Customer Reviews for

His Christmas Pleasure (Scandals and Seductions Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

readers will enjoy this strong Regency romance

In 1810 London at the Duke of Banfield's gala in which his daughter Corrine will announce her engagement, Andres Ramigio hides in the library to avoid Lady Carla Dobbins who will not leave him alone. As he reflects on his lonely life as an illegitimate son and on his f...
In 1810 London at the Duke of Banfield's gala in which his daughter Corrine will announce her engagement, Andres Ramigio hides in the library to avoid Lady Carla Dobbins who will not leave him alone. As he reflects on his lonely life as an illegitimate son and on his father's suicide, he studies a dueling pistol that he knows is empty and points it at his head. Abby Montrose enters the room, sees the pistol, and tackles Andres. She thinks he was going to kill himself, but he insists otherwise. Lord Freddie enters to explain to Abby he will wed her cousin Corrine though he swears he loves her. Freddie explains his dad prefers the bride's father be a duke not a banker. Andres dances with Abby. Carla shouts at Andres calling Abby an ugly slut. She slaps him and leaves hysterically. Abby also slaps him and runs to her parents.

Her dad Banker tells Abby she will wed twice widower Lord Villier, who has thirteen kids. Carla's husband cuts a deal with Andres. If he leaves London forever he will own Stonemoor Manor in Northumberland. Andres accepts the terms. He tells Abby he has property but needs a wealthy wife. She agrees to wed him to avoid Villier and make Freddie jealous. They elope, but their troubles begin when they arrive at his new estate.

The lead couple is a wonderful pairing of two people wanting to be loved. The support cast enhances, but not all positively, the relationship between the protagonists. Although Abby has a phobia re horse-riding and has not been on one in over a decade, she rides one as if she is a professional during a key scene. Still readers will enjoy this strong Regency romance as two people seeking love find love with each other

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

little boring

I can't understand why this book got 5 stars. I just liked this book, when it was almost in the end, until, was really boring.

posted by 5044543 on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    readers will enjoy this strong Regency romance

    In 1810 London at the Duke of Banfield's gala in which his daughter Corrine will announce her engagement, Andres Ramigio hides in the library to avoid Lady Carla Dobbins who will not leave him alone. As he reflects on his lonely life as an illegitimate son and on his father's suicide, he studies a dueling pistol that he knows is empty and points it at his head. Abby Montrose enters the room, sees the pistol, and tackles Andres. She thinks he was going to kill himself, but he insists otherwise. Lord Freddie enters to explain to Abby he will wed her cousin Corrine though he swears he loves her. Freddie explains his dad prefers the bride's father be a duke not a banker. Andres dances with Abby. Carla shouts at Andres calling Abby an ugly slut. She slaps him and leaves hysterically. Abby also slaps him and runs to her parents.

    Her dad Banker tells Abby she will wed twice widower Lord Villier, who has thirteen kids. Carla's husband cuts a deal with Andres. If he leaves London forever he will own Stonemoor Manor in Northumberland. Andres accepts the terms. He tells Abby he has property but needs a wealthy wife. She agrees to wed him to avoid Villier and make Freddie jealous. They elope, but their troubles begin when they arrive at his new estate.

    The lead couple is a wonderful pairing of two people wanting to be loved. The support cast enhances, but not all positively, the relationship between the protagonists. Although Abby has a phobia re horse-riding and has not been on one in over a decade, she rides one as if she is a professional during a key scene. Still readers will enjoy this strong Regency romance as two people seeking love find love with each other

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    AN EXCITING CHRISTMAS HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

    HIS CHRISTMAS PLEASURE BY CATHY MAXWELL is an exciting Christmas historical romance set in 1810 London. It is well written with depth, details, turns and twists. It has passion, sensuality, romance, love, secrets, wit, family, miracles, horses, longing to belong and making dreams a reality. The hero, Andres, is a Spaniard, lonely, a rogue, handsome, illegitimate, determined to prove his worth to his peers. The heroine, Abigail, is rich, lonely, beautiful, set aside by others as plain, the only daughter of a wealthy banker and looking for love. Enter Andres....Abigail encounters Andres in the library of Abigail's uncle looking at a dueling pistols, knowing the chamber is empty he places it at his head. Abigail races to him to stop him from committing suicide, she thinks. Andre informs her he would never commit suicide. His father had done just that when everything had been taken away from him in Spain. They are intrigued with each other.When Abigail learns her parents are about to marry her off to an older man with thirteen children she is appalled. Andres learns from Abigail she has a fortune waiting for her when she marries. He is broke and needs her money, she needs him. When Andres proposes to her, she accepts and they elope to Scotland. Together, they learn true love, passion,and receive the greatest miracle of all. This is a fast paced story about love, forgiveness, moving on with life, learning to trust and the miracle of family and belonging. This book was received for review from Net Galley and details can be found at Harper-Collins Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    little boring

    I can't understand why this book got 5 stars. I just liked this book, when it was almost in the end, until, was really boring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    Great book- highley recommend it.

    Story line is great, couldn't put it down until I finished reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Kept You Interested!

    I have read 6 books by Cathy Maxwell and I enjoy her writing style, the little twists she throws in, holds your interest until the very end. This was a different story line, which I enjoyed. I loved the ending and glad she included an epilogue too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Good Story!

    Good Story! I loved this story. The story line was easy to follow. The author drew me in and made me feel what the characters were feeling. I enjoyed it so much I read all the other books this author has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great Read

    This was a great read. It kept you wanting to keep reading so you knew exactly what the characters were going to do. Even though it is a Christmas book it really can be read anytime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Very good read

    Typical romance, but very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Highly Recommened

    cute storie read it twice when it first came out and once again for Christmas

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Good read

    Thoroughly enjoyed this short story. About 200 pages well worth the $1 paid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Recommend

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It had elements I love; a feisty heroine, a rouge, an overbearing father and a marriage of convenience.

    Abigail Montros’s life is complicated, she has been in love with a man forever, but he has not offered for her, even when her father arranged a marriage. Thankfully the man backed out, but her reputation has suffered and yet still she pines for this fop. Things are about to get turned upside down when at a Christmas party the fop announces he is marry her cousin and her father tells her he is about to arrange a marriage for her with an old man who has thirteen children! As if that is not enough she slaps the handsome Baron de Vasconia when he tells her she is beautiful. He is in need of money to secure his dreams and has been forced to leave London within three days, she desperately needs to escape her father’s plan; together they decide to elope and the tale that unfolds was heartwarming. Maxwell’s characters were certainly lovable and I enjoyed getting to know them and their back-story. Abigail is strong, opinionated and never really fit in among the ton with her fiery red hair and freckles. Andres, is the second son of a Baron and born on the wrong side of the blanket, and he desperately wants to restore his families good name. While he is definitely a rouge he is also vulnerable. Side characters including the fop added to the tale and created tension. I love tales about marriages of convenience especially when they turn into something more and Maxwell gave me exactly what I wanted. I love how she created tension, allowed the characters to grow and kept me turning the pages at a dizzying speed. The romance that developed began out of mutual respect and felt genuine. The chemistry and heat was delightful while being relatively clean. This is a feel good novel, where you root for the couple and hope they overcome. The tale flowed wonderfully with just enough twists and turns. The characters became real to me and I adore when that happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended! Great Christmas Story!!! Highly recommend it!

    This book is meant for someone that is romantic & wants a christmas story! I would definitely read another book by this other! I loved how these characters grew. And I loved what brought them together. Also, to see how Abigail still needed her parents and what happened to her with Andreas. Loved this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Pathetic

    Boring. I forced myself to read 100 pages in the hope it would get better and it never did. Beware this romance is far from romantic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Great read! Wonderful story line and well written

    Great read! Wonderful story line and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    His Christmas Pleasure

    His Christmas Pleasure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Scandal.....

    Great reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    My favorite of the series.

    I loved this one, it was my favorite of the series thus far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anything Can Happen at Christmas!

    When her father threatens to marry Abigail Montross off to a man twice her age (and with thirteen children!), she decides to elope instead with the irresistibly handsome Baron de Vasconia. She know all abut his notorious reputation. He is the most seductive man in all of London, but he’s vowed to protect her, so she allow herself to be tempted into his bed, promising to guard her heart at all costs.

    Andres believes he’s entered into nothing more than a marriage of convenience with a charming and very wealthy young woman. But the days–and nights–Abigail spends in his arms soon reform this rogue. He’ll do anything to gain her love–until they each discover the truth about the other and old wounds are revealed.

    It’s the season of miracles and passion–when love not only awakens the senses but delivers the greatest gift of all . . .

    Abby is cherished by her parents and foolishly in love with the wrong man, but she doesn't know that. She's been jilted, past the "marriageable age" and isn't the most popular lady at the ball, but things quickly change when one of the hottest bachelors in town, Andres, defends her beauty and causes a big hoop-la throughout the gossip scene. Yet, when both Abby & Andres find themselves in a sticky situation, they turn to each other for aid in a daring plan that could be a blessing in disguise - but only if they have enough courage and love to pull it off!

    I was kind of taken back by how much I found myself enjoying this book. I started reading one night before bed and next thing I know, I'm staying up till 1am engrossed in the tale and having a grand time with Abby & Andres's adventures. I found myself relating very closely to Abigale (shockingly so!!!) and that really bonded me to the main characters. The way the story was written felt like there were almost three different sections: Part One in plotting to run away and following their fated dreams, Part Two in the actual escape & capture, and Part Three in dealing with the consequences and making the best of it. Each section had very different feelings for me, thus adding to the realization of how the characters were changing emotionally and really developing throughout. I loved it!

    Likes: It was entertaining to watch how comfortable the two main leads were around it other, especially from the very beginning. They made scenes very comical and memorable without a lot of effort.

    Dislikes: Got a little lovey-dovey cheesy near the end, but that didn't change my feelings toward an overall enjoyable book! BUT, I felt there was very little seasonal aspects in this story to really make it a Christmas themed book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    good story line but fell a little short at the 'good' parts

    Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down. But when it came to the 'good' parts I wish she would have given it her usual details instead of skimming over them! I still really enjoyed the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6