Customer Reviews for

His Dark Embrace

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

posted by bookholiday on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Skylynn “Sky” returns home after her grandfather, wh

Skylynn “Sky” returns home after her grandfather, who raised her and her missing brother Sam, passes away. Now she must settle the estate but while there she starts contemplating staying. She is surprised that the hot, mysterious neighbor Kaiden Thorne, has ...
Skylynn “Sky” returns home after her grandfather, who raised her and her missing brother Sam, passes away. Now she must settle the estate but while there she starts contemplating staying. She is surprised that the hot, mysterious neighbor Kaiden Thorne, has also returned home. Kaiden and her grandfather were close during Sky’s childhood and she has always had a secret crush even if he mows his lawn in the dark. She starts to think back to the times that she would try to overhear what her grandfather and Kaiden were discussing in their many late night meetings in their basement lab.

Kaiden has found the secret formula to living life like a human and not being hindered by his vampiric nature. Now that formula is missing because it lived in the brain of his neighbor who passed away. Kaiden and Sky’s grandfather had an unusual relationship. Kaiden allowed him to experiment on his person in return for being the beneficiary of the elixir that was created. Kaiden was always fond of Sky and now that she is a grown woman, temptation is going to be hard to resist. Circumstances throw these two together when an old enemy who use to be a vampire hunter and now is a newly turned vampire is after them on a quest to get his revenge on Kaiden. Kaiden must protect Sky if is the last thing he does, keeping his vow to Sky’s grandfather.

His Dark Embrace is standard in terms of a vampire story and was what I expected when reading an Amanda Ashley book. I would categorize it as a sweet paranormal romance. I found it to be a quick, fun read without any heavy plot lines to tangle thru but with some nice twists thrown in to keep the reader interested.

(Book was received from publisher for an honest review)

posted by kopsahl on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Skylynn “Sky” returns home after her grandfather, wh

    Skylynn “Sky” returns home after her grandfather, who raised her and her missing brother Sam, passes away. Now she must settle the estate but while there she starts contemplating staying. She is surprised that the hot, mysterious neighbor Kaiden Thorne, has also returned home. Kaiden and her grandfather were close during Sky’s childhood and she has always had a secret crush even if he mows his lawn in the dark. She starts to think back to the times that she would try to overhear what her grandfather and Kaiden were discussing in their many late night meetings in their basement lab.

    Kaiden has found the secret formula to living life like a human and not being hindered by his vampiric nature. Now that formula is missing because it lived in the brain of his neighbor who passed away. Kaiden and Sky’s grandfather had an unusual relationship. Kaiden allowed him to experiment on his person in return for being the beneficiary of the elixir that was created. Kaiden was always fond of Sky and now that she is a grown woman, temptation is going to be hard to resist. Circumstances throw these two together when an old enemy who use to be a vampire hunter and now is a newly turned vampire is after them on a quest to get his revenge on Kaiden. Kaiden must protect Sky if is the last thing he does, keeping his vow to Sky’s grandfather.

    His Dark Embrace is standard in terms of a vampire story and was what I expected when reading an Amanda Ashley book. I would categorize it as a sweet paranormal romance. I found it to be a quick, fun read without any heavy plot lines to tangle thru but with some nice twists thrown in to keep the reader interested.

    (Book was received from publisher for an honest review)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Review: His Dark Embrace, Amanda Ashley Tall, dark, mysterious

    Review: His Dark Embrace, Amanda Ashley

    Tall, dark, mysterious - and with a faint scar on his cheek that only makes him more gorgeous - Kaiden Thorne is one schoolgirl obsession Skylynn never forgot. Now, returning to her childhood home is after eight years, she can't believe her reclusive neighbour is still living across the street - and is hotter than ever. Skylynn doesn't know how Kaiden manages to stay so young, virile, and impossibly attractive. But she knows she wants him ...even if he harbours a fearful secret he refuses to tell her. When Kaiden sees the beautiful young woman Skylynn has become, he can no longer control the bloodlust that is his true nature. Once he pulls Skylynn into his arms, presses his lips against hers - and accidentally draws blood - he longs for more. Only she possesses what he wants and what he needs. Only she can save him or destroy him. But once Skylynn agrees to help Kaiden battle his darkest desires, there is no turning back.

    Published: June 5, 2012
    Publisher: Zebra Books, Kensington Publishing Corp.
    Genre: Paranormal Romance
    ISBN- 13: 978-1-4201-2133-9
    ISBN- 10: 1-4201-2133-2




    In His Dark Embrace, I found the setting of Vista Verde to be interesting. I would’ve liked to read more details about it.
    The characters didn’t really grab me, I knew less about them by the end of the book than I did when I began reading. There were bits and pieces of things they’ve done but the information left me with more questions about them.
    The story had potential, but it just never took off for me.

    I believe this was just not the book for me, but those who enjoy a love story – without the heat – this one is definitely for you.



    Amanda Ashley is one of those rare birds--a California native. She's lived in Southern California her whole life and, except for the earthquakes, loves it. She shares a home with her husband, as well as a fluffy Pomeranian named Lady, a wild house sparrow she raised from a baby named Tweety, and a tortoise who remains nameless. Amanda and her alter ego, Madeline Baker, have written over 70 books and short stories. Not bad for someone who started writing just for the fun of it. Her books have made the New York Times Bestseller List, the USA Today Bestseller List, and the Waldenbooks Bestseller and Mass Market lists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Anonymous

    It's not going to knock your socks off. Too bad, I just bought a whole bunch of books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Funny

    PG reading with a great story line. This book could be a series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Good Read

    Though the story was good it lacked a bit of the excitement and/or humorous side that Amanda Ashley usually puts in her stories. Nonetheless it was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1