Customer Reviews for

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

You're all bigots.

I can't believe you're all just proving Christian stereotypes true, If someone isn't preaching Christianity, you don't want to hear it. Stop being so ignorant and intolerant.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great start, poor ending.

Like another reviewer here, I loved the first book. I labored through the second book in hopes the third would be a good as the first. Unfortunately, the story loses its clarity in the third book. Maybe the messages were too subtle for me, I kept waiting for somethin...
Like another reviewer here, I loved the first book. I labored through the second book in hopes the third would be a good as the first. Unfortunately, the story loses its clarity in the third book. Maybe the messages were too subtle for me, I kept waiting for something to happen that would bring the loose ends together. The Adam and Eve allusion and the temptress seemed to me to have no purpose at all. Even 'what is Dust' wasn't really answered. I love Science Fiction/Fantasy, but this book left me unsatisfied.

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Great start, poor ending.

    Like another reviewer here, I loved the first book. I labored through the second book in hopes the third would be a good as the first. Unfortunately, the story loses its clarity in the third book. Maybe the messages were too subtle for me, I kept waiting for something to happen that would bring the loose ends together. The Adam and Eve allusion and the temptress seemed to me to have no purpose at all. Even 'what is Dust' wasn't really answered. I love Science Fiction/Fantasy, but this book left me unsatisfied.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    starts great but the ending is wanting

    I first started reading this book because i had seen the previews for the up coming movie 'the golden compass'. I enjoyed reading the golden compass as well, it was a good book, however once i got on to reading the subtle knife and the ember spyglass i found the real theme of the series, which is an anti-religious theme. ( not go give away anything but some of the characters decide to kill God). I was disappionted because found this book in the childrens section and this is certainly a book that i would rather not have my child read. So because i am a religious person i found especially the final book of the series a big let down and instead of having a happy complete ending as most children's books have the ember spyglass had a less than happy ending that left me feeling as though the book could not be finished becuase there was still more for the characters to do. Overall the golden compass is a great book and i recommend it to those who enjoy books such as harry potter or lord of the rings, but as for the subtle knife and the ember spyglass I would not recommend them especially for children because they are so dark and leave the reader feeling somewhat empty rather than excited and uplifted.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book though interesting in overall content was disappointing. Unfortunately so is the movie even though its very different than the book. The book deliberatly uses religious terminolgy in naming the 'bad' guys. The author clearly seeks to peak your interest enough to encourage you to purchase the next two books in the series...don't bother. If he truly sought to present a different point of view he would not have referenced religous leaders and he would have been honest enough to present the true nature of the series in the first book. Atheiests can be bigots too. The author's intent is clear...God doesn't exist and the children actually 'kill God' in the third book. This author is an answer to the athiest's prayers and a nightmare for children.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    It's about killing God so it doesn't sit well with me.

    I read the entire trilogy. While this book is well written and starts out as a fanciful romp, the agenda of the subsequent books becomes very clear. These books are about killing God and destroying His Church on earth. As a Libertarian, I absolutely support the right of people to believe as they want to, but I don't appreciate books that appear to be something they are not. Far from being allegorical and interpreted on various levels, as the books of C.S. Lewis, these books are a thinly veiled Atheist manifesto. The third book in this series ends with the children (I'm guessing around the age of 11 or 12) killing a senile God named Yahweh and being intimate with each other (in the Biblical sense). Is this really a good book for the kids? Mine are 11 and 12 and I don't think so.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Okay

    This book is really anti-christ

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Great Idea, not well executed

    I love the story and the world of the book but I cannot bring myself to finish it. After reading the first two books the third one will remain un-read because I dislike the writing. If the author only committed a little more effort to creating his world, I might be able to finish. If you have low expectations of writing, then it is a great story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1