Customer Reviews for

His Father's Son

Average Rating 3
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Different Approach for Little

I have read almost all of Bentley Little's novels, and I have to say he took a VERY different approach with "His Fathers Son". This novel was much more "real" tha his others that had unrealistic plots. I have to say I had a little trouble getting into this book, but aft...
I have read almost all of Bentley Little's novels, and I have to say he took a VERY different approach with "His Fathers Son". This novel was much more "real" tha his others that had unrealistic plots. I have to say I had a little trouble getting into this book, but after a few chapters it took off. Little used real isuses such as dementia, and turned it into a bone chilling story of a man who is clearly suffering from mental health issues himself. This is a pretty good novel, so I recommend it to fans of the author, as well as fans of the horror genre. While I wouldn't say this novel is "horror", it's pretty close, and a good read.

posted by Lindsie on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

His Fathers Son

deep, dark writing. thrilling and bone chilling.

posted by Carspar289CS on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Different Approach for Little

    I have read almost all of Bentley Little's novels, and I have to say he took a VERY different approach with "His Fathers Son". This novel was much more "real" tha his others that had unrealistic plots. I have to say I had a little trouble getting into this book, but after a few chapters it took off. Little used real isuses such as dementia, and turned it into a bone chilling story of a man who is clearly suffering from mental health issues himself. This is a pretty good novel, so I recommend it to fans of the author, as well as fans of the horror genre. While I wouldn't say this novel is "horror", it's pretty close, and a good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    Good writer not his best work.

    This book was okay, a little nerve racking in the the middle because you are expecting it to go somewhere and it goes flat, however the end has an unexpected turn and I did like that. Even though it was not my favorite book, I did have a hard time putting it down. I do like the writer though!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    His Fathers Son

    deep, dark writing. thrilling and bone chilling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Never A disappointment

    I have loved every single book Bentley Little has written. Great work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Does not make sense.

    I can not figure out what the little stories that appeared randomly and had no sense meant. What were there purpose? He should stick to his original style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I too have read almost all of Little's novels and they are are h

    I too have read almost all of Little's novels and they are are horrifyingly great, this book I found at the end a little dull to my taste however.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    This is not Little's usual style - which is fine for me! I have

    This is not Little's usual style - which is fine for me! I have enjoyed all of his work, but some of his books seemed formulaic. This book is well written and enjoyable, but I did have trouble making the same leap of logic as the main character. Somehow it is easier to believe in demons and ghouls than in otherwise rational humans choosing to go bananas. And as for the "little stories" mentioned by another reviewer, the main character is a writer - and I found them very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Not his usual story type

    Not my favorite Bently Little book. In fact I hated it, which is a shame because I have loved and read all of his other pones. I can understand him wanting to try something different but the story just didn't work for me. It wasn't scarey, just sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Disappointed

    Ive read all of Littles books and was happy to see this one i hadnt read yet. What a disappointment. Not Littles style at all. I sometimes think these writers will publish anything in a hurry just for the money and to be published again. Very slow and alot of "thinking" and "decribing" going on here. No action. Geez...im disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    not so good

    This is the first book I've read by Little, and it wasn't so good :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Different

    I love Bentley Littles work. This book took me a liitle while to figure out, but after I did I really liked the different style. Not my favorite book, but still definately worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2