Customer Reviews for

His Indecent Proposal

Average Rating 3.5
( 285 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

exciting

Enjoyed this book!

posted by 7236307 on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

NOT a Romance

This isn't a Romance story. This is a Domestic Violence-ridden Rape fantasy disguised as a Romance. Don't read this book if you've been in a violent or controlling relationship -- it's likely to cause flashbacks. (And no, I haven't been in a violent relationship, I just...
This isn't a Romance story. This is a Domestic Violence-ridden Rape fantasy disguised as a Romance. Don't read this book if you've been in a violent or controlling relationship -- it's likely to cause flashbacks. (And no, I haven't been in a violent relationship, I just work with survivors of Domestic Violence.)

The "hero" in this book engages is a bully. He is jealous, insecure, and intimidating, and the first scene that involved intercourse was just shy of force. Rather than sweep her off her feet, he forces her down and orders her not to refuse him. I get that some women like a strong man, but there's a difference between strength and force.

In addition to those complaints, the story is far too short, and has pretty much no plot. He cuts the victim (oh, sorry, heroine) off from her job. He pays her debts so that she is obligated to him. Then he immediately accuses her of cheating or wanting someone else when she shows the slightest hesitation at their situation. Denying sex? Not a possibility.

I was truly disgusted.

posted by Elena23 on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    NOT a Romance

    This isn't a Romance story. This is a Domestic Violence-ridden Rape fantasy disguised as a Romance. Don't read this book if you've been in a violent or controlling relationship -- it's likely to cause flashbacks. (And no, I haven't been in a violent relationship, I just work with survivors of Domestic Violence.)

    The "hero" in this book engages is a bully. He is jealous, insecure, and intimidating, and the first scene that involved intercourse was just shy of force. Rather than sweep her off her feet, he forces her down and orders her not to refuse him. I get that some women like a strong man, but there's a difference between strength and force.

    In addition to those complaints, the story is far too short, and has pretty much no plot. He cuts the victim (oh, sorry, heroine) off from her job. He pays her debts so that she is obligated to him. Then he immediately accuses her of cheating or wanting someone else when she shows the slightest hesitation at their situation. Denying sex? Not a possibility.

    I was truly disgusted.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Left a bad feeling

    I felt like he was forcing her to have sex. Not very interesting story. Just weird and not full of romance just forced sex scenes.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    exciting

    Enjoyed this book!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Fun read.

    Steamy and sexy. Great afternoon read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Poorly written

    It is not worth reading. It shows how to recognize traits of a potentially obsessive and abusive partner. I wanted to tell the female character to run as fast as she could because nothing good would come out of a relationship that someone forces you to have sex on multiple occasions. The female was a very weak character. She allowed him to take control of her life in a very short time, eventhough there were warning signs telling her to run. It is not a true love story. Dont read!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Steamy

    If you like a quick steamy read, this is the book for you! Very fast storyline but interesting from start to finish!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    It's okay

    Anyone marrying for a quick financial gain? Yeh, I guess it
    does happpen but its not all that entertaining...
    She questions her decision, after the ceramony? Why not before?

    As for him, he came across as an inconsiderate, boring jerk. It
    was fun to see him "reap what he sowed"...to see him realize
    exactly what he'd done and to realize what he had in her and their
    relationship...however, that being said.. this beek does not go on my
    read over shelf.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Good Read

    My first book by this author. I am looking forward to reading some of her other books.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    * Not recommended.

    There is too much detail of sex. It is not necessary. The story line was good. I would not recommend reading this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    4-1/2 stars

    Just finished reading and was SO impressed with Ms. Chance's writing, storyline and characters. The male lead, David thought that Jenna was hot - this entire story was hot! I'm looking forward to reading another novel by Lynda Chance.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Not worth it at all!

    Mad I paid even one cent for this book. If there was any substance to this book I def missed it. It took me only a few hours to read and some parts were pretty uncomfortable to the point she def was raped in a few sex scenes. it was too unrealistic and not any kind of romance to me, very sad actually. Im mad I wasted my time and money.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Meh

    Meh. Kind of hastily written....or so it seemed to me. Would have been a good concept if developed...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Good read!

    Lynda Chance's books are sexy, sweet, and enjoyable. A great weekend read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Not worth your time or money, i promise.

    He was insanely posessive, and way too intese, and i don't understand how after a week he wants to keep her "forever" then like two weeks later, which was about 3 pages, they decide they're in love? This book was a joke, don't even waste your time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Had to quit reading the book. Forced sex scenes. It is a terri

    Had to quit reading the book. Forced sex scenes. It is a terrible book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    This author should quit while behind.

    This author does not know how to develop a proper story. To her credit, there are good ideas, but very poorly executed. Her books are very rushed and not thought our properly, which I can only attribute to laziness. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    great read

    I love this easy read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Really nothing to this story at all. Eroticism is over the top

    Really nothing to this story at all. Eroticism is over the top and the romatic notions are not believable. These characters are strangers move in for 2 weeks and are in love?? Really? I kept waiting for a plot to grab hold of, and suddenly it was over. Huh?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Good read.

    Too short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    This was wierd

    I kinda get the intensity the author was going for but I have to agree the "love" scenes felt like rape.... it could be a good story if David shared his feelings more and did not just dominate Jenna? All the time. I am sure the author did not mean to suggest anything improper but it Just felt wierd.... bordered on witnessing some kinda crime?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15