Customer Reviews for

His Bright Light: The Story of Nick Traina

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

My 1st Danielle Steel Book...Ever

I admit it. I've never read a Danielle Steel book. I've never been interested enough, although I know many people who rave about her. Her stories just aren't necessarily my 'cup of tea.' However, I was highly recommended this true-story book about her son's life by a fr...
I admit it. I've never read a Danielle Steel book. I've never been interested enough, although I know many people who rave about her. Her stories just aren't necessarily my 'cup of tea.' However, I was highly recommended this true-story book about her son's life by a friend of mine, so I decided to give it a try. I got to experience DS's flair for writing and its conversational style. It was very easy to read and held my interest. Pages flowed into the next. I can see her widespread appeal. Not only was the story sad yet uplifting, but 'His Bright Light' helped me to understand manic depressive behavior intimately as DS learned it herself over the years. It was quite the lesson in psychology for those who don't want to get bogged down with or can't quite grasp the technical or scientific aspects of it. I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to know more about the disease, her son's life, as well as DS's life. She provides some great autobiographical material for those interested. It's a quick read, and it'll be worth the effort, especially if you know someone with similar challenges in their own life...

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not up to Danielle Steel usual

This is an informative book about bi-polar, but lacks the interest usually associated with Daniell Steel's books. Too detailed on the medical points to hold interest.

posted by 1281227 on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    My 1st Danielle Steel Book...Ever

    I admit it. I've never read a Danielle Steel book. I've never been interested enough, although I know many people who rave about her. Her stories just aren't necessarily my 'cup of tea.' However, I was highly recommended this true-story book about her son's life by a friend of mine, so I decided to give it a try. I got to experience DS's flair for writing and its conversational style. It was very easy to read and held my interest. Pages flowed into the next. I can see her widespread appeal. Not only was the story sad yet uplifting, but 'His Bright Light' helped me to understand manic depressive behavior intimately as DS learned it herself over the years. It was quite the lesson in psychology for those who don't want to get bogged down with or can't quite grasp the technical or scientific aspects of it. I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to know more about the disease, her son's life, as well as DS's life. She provides some great autobiographical material for those interested. It's a quick read, and it'll be worth the effort, especially if you know someone with similar challenges in their own life...

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2001

    The Best Book Ever Written

    The story of Nick Traina, is a touching one. The reason I originaly bought the book was because I am a child psychology major at Santa Monica College, and Manic Depression just caught my attention more than any other mental disorder. Danielle Steel wrote an amzing book about her son Nick and his struggle with manic depression. From the moment I opened the book, I could not put it down. Reading this book opened my eyes. It made me realize what so many people in this world and their families have to live with. Manic Depression is a roller coaster ride,only not nearly as amusing. This book opened my mind and touched my heart. I respect Danielle Steel for being brave enough to re-live all of her sons life by writing his biography so the world could understand this disease better. My hat goes off to her. I recomend every one to read this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    This book saved my life

    This book inspired me at 19 years old to seek help for my manic depression. I at 18 cut my body, vomitted, and cried constantly for whatever un-known reason. My mother found my journal, and immediately saught help for me from many differant clinics, doctors, and books. This story, was heart stopping for me. It showed me my path and also had helped my mom understand a little more what I was going through. Had I not of gotten the help needed I would not be here today. I turn 24 in October. As a mother and a wife now, I realize how important everyday is, and how wonderful it is to have a child. Ms. Steele showed great courage in printing this book, I only hope that more people who have illnesses or know those people who could be suffering seek help.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    A Beautiful Tribute

    Ms. Steele has done an amazing job at casting a light on a silent killer, bi-polar disorder. In this book she discusses her son, Nick, who took his own life due to complications caused by this insideous killer. A must read for anyone with manic depression or anyone dealing with someone who has the illness, you will see hallmark signs and find some rather ingenius ways of handling the disease.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    WOW

    I thought this book was simply amazing. I'm a huge fan of Nick Traina's former band Link 80 and a lot of hardcore/punk/thrash. Reading this book made me notice the challenges he went through and simply amazed me. I've been to a few shows supporting the Nick Traina Foundation. Anybody who respects his musical talent should read this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Amazing

    This is a haunting book that pulls you in and leaves you mourning the lose of Nick. It gave me a better understanding of the struggles of mental illness.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Enlightening

    It was heartbreaking to read but at the same time so informative. Danielle Steel writes beautifully about this most touching family story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    DANIELLE STEEL FAN

    I was always a Danielle Steele fan, loved her books but I didn't know anything personal about her, until I day I took my daughter to the library to do some homework for school. Thats when I came across her book about her son, so sad. I didn't get a chance to finish the book and I didn't want to check it out of the library so I decided to buy it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    If only I'd read this sooner......

    I enjoyed a Mazatlan vacation in 2000 with my best girlfriend, Patti, who was always my best audience and a great 'laugher'. Months later she took her own life. I wish I'd read The Story of Nick Traina in 1998. Now I know so much more about this tragic disease. Wonderfully told, I admire Ms. Steele for presenting her son's life for us so that we can learn to recognize and perhaps help a friend or love one through this disease. Deanna

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Simply amazing

    Read this book. You will not be sorry.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Not up to Danielle Steel usual

    This is an informative book about bi-polar, but lacks the interest usually associated with Daniell Steel's books. Too detailed on the medical points to hold interest.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Really makes you feel like you lost Nick too...

    I was skeptical about this book at first, but I loved it. I promote a drug for Bipolar disorder and I witness everyday the negligence of doctors in diagnosing this disease, especially in primary care. I think this is a great portrait of how Bipolar disorder affects patients and their families. I will recommend this book to the rest of my team.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    I loved it

    I loved this book from the first chapter to the last. I listen to Nick Traina's band Link 80 and Knowledge so I knew some what about him, and that he died from suicide. But I didnt know he had such a serious disorder until I read this book. Some of the things that Nick went through and his family went through I can relate so well. His Bright Light is my favorite book, and I recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    A MOTHER WHO TRULY UNDERSTOOD HERS SONS TORMENTIVE MIND

    As I read this book I cried for her here was a mother who stopped at nothing to save her son from himself. I am a Bipolar with severe manic episodes and throughout my childhood no one picked up on it.I knew something was wrong and I was different,because I was never happy and wanted to die all the time. What Danielle Steel didn't do for her son.If only I would have had such a mother like Nick had,I would not have suffered in such darkness for so long.The courage, understanding,the love she showed her son everyone mother should give to their child as she did hers.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    living daily with bi-polar illness

    D.S. did a great job of letting people who have never lived with this illness see the daily ends and outs. You get to see how they are full of life, funny, loving and so giving of themselves......and then they are the opposite of each of those things. Two people in one body. And each day brings a new journey. How you can never give up no matter how hard or how exhausting the fight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    Claudia a mother who loves her son very much

    It was a wonderful and powerful book. Any mother of a bipolar/manic depress child knows that sometimes what may seem right to one person is not right for the other. It angers me that people judge other peoples decisions on THIER experiences. I know now to never judge anyone on the choices they make. I felt her struggle and could relate to her story all to well. Sending her son off for help was for him and the saftey of others. I had to put my son in the hospital for two weeks and it was the hardest thing to do. I am so glad medicine has come this far. God Bless her and the story Nick left to us to LEARN from. Again a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    TOUCHING

    Never has a book touched me in a way that this one has. From the moment you pick up the book to the moment you put it down (on top of a load of tissues filled with your tears) you feel for the family, you feel apart of this young man. I not only walked away learning about a terrible disorder, but I walked away with a lighter look on life...maybe our problems are not as bad as we think they are..compared to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    His Bright Light: The Story of Nick Traina

    It's 0015hr, I have just finished this book. It evokes so much feelings...such powerful selfless love, trust, dejection, laughter, hope, disappoinment, strength, courage, fear,... Every page that i flipped, i'm so scared to read that he's dead. But come page 383, my tears flow even more uncontrollably. i wanna scream out loud...You must think i'm crazy...but i feel for Nick, his despair that eventually took him away...have i ever cried so much... smoke...have my heart ache so....i have learnt so much of Nick & his incredible Mommy, Danielle, yes & Julie. This book has touched my heart so...No words, nothing can describe... No, i do not have the fortunate chance to know Nick, & it's a shame. But forever, i know i'll remember Nick...& his greatest love of all, Danielle. i've always been a great fan of Danielle. But this book, this book has said so much more... of her son, Nick, of herself, of their unconditional love...This book has taught so much...It's so heart wrenching...May God frees his soul...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    the book was great

    this book was excellent it brought many tears to my eyes and sadness, it made me feel as if i was there for all of it, and i feel much pain for you ms steel, god bless you and the remberence of nick will be forever in my heart

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    The good nurse

    This was a good book.it was a page turner and an easy read.this book was similar to death angel.don't read them both.except the good nurse was a true story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9