Customer Reviews for

His Dark Materials Boxed Set: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(276)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I laugh at you all

I'm 14 and read the whole series in, I think, 5th or 6th grade. I went to a Catholic school for 6 years going to a school wide mass every Wednsday. I think I could be called a Catholic, don't you? While reading them I didn't hear anything negative about the books or e...
I'm 14 and read the whole series in, I think, 5th or 6th grade. I went to a Catholic school for 6 years going to a school wide mass every Wednsday. I think I could be called a Catholic, don't you? While reading them I didn't hear anything negative about the books or even the author from anyone including my teachers. Now however, I was looking at the books in a used book store and someone came up to me and said that anyone who read the books is going to hell. I really do laugh at anybody with that mentality because, if you read it as a work of fiction, all of a sudden it is an amazing story. I also went to the movie. Because the director was trying to be 'politically correct' the movie suffered horribly (don't get me wrong, it was good). Anyone who says that this series is brainwashing children obviously does not have enough confidence in thier self to resist temptation and what is life but the temptation to do wrong? All in all, wonderfull series, but I wish people could learn how to read and decide for themselves.

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't wait to get back to this book!

I thought this was a children's story. My husband gave the trilogy book to me for Christmas in 2007. I pushed it around until the summer when I began reading The Golden Compass. It grabbed me the way the first Harry Potter book did. Grabbed me and pulled me right into t...
I thought this was a children's story. My husband gave the trilogy book to me for Christmas in 2007. I pushed it around until the summer when I began reading The Golden Compass. It grabbed me the way the first Harry Potter book did. Grabbed me and pulled me right into the fantasy world of Lyra and Roger. I found myself feeling torn when I had to put the book down wondering where the twists and turns would go next. I didn't just read these three books, I absorbed them.

The writing is so compelling and full of intrigue. But the message..ahh the message it has for us in today's world. In a world of "Change" and "Yes we can", this book is a must read. Mr. Pullman has written a book for the ages.

Put a copy today...forget the movie, it doesn't come close to the book and ENJOY!!!

posted by Diamonddiva on November 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    Thank you for the boycott request it brought me to this great series.

    Whether or not you agree with his politics, Pulman drafted a highly imaginative series for children and adults alike. In addition, for those who encourage a boycott, are you so fearful of allowing your children to read these books because you think they will stray from their faith? If so, well, that is a sad statement of how strongly you believe in your children's faith, and shows how little you value free thinking and education.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Good, but for an older crowd

    I thought that these books were great. I really enjoyed the story, but I was a little disappointed that I had to go to the children's section to get it. I am a Christian and I was able to separate my beliefs from this fiction story. However, I don't think that these are books that I would want children reading. My hope is that parents wait until their children are older and able to clearly separate reality from fantasy. Let's be honest these books are very disparaging toward God and the church, but we are mature enough to appreciate a good story for what it is.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing

    It was a beautiful and engrossing look at human nature, whether technically human or not, and the power of rightness. Not the rightness someone else has dictated but the kind of rightness that is known instinctively and felt throughout your entire being. That every being in every universe and dimension has the right to be free from oppression and has the right to fight with every fiber of their being to ensure that freedom.

    It also strips away the facade of organized religion and exposes the atrocities associted with it and the absolute horror of zealotry. Although the story takes place in a world parallel to this one, the words resonate deeply with what has occured throughout time wherever religion is present: murder, torture, theft and subjugation. The replacement of free will with the dictates of religious doctrine. The gleeful torture and murder of individuals who do not agree with that doctrine, simply because that doctrine said it was the right thing to do, overriding the individual's own sense of right and wrong.

    Although it was published as three seperate books, its true form is one inseperable volume. Each of its parts flow so smoothly into each other that it is more like turning the page on a new chapter rather than a new book. That combined with the massive cliffhangers that leave you dangling from your fingertips make it impossible to not simply turn to that next page. Even the ending of the tale leaves you partially dangling, and hungering for more of a single, emotionally charged plot line left untied. Instead, it stretches into eternity and sets the wheels turning on the possibilities, and leaves you desperately hoping. If rumors play out, that last plot line will finally get tied in a fourth installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Different, entertaining

    Great books, too bad the movies are not quite as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Hang on for a Marathon

    This is a fast paced trilogy that demands attention to details and can leave you a bit out of breath as you try to keep up with the action. Like Harry Potter & Co. there is never a dull moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    How Sad

    I had no interest in reading this before all the christian hoopla. Now I plan on reading it, taking my children to the movies, and all of my friends children too. How true can you faith be if you're afraid of a movie? I plan on disscussing it with my son and letting him make up his own mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    A reviewer with an open mind.

    I am a passionate reader who does not respect the Christian stance on this at all. These are books. Books are in fact a medium for free speech. Free Speech is given to us through the bill of rights. I understand that he has different views, but since when was thinking for yourself such an offensive, act? I am not trying to say that christians are not entitled their own opinion. I am simply saying, that I disagree and find it unfortunate that society is still this inconveniently, sensitive after all this time. Now, in regards to those of you, who claim that these books are 'brainwashing.' To be quite frank, and to express my own opinion on this matter, if you are a member of an organized religion, I do not believe you have much room to point fingers, in reference to brainwashing the youth of the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Great Adventure

    I am sorry, I had to laugh when a I read one review that said these books are full of murder, kidnapping, adultery, and betrayal. The Bible is full of all those things, and I don't see anyone telling kids they should not read the Bible. If you want some hair-raising tales, check out the old testament. These books are fantasy/adventure. Keep it in context and you will most likely enjoy them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Oh, Grow Up

    Apparently Christianity is such a fragile religion and belief system that any challenge to it must be relentelessly beaten back. I haven't read this book, but I must say that the so-called Christians warning me against reading it just make me want even more to give it to my son to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Loved them!

    Christianity has many books talking about how great it is and how evil everything else is. Well now there's a terrific series from an aggressive atheist mindset. Although, to be fair, this series never reaches the levels of personal insult that most christian influenced books stoop to. The series is terrific, wonderfully written, and pretty engaging for even adult readers. Those who claim it's just a rip off of the Narnia series must not read a lot of fantasy. Most fantasy books involve the same or similar elements. Great series, great purpose.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Great Series

    It's funny how some people seem to believe that christianity is the only religion that could ever possibly be true and that this book is highly offensive, which it is not. I find it funny as well that those christians hardly ever realize that they are in the minority of the world. There are over 4 billion people on earth who are not christian, and many of those christians are not offended by this book. If you would do some research and maybe take some philosophy/religion courses maybe you could become a little more open minded...I'm sure you would be shocked at many of the things you have no idea about. ANYWAYS, fantastic fantasy book with very neat hidden messages and neat little quirks. Highly Recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Fiction

    This book is a work of FICTION. We all go to the movies, watch television realizing that you are suspending reality and going into the world painted by a writer. If we start omitting books based on what the public view considers 'brainwashing' material . . . when does it stop? Didn't we already go through this when Uncle Tom's Cabin was considered unreadable material? In my opinion, if you don't want your children to read this . . . then, don't buy it for them. That's your choice. As for me, I'm an adult and can make my own choice on what is appropriate reading material and make my own decision on what is offensive. That's the beauty of books . . . if it's offensive to your conscience . . . close the book and don't read it anymore. End of story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Wonderful series! There is so much magic and imagination in this

    Wonderful series! There is so much magic and imagination in this series. I love how the innocence is portrayed! Philip Pullman is a fantastic writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Books

    These books were interesting. They kept my attention throughout the whole series and always had me wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's so twisty!

    I liked the first book the best, because it was the simplest, the second book was okay, but the third book was just so complicated I barely finished it!
    I also thought it was very realistic, like it could happen, and the characters were realistic too, although they were too much alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Good series, hard read

    The Golden Compass series is an interesting group of books. The language<BR/>gets a little difficult in some places and some of the wording can be<BR/>difficult to follow. Occasionally the story gets confusing as it moves from one time/place frame to another.<BR/><BR/>Overall I would recommend this book to people who read old English literature a lot and, if I had a list of terms for them, young people. The language is so difficult that most young people would spend as much time with the dictionary as the do the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Another series for the ages!

    I read these books after the controversy surrounding the first movie hit the mainstream. As a Christian, Pullman forces you to look deep into your beliefs and search for answers that only you can find. I loved the books although the ending was almost anti-climatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    pretty good

    these three books are pretty good and i would reccommend them to other people who like this style book. also, just something that i would like to mention, i didnt used to like books that were fiction, but then i read these books and the harry potter series, and now im really into fiction books. overall, this book is something that is inspiring and that should be read, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    i'm a avid reader and i loved this book, i also think that is was way better than the movie. although some of the points in this book are questionable i would still recomend it to mature readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    killing God or the theocracy

    I really appreciate all the reviews from Christians. I wasn't sure if I wanted to buy the series but they have convinced me I need to. Saw the movie and didn't see anything in it that attacked God. I do see a serious indictment of an authoritarian theocratic elite that wants to control the populace. Isn't challenging that what America was founded on. Guess I'll have to read them all to see if issue is killing God or killing the theocratic institutions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4