSQ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    A masterpiece

    I read an advance copy sent to a magazine, and I gotta say this book is amazing. It's an incredibly intelligent story about two rival rappers as they keep crossing paths. It's realistic to the point of being painful as it shows elements of Tupac, Biggie, Nas and Jay-Z. If you love Hip-Hop then you should read this. If you don't love Hip-Hop then you need to read this to understand why the rest of us love it with such passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1