Customer Reviews for

Hiroshima

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You'll love this book!

Hiroshima, by John Hersey, is a historical book about two women, and four men that survived the atomic bomb on August 6th, 1945. It talks about what the six survivors were doing when the bomb went off, what they had to go through for many months, what sorts of devistati...
Hiroshima, by John Hersey, is a historical book about two women, and four men that survived the atomic bomb on August 6th, 1945. It talks about what the six survivors were doing when the bomb went off, what they had to go through for many months, what sorts of devistation did they see, and their emotions. Their emotions like in mourning, dissapointment, anger, sadness, or relief. This book also shows a lot about the Japanese culture. Its also a good book because it doesnt just give you facts, but stories that will stay in your mind. This book might be a little gruesome since the bomb caused such chaos and killed many.If you're looking for a good historical book that tells both sides of the story : the American side and the Japanese side, this is a good book. However, in the begining, I was confused about the characters. There are six characters making it hard to follow each individual without getting cunfused on who is who. However, later on in the book, some people tie together in each others lives making it easier to remember who is each character.

posted by 4914845 on October 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

John Hersey, a devoted writer and editor, tells the tales of six survivors who lived through the greatest single manmade disaster in history, in the book Hiroshima. The vivid descriptions of the experiences these people went thorough gave me chills. The scenes sounded t...
John Hersey, a devoted writer and editor, tells the tales of six survivors who lived through the greatest single manmade disaster in history, in the book Hiroshima. The vivid descriptions of the experiences these people went thorough gave me chills. The scenes sounded too disturbing to even be true. But the entire book was very factual. Roads being so hot they were soft, human flesh slipping off from the lightest touch, and humans vanishing with only ash outlines to prove their existence. These descriptions were told so well they sound unimaginable. Although this book was interesting to read, I found myself getting bored and distracted easily. The lack of dialogue and a main plot made me get lost throughout the story and unexcited to keep reading. Although I was bored when reading most of the novel, I felt very compassionate towards these survivors, for they had risked their lives to help others in need. I was able to connect with this story because I visited the city of Hiroshima a couple years ago. The city is bustling and lively, filled with people. I couldn't imagine the horror these six survivors went through. I got to see the A-bomb dome, the largest building still existing from the time the bomb was dropped. The Sadako statue filled with colorful cases and thousands of cranes makes me happy that our world is striving for peace. But the images I witnessed in the peace memorial looked so similarly to the mental pictures I could visualize while reading. If someone were interested in Japanese history and facts then I would highly recommend this book. But for a person looking for an exciting story and plot I wouldn't. Overall this was a very decent book that informed me but didn't hold my attention through out the whole novel.

posted by keritera on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A moving story, told from the accounts of actual Hiroshima survi

    A moving story, told from the accounts of actual Hiroshima survivors. Captures, in great detail, the brutality, stupidity, and even integrity of the human race, showing the contrast between U.S. and Japan's cultural differences. How an average Japanese citizen feels to blame that he be the only uninjured soul among countless dead. I actually felt his pain... It hurt. He had to make the toughest decisions. Decisions that nobody should ever have to make. But that was considered normal under the circumstance. In a chaotic Japanese city in ruin, six survivors tell their tale. ~E.M.M~ "Truly Solid all together." ~SFm~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    A Different Point of View

    This story was told simply. It felt as though you were reading a reporter's story notes. You get a true sense of the horror and confusion of the day and those that followed.
    It is interesting to follow each person from where they were at the momoment of impact. As they move through that day and the next days, weeks and months (then years), it is interesting to see how various people react to the same event and how little decisions make a difference in the outcome.
    It is good to know the impact of war. No matter how much you believe in the cause and support the actions taken, there is a cost. If we lose sight of the ramifications of waging war - that it does take lives of real people- then war will become too easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    AP World History review: Why this book was great, and Why I High

    AP World History review: Why this book was great, and Why I Highly Recommend it

    John Hersey crafted an amazing novel with his book Hiroshima. The book was about 4 men and 2 women who risked their lives to help others in need, and who were all heavily affected by the dropping of the A-bomb. This book helped me to understand just how devastating the bomb was to the Japanese people, and really illustrated the destructiveness of the bomb and the ensuing radioactivity. John Hersey really does a great job at providing another perspective to the dropping of the atomic bomb, and his descriptive word choice kept me in an anticipatory mood throughout the whole book. I feel as if the author's purpose of writing this novel was to really show the american public just how destructive and devastating the atomic bomb was to the japanese people and to Hiroshima. He does a great job of this by keeping the audience hooked with his awesome word choice. He also utilizes different perspectives between people of different ethnicities to really reach out to different audiences. Overall I feel as if John Hersey's masterful writing led to the broadened horizon in peoples perspective around the world regarding the dropping of the Atomic Bomb.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

           My first impression before even opening this book was tha

           My first impression before even opening this book was that it would be a boring war or natural disaster report on the bombing of 
    Hiroshima. That is definitely not the case. This book is a fast pace, heart wrenching description of the devastating effects of the atomic
    bomb on Japan. It is told from the life stories of six lucky survivors of the bombing which adds to the sadness and violence of the 
    bombing knowing that it was told from these real life experiences. It also lets us see a different side of Japan's history that was once 
    never considered to affect our history of the United States.  
            So i would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a good history driven novel that has multiple very good messages
    throughout the novel. It is very helpful in describing all the long-term effects atomic bombs have on Japan and its effect on all of the
    world. It also helps explain about military might and how it effects the war around the world, like the United States using the first
    atomic bomb opening a new way in military technology. It also opened a new way in medical technology due to the aftermath effects of
    radiation on the Japanese people. Everyone should read this book because it gives you a new perspective on life and makes you
    appreciate the almost non-affeced western world in wars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had to read this for a Japanese history class and it was amazi

    I had to read this for a Japanese history class and it was amazing. I honestly think every person should read this book. There are a few things to note however...
    1. If you're looking for a plot-driven story do not read this book. This book covers the accounts of several survivors of the atomic bomb so this isn't like filled with Good vs. Evil or plot twists, it is simply what happened.
    2. It is graphic. I love horror movies and have watched them since I was little without any issue and even I got ill from reading some of the descriptions.
    3. It can be confusing. The book is separated by time, not characters. By that I mean it is sectioned into like "before the bomb" "the bombing" "etc. Therefore the stories of the characters are intermixed and overlap. It's a little jarring to go between several characters quickly, especially if you don't remember names well.
    4. This book isn't like World War Z where the characters are describing the events, instead it is described from third person so it gives it less of a realistic feeling. Just fyi. Even after those comments I would still recommend the book to everyone, it is heartbreaking and gives you another view of what happened during the war. It certainly won't be liked by everyone, no book ever is, but it is a fascinating read nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    genius at work

    genius at work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Real

    A real story of real people. Devastatingly harsh in reality. This book was a great read! Makes you feel grateful for the things you have and resentful against the warlike nature of human beings. MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Hiroshima by John Hersey

    The book Hiroshima by John Hersey is valuable as a historical documentary and a primary source. He interviews six people who survived the atomic bombing of Hiroshima. This book gives us information about what it was like for these people when the bomb was dropped and in the hours and days following the devastation. Then the author goes back forty years later to interview them again, so we see the lasting effects the bombing had on their lives. The author writes in the fact based and unemotional style of a journalist, but we get the thoughts and emotions of the survivors as they tell their stories. The author also incorporates historical data from sources such as statisticians and scientists. He provides details about the three stages of radiation sickness and well as the long-term effects on the human body. Furthermore, he raises questions about the morality of total war (war against civilians as well as soldiers). The book is easy to read, heart-wrenching, and very informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Hiroshima is for anyone!

    I utilize this book to teach about World War II, the role of technology in warfare and to give a different perspective of the perceived "enemy" during WWII. Students tend to get a greater understanding of the local Japanese population and relate that to the American populace. This book is also a great conversation provoking read on the topic of atomic/nuclear weapons and their role in the modern era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    good

    good shows the life of survivors and what they did to help the lives of their fellow hiroshimans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    Incredibly Moving

    This book kept me reading until I finished it, I couldn't put it down. Heresey brings the reader into the book and makes him feel what the charecters are feeling. A book about one of the most important events in history, the only use of an atomic bomb, a must read for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Hiroshima

    This book was very well written, it contains bits and pieces of journalistic facts while using the lives of ordinary people to show the impact of the bomb dropped on Hiroshima in a compassionate and perceptive voice. John Hersey uses facts and the recollections of those who survived to weave a truely remarkable tale of what happens when one decision changes the lives of many. This novel contains bits and pieces of people's lives before and after the atomic bomb had been dropped. Although the book may seem short, the time that you spend thinking about the book is actually quite long. This book is not a light and happy read, it is not some classic that becomes cliqued and quoted all too many times, but what it is is an admirable tale spun not by the author himself, but by the lives of those who managed to do the near impossible. This novel tells the story of those who managed to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    KNOWLEDGE ABOUT HIROSHIMA

    Hiroshroma was a great book if you like stories set back in the middle of war. The story told six peoples stories form the moment the bomb droped till they either died of cancer or some affect of the war or till they were to old to care. The story told first hand the events that took place and what each person was doing at the time the bomb shruck Hiroshima. The book taught me several lessons. If you are the type of person who doesn't read and have a hard time finding a book that keeps your attention this would definately be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Brings to light horrors of the A-bomb

    I picked up this book on a great recommendation from my mother and was suprised to find it extremely captivating. Each page is filled with this kind of detached horror as the people of Hiroshima were drained emotionally and physically from the bombing. One reviewer wanted more emotion in the book. More emotion from a people so ravaged by war, so filled with death and destruction they scarce could move? As said before, the people of Hiroshima were drained by everything they saw. Repeated throughout the book, the people of Hiroshima died quietly with unbearable burns and injuries. The suffering of these people pulls you through each page and shows that the anguish that these people went through was tremendously surreal. And even with that, the pain was with them till the day they died. The 'hibakusha', as the people of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings were called, endured discriminations because of disabilities caused by the bombing. John Hersey takes these people's stories and accurately describes the scene's that unfolded before them. Death became just another word

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Read In High School

    I think we all read this in high school for the most part, But just learning about our country's history interested me. But this book caught my attention. Along with The Civil War. I have plans of having my children read this before they go to high school. Its heartwrenching, but deep down I know innocent people died just to end a war. Same as our troops did being there. I know its part of War, but there were children involved. We could have ended this a different way. But This book is a very good book to read and learn about our history. They should introduce this to children in middle school. It's history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    HAUNTING AND UNFORGETTABLE

    Hersey's slim yet haunting work is among the best ever written on the subject of war as a shattering experience. Spare yet rich, evocative yet strangely calm, it is singular amid similar titles. Very recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    the after math of hiroshima

    This book is a great book it showed me the other side of the story. The carnige and sarrow the jappanes people endured after the bomb was droped on them.Because to us we saw it more as a end to a war and that it was great because we were saving live, but never realy imagined how much more sarow and death the bomb would bring.This book does a great job at explaining both sides and showing you what it was realy like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    The Bomb that Came before Nagasaki

    This was a great book that really told what happened in the proper manner. MOst of all it wasn't nearly as gory as I thought it would be. Also is a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    THE BOOK IS GREAT

    THIS BOOK IS OTUSTANDING IF YOU LIKE READING THAN YOU SHOULD READ HIROSHIMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Another Perspective

    History is always written from the point of view of the victors. The grave mistake of dropping atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki to "end the war" or as an act of "revenge" makes me wonder about the US conscience. Two wrongs never make a right. The US could at least have warned the civilians to evacuate the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki before dropping the atomic bombs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2