Customer Reviews for

His Jilted Bride

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon The Banks Brother¿s Series Book

His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon
The Banks Brother’s Series Book 3
Elijah Banks had always run away from his little neighbor girl, who insisted on trying to kiss him every chance she got. As they got older, they became friends. At one point, Elijah began to feel more for...
His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon
The Banks Brother’s Series Book 3
Elijah Banks had always run away from his little neighbor girl, who insisted on trying to kiss him every chance she got. As they got older, they became friends. At one point, Elijah began to feel more for her then disdain for her kisses or friendship. Was it too late to tell her how he felt? And what about the secrets he couldn’t tell her?




Lady Amelia Brice had a secret about a night she couldn’t remember. That one night was going to dictate her life, including marriage to someone she couldn’t stand. She only ever loved one person but she couldn’t wait for him forever. So she would have to marry to protect herself and family because of her mystery evening.. Thankfully she is rescued from marriage to a reprobate by the man she cared for, but being married out of pity doesn’t seem any better.




His Jilted Bride is another excellent book in this series. I always enjoy the author’s humor along with secrets, intrigue and surprises that fill the pages. Not to mention Mr. Henry Hirsute, an interesting character to be sure. It was great revisiting with all the Banks relatives and getting to know the twins, Elijah and Henry. Henry’s story will be coming next, His Brother’s Bride.
**Sexual situations within marriage

posted by JutzieDV on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

The story was good with lost of plot twist to keep you interested. The only reason i gave it 3 stars is because i found the heroine Amelia to be a shrew and i dont like shrewish women who hit below the belt to protect themselves. Elijiah was a good hero who had a lot ...
The story was good with lost of plot twist to keep you interested. The only reason i gave it 3 stars is because i found the heroine Amelia to be a shrew and i dont like shrewish women who hit below the belt to protect themselves. Elijiah was a good hero who had a lot of secrets that he had to keep causing some of the conflicts but overall he was a good hero. Based on their long friendship i didnt feel that some many secrets where good especially HR's after he saves her rep the least she could have done be honest with H.
Just found i couldnt connect with Amelia she was ice for too long and even when warm still a little prickly.

posted by 8578778 on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon The Banks Brother¿s Series Book

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon
    The Banks Brother’s Series Book 3
    Elijah Banks had always run away from his little neighbor girl, who insisted on trying to kiss him every chance she got. As they got older, they became friends. At one point, Elijah began to feel more for her then disdain for her kisses or friendship. Was it too late to tell her how he felt? And what about the secrets he couldn’t tell her?




    Lady Amelia Brice had a secret about a night she couldn’t remember. That one night was going to dictate her life, including marriage to someone she couldn’t stand. She only ever loved one person but she couldn’t wait for him forever. So she would have to marry to protect herself and family because of her mystery evening.. Thankfully she is rescued from marriage to a reprobate by the man she cared for, but being married out of pity doesn’t seem any better.




    His Jilted Bride is another excellent book in this series. I always enjoy the author’s humor along with secrets, intrigue and surprises that fill the pages. Not to mention Mr. Henry Hirsute, an interesting character to be sure. It was great revisiting with all the Banks relatives and getting to know the twins, Elijah and Henry. Henry’s story will be coming next, His Brother’s Bride.
    **Sexual situations within marriage

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    First off, I have to say I LOVE the cover of this book. Yes, I k

    First off, I have to say I LOVE the cover of this book. Yes, I know you aren’t supposed to judge a book by its cover. But, really, how many of us have bought (or not bought) a book because of its cover? I know there are books that I purchased only because the cover was so beautiful. Some of them I loved, some of them not so much. The fact remains – cover art IS important, and this book has a beautiful cover.




    I will admit that I have not read the first two books in this series. However, this book is great as a stand-alone novel. Once I finished this book, I read the “blurbs” for the first two and I can see that the additional background info could be helpful. I’ll just have to go back and read them since I enjoyed this one so much.




    This is a fun, regency romance with a little mystery too.  That element of mystery is one thing that makes this book stand out. From the beginning, we know Amelia’s secret. What we don’t know is Elijah’s secret. We get bits and pieces throughout the book. Little clues are spattered here and there as the story progresses. This builds anticipation and even suspense. 




    The complexity and dynamics of the relationship between Amelia and Elijah keep the story moving. Because they both have secrets and they both believe the other doesn’t love them, it’s nothing short of a roller coaster ride. Elijah is so sweet. He tries so hard to show Amelia that he loves her, but the underlying motivation isn’t his love – and she sees that, not his love. When he finally “gives up” so-to-speak and he takes her to Bath for an outing, I fell in love with him myself. I didn’t care what his secret was – I wanted Amelia to “wake up” and see how much Elijah loved her. 




    Amelia has loved Elijah her entire life, but he never thought of her as more than a friend. She’s always held out hope that one day he would fall in love with her, but when he “rescues” and marries her, she still thinks he sees her as only a friend. She’s so convinced that he married her out of some kind of obligation that she can’t see that he has fallen in love with her. Fortunately, things eventually work out for the two of them, as it should.




    I really enjoyed reading “His Jilted Bride”. It didn’t feel like your typical regency romance with the focus on all the strict rules and social pressures – it was a fun read and I really enjoyed the dynamics of the Banks family along with the relationship between Elijah and Amelia (not to mention trying to figure out Elijah’s secret).  




    For those who want to know, when Elijah and Amelia finally consummated their marriage it was open door.  I personally prefer less detail, but I loved the book so much I continued reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

     I  have read and love all of her books! This one is just as ama

     I  have read and love all of her books! This one is just as amazing as the others! I can't wait for the next one!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon is the third book in the Bank Br

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon is the third book in the Bank Brother's Brides series and I have had the pleasure to read all three so far. I love series that allow me to continue to follow a family. I grow so fond of characters that I love to read more about them. Rose Gordon has done a fabulous job of creating a whole family that I have fallen in love with. I am quickly becoming a fan of Rose Gordon. She has wrote yet another story that has kept me completely captivated from beginning to end.




    Amelia Brice was promised to Lord Friar but when he fails to show up for their wedding day her childhood friend steps in.  Elijah Banks can not stand to see his childhood friend embarrassed by being jilted at her own wedding, so he puts plan b into action. He and Amelia ride off to be married. There is a lot of bumps in the road for this adorable couple. They love each other but are afraid to tell the other for fear the feeling is not returned. Amelia has a secret that she doesn't want to share with Elijah, and Elijah  has a secret that he is not ready to share with Amelia. Their is the mystery that Elijah is working on that brings some danger into their lives. Their is also the secret that Amelia is keeping that was her reason why she had to marry Lord Friar in the first place.




    Amelia is a bold young lady but still shy in her own way. I loved that she is trying do the right thing by Elijah even if it means not showing him how much she really does love him and putting off his advances until she knows for sure if she is with child. She has loved Elijah since childhood and doesn't quite believe that her dreams of marring him is coming true, however she wanted to marry him out of love not convenience. 




    Elijah is one of the twin sons of Edward and Regina that I had the pleasure of meeting in the first Banks Brother's Brides Series. Elijah has secretly fallen in love with his childhood friend, however circumstances made it difficult for him to court her properly. He didn't want her put in any danger due to his work. I found it so sweet that he has fallen in love with the girl that he use to run from as a child. He's not running anymore but he can not figure out why Amelia doesn't respond to his advances. 




    I truly enjoyed watching Amelia and Elijah's love unfold. These two are such a sweet, adorable couple that are just perfect for each other. His Jilted Bride contains a lot of my favorite elements of a story romance, mystery, and a friendship turned love interest relationship.




    If you enjoy a good historical romance with a good amount of mystery included I think you will enjoy this book. I myself can not wait to read more of Rose Gordon's work. I have more in my to read pile and I can not wait to get to them!




    I am so glad I was able to receive a copy of this book to read in exchange for my honest opinion. It has been my great pleasure to share my thoughts with you on  His Jilted Bride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    I received an eARC of His Jilted Bride in exchange for my honest

    I received an eARC of His Jilted Bride in exchange for my honest review from the author. 




    His Jilted Bride is the third book in the Banks Brother series and is about Elijah, one of Edward and Regina's twin sons. I absolutely LOVE the cover of this book. Rose always knows just the right look for her books; especially for cover freaks like me who will buy a book based on how good the cover art is. 




    Amelia has been in love with Elijah Banks since they were kids, but he didn't return her feelings. When she's stood up on her wedding day, Elijah swoops in to save his friend from the scandal being jilted would create. 




    I loved Amelia and her spunky nature from the get go. She wouldn't take Elijah's crap and put him in his place a time or two. Elijah has a strong sense of loyalty and will do what he has to to protect his loved ones. However, it was a bit sad for this reader to realize that the twins weren't really that close with their parents, especially their father, whom I adored. At least Edward instilled some values in his youngest son as you will learn about as you read. 




    Amelia and Elijah have a true love story, though a bit complicated because they're both too stubborn for their own good. I devoured this book in just a few hours and was so pleased to see some of my favorite and beloved characters from past books. {I did notice the absence of Lady Olivia!} 




    As always, this is a well-written and humourous romance ripe with intrigue and suspense. Oh, yeah, watch out for Mr. Henry Hirsute. *Shudders*




    I am eagerly anticipating the conclusion of the Banks Family books with Henry's story. Although, to be honest, I'm a bit saddened at the mere thought of the Banks family stories coming to a close as I've grown to love them very much over the past year. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    His Jilted Bride was a fun walk through Regency era England.  Am

    His Jilted Bride was a fun walk through Regency era England.  Amelia is a vibrant and beautiful character that believes she has a deep secret  - one that she must find a way to tell Elijah.  Elijah is not only her husband now, but has been her friend for as long as she can remember.  I very much admire Amelia for her morals and sticking to her beliefs - and even though she struggles to tell her secret, it's obvious that she wants to and just doesn't know how.




    Young Elijah ran from Amelia and her feelings as a boy, and now regrets every single minute of it.  When he sees the woman Amelia has become, he knows that they were meant to be together.  But he has a secret as well - one that he can't reveal just yet.




    Watching the two characters become comfortable around each other was a wonderful experience.  The best way I can think of to describe this book is "fun".  There is a bit of excitement, a lot of romance, and many enjoyable pages.  It is not necessary to read the first two in the series in order to have fun reading this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great

    A must read. The story is so wonderfuly put toghether .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed Amelia and Elijah's story. It was filled with r

    I really enjoyed Amelia and Elijah's story. It was filled with romance, secrets, and danger. I instantly loved Amelia's character. She tried her best to do the right thing when put in difficult situations. Even when those right things could have made her life miserable. Luckily, Elijah (her childhood sweetheart and man she still holds a tendre for) finally excepts his feelings for Amelia and steps in to save her. Because of their past it's hard for them to be comfortable together. I loved experiencing their journey and watching them get the happily ever after they both deserved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    This is another great book by Rose Gordon.  I really enjoyed the

    This is another great book by Rose Gordon.  I really enjoyed the book and it was nice to have some intrigue in the plot as well. There were a few scenes that left me wondering if I had missed  something and had me going back to  see if I had skipped a page on accident, but over all the book was very enjoyable and I highly recommend it. as well as her other books in the series. The character of Elijah first appears in Rose's book "Her Sudden Groom" Book One of her Groom Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I have been a Rose Gordon fan since I read her first book and th

    I have been a Rose Gordon fan since I read her first book and they just seem to get better and better. If you have been following her books in chronological order I am sure you have come to love the Banks Family as much as I have along with the other loveable and sometimes quirky personalities. Ruth Gordon has a way of combining love, laughs with just a tasteful touch of sizzle. I look forward to each of her Banks Family stories as I feel it gives me a chance to not only get close to a new family member but catch up on what the rest of the family and friends are up to. This book can be read as a stand alone but I guarantee if this is you kind of story you won't be happy unless you start from the beginning of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Need some help with you love life? Togethe forever result 2!

    I will help you the best I can.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    The story was good with lost of plot twist to keep you interested. The only reason i gave it 3 stars is because i found the heroine Amelia to be a shrew and i dont like shrewish women who hit below the belt to protect themselves. Elijiah was a good hero who had a lot of secrets that he had to keep causing some of the conflicts but overall he was a good hero. Based on their long friendship i didnt feel that some many secrets where good especially HR's after he saves her rep the least she could have done be honest with H.
    Just found i couldnt connect with Amelia she was ice for too long and even when warm still a little prickly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    It was not long into this book when I realized that this was my

    It was not long into this book when I realized that this was my style of book! Completely! I love historical fiction, and when you add a nice little romance with a bit of spy on the side, as far as I am concerned, you have me hooked! This is a book that also has humor and something that I am not used to seeing. Are you ready for this? The two characters are virgins! If you know your history, that in itself is unbelievable. Historically, women were expected to remain pure until marriage (this figures into the story as well, but it was generally understood that the men would sow some wild oats. (That figures into the story, too). The profanity is so minimal that it is almost nonexistent. And the lovemaking is hot, heavy, and only between married individuals. Again, very refreshing.

    This is a part of a series, and I, for one, would love to read the entire series. This is one of those books where you will find a few surprises, but it is a nice, light romantic read. Regency romance at its absolute best!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Too wordy

    It took 150 pages to cover three days and a predictable secret. I skipped pages and found the last two chapters to be better than the twenty previously. Futhermore, I woulnt recommend or read anything else by this dry author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Ebook problems

    My copy ended on page 141.

    What happens next?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Original Post on Romancing the Books blog / I am so happy that I

    Original Post on Romancing the Books blog / I am so happy that I decided to read this book. I have read several by this author before and I loved them.

    I couldn’t imagine what I would do if I had past out at a costume ball and woke up the next morning on a strange bed and my clothes half way off. I would be ashamed and I wouldn’t want to show my face. That isn’t what Amelia does. She decides to marry the guy who really makes her stomach sick. Even though she had been waiting on true love and the one she loved just wouldn’t give her the time of day.

    Elijah Banks has been in love with Amelia for awhile. Even though she used to run around trying to kiss him when she was younger and he didn’t want anything to do with her. Needless to say that when he got older he changed his mind like his father warned him he would.

    This story was well written and I couldn’t help but laugh. You could tell that these two were meant to be together and you just wanted to say enough already and just admit your feelings to each other. That wouldn’t have made a great story line so we got to enjoy it a little more. I was beginning to think that they both would never reveal their secrets to each other.

    Every time I read a book by this author I am drawn in more and more. She just weaves her stories so well that I get so into them. I enjoy the play between the characters. She always makes sure that you get some laughs out of her stories and every one of her characters are strong and know how to take care of things. They have spunk and you just know that you will get a great story.

    I highly recommend this story to everyone who loves a great historical and enjoys the romance between a great couple.



    Reviewed by Crystal N / Review copy from the Author /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    nice story of un requited love.

    nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great Book a must read!!!!

    I loved the book !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great Read

    I loved this book and it's nice that Rose Gordan wrote this series. I like series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Slow Start To a Story That Quickly Picks Up At The End

    The road to true happiness is a rocky one as is demonstrated by His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon. Amelia is an outspoken young woman who has loved Elijah since she was a child but it's not until the eve of her marriage to another that he finally realizes that he too cares for her. Amelia has her reasons for waiting at the altar for a dirty old man to marry as she believes she might be compromised after a blurred night out and thinks no one else will have her. So it's a dream come true when Elijah offers his services instead, even though she doesn't think he loves her. These unspoken feelings cause a very bumpy start early on in the story as Amelia acts like a shrew trying to keep Elijah from touching her. She insists that his kisses prove he doesn't love her and she resorts to acting like an Ice Queen to keep a barrier between them as she wants to keep her shameful secret quiet as long as it takes to see if there's any long-term ramifications. Elijah on the other hand burns for her from the start and is frustrated by her coldness, as was I. He tried to show her repeatedly how much he cared through a look or a touch and was repeatedly turned away. Even the support and comments from his family don't she'd light on her coldness.

    He too is keeping secrets that have kept him from admitting his feelings before and put Amelia in jeopardy now as Elijah and his twin brother get closer to the men dealing in sexual slavery. This mystery is just touched upon at the start but plays a big part in the ending. It was obvious to me who the villains were from the start but their reasoning never really made sense. What also didn't make sense was how close Amelia and Elijah were as children and how far apart they were at the start of their marriage. The banter between them before marriage crackled with closeness and sexual tension. Upon marriage they acted like two strangers which dampened the friends to lovers theme. It wasn't until the latter stages of the story that their connection was reestablished and their witty banter returned.

    After a rocky beginning where the main characters allowed a riff to form between them, the latter half of the story finally came to life. I saw a couple united which finally and completely won me over and had me rooting for not only his happiness but her's too. Once their HEA was more assured the pace of the book picked up and raced to a satisfying conclusion. Along with a conflicted main couple comes an overly large cast of secondary characters seen in the previous books in this series trying to impart words of wisdom to the newly married couple. Most of these characters were forgettable with the exception of Elijah's twin, Henry. He plays a major role in getting the happy couple together and his story is just beginning to be hinted at at the conclusion of this story and has me longing to read the next book in this series. With characters full of conflicted emotions comes a story that kept my feelings on edge with a need to see how things would end. The witty banter Ms. Gordon imparted to her characters helped draw me in late in the story and has me hoping to see more of this in future books.

    3.5 STARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2