Customer Reviews for

His Jilted Bride

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon The Banks Brother¿s Series Book

His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon
The Banks Brother’s Series Book 3
Elijah Banks had always run away from his little neighbor girl, who insisted on trying to kiss him every chance she got. As they got older, they became friends. At one point, Elijah began to feel more for...
His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon
The Banks Brother’s Series Book 3
Elijah Banks had always run away from his little neighbor girl, who insisted on trying to kiss him every chance she got. As they got older, they became friends. At one point, Elijah began to feel more for her then disdain for her kisses or friendship. Was it too late to tell her how he felt? And what about the secrets he couldn’t tell her?




Lady Amelia Brice had a secret about a night she couldn’t remember. That one night was going to dictate her life, including marriage to someone she couldn’t stand. She only ever loved one person but she couldn’t wait for him forever. So she would have to marry to protect herself and family because of her mystery evening.. Thankfully she is rescued from marriage to a reprobate by the man she cared for, but being married out of pity doesn’t seem any better.




His Jilted Bride is another excellent book in this series. I always enjoy the author’s humor along with secrets, intrigue and surprises that fill the pages. Not to mention Mr. Henry Hirsute, an interesting character to be sure. It was great revisiting with all the Banks relatives and getting to know the twins, Elijah and Henry. Henry’s story will be coming next, His Brother’s Bride.
**Sexual situations within marriage

posted by JutzieDV on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

The story was good with lost of plot twist to keep you interested. The only reason i gave it 3 stars is because i found the heroine Amelia to be a shrew and i dont like shrewish women who hit below the belt to protect themselves. Elijiah was a good hero who had a lot ...
The story was good with lost of plot twist to keep you interested. The only reason i gave it 3 stars is because i found the heroine Amelia to be a shrew and i dont like shrewish women who hit below the belt to protect themselves. Elijiah was a good hero who had a lot of secrets that he had to keep causing some of the conflicts but overall he was a good hero. Based on their long friendship i didnt feel that some many secrets where good especially HR's after he saves her rep the least she could have done be honest with H.
Just found i couldnt connect with Amelia she was ice for too long and even when warm still a little prickly.

posted by 8578778 on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon The Banks Brother¿s Series Book

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon
    The Banks Brother’s Series Book 3
    Elijah Banks had always run away from his little neighbor girl, who insisted on trying to kiss him every chance she got. As they got older, they became friends. At one point, Elijah began to feel more for her then disdain for her kisses or friendship. Was it too late to tell her how he felt? And what about the secrets he couldn’t tell her?




    Lady Amelia Brice had a secret about a night she couldn’t remember. That one night was going to dictate her life, including marriage to someone she couldn’t stand. She only ever loved one person but she couldn’t wait for him forever. So she would have to marry to protect herself and family because of her mystery evening.. Thankfully she is rescued from marriage to a reprobate by the man she cared for, but being married out of pity doesn’t seem any better.




    His Jilted Bride is another excellent book in this series. I always enjoy the author’s humor along with secrets, intrigue and surprises that fill the pages. Not to mention Mr. Henry Hirsute, an interesting character to be sure. It was great revisiting with all the Banks relatives and getting to know the twins, Elijah and Henry. Henry’s story will be coming next, His Brother’s Bride.
    **Sexual situations within marriage

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

     I  have read and love all of her books! This one is just as ama

     I  have read and love all of her books! This one is just as amazing as the others! I can't wait for the next one!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon is the third book in the Bank Br

    His Jilted Bride by Rose Gordon is the third book in the Bank Brother's Brides series and I have had the pleasure to read all three so far. I love series that allow me to continue to follow a family. I grow so fond of characters that I love to read more about them. Rose Gordon has done a fabulous job of creating a whole family that I have fallen in love with. I am quickly becoming a fan of Rose Gordon. She has wrote yet another story that has kept me completely captivated from beginning to end.




    Amelia Brice was promised to Lord Friar but when he fails to show up for their wedding day her childhood friend steps in.  Elijah Banks can not stand to see his childhood friend embarrassed by being jilted at her own wedding, so he puts plan b into action. He and Amelia ride off to be married. There is a lot of bumps in the road for this adorable couple. They love each other but are afraid to tell the other for fear the feeling is not returned. Amelia has a secret that she doesn't want to share with Elijah, and Elijah  has a secret that he is not ready to share with Amelia. Their is the mystery that Elijah is working on that brings some danger into their lives. Their is also the secret that Amelia is keeping that was her reason why she had to marry Lord Friar in the first place.




    Amelia is a bold young lady but still shy in her own way. I loved that she is trying do the right thing by Elijah even if it means not showing him how much she really does love him and putting off his advances until she knows for sure if she is with child. She has loved Elijah since childhood and doesn't quite believe that her dreams of marring him is coming true, however she wanted to marry him out of love not convenience. 




    Elijah is one of the twin sons of Edward and Regina that I had the pleasure of meeting in the first Banks Brother's Brides Series. Elijah has secretly fallen in love with his childhood friend, however circumstances made it difficult for him to court her properly. He didn't want her put in any danger due to his work. I found it so sweet that he has fallen in love with the girl that he use to run from as a child. He's not running anymore but he can not figure out why Amelia doesn't respond to his advances. 




    I truly enjoyed watching Amelia and Elijah's love unfold. These two are such a sweet, adorable couple that are just perfect for each other. His Jilted Bride contains a lot of my favorite elements of a story romance, mystery, and a friendship turned love interest relationship.




    If you enjoy a good historical romance with a good amount of mystery included I think you will enjoy this book. I myself can not wait to read more of Rose Gordon's work. I have more in my to read pile and I can not wait to get to them!




    I am so glad I was able to receive a copy of this book to read in exchange for my honest opinion. It has been my great pleasure to share my thoughts with you on  His Jilted Bride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    I received an eARC of His Jilted Bride in exchange for my honest

    I received an eARC of His Jilted Bride in exchange for my honest review from the author. 




    His Jilted Bride is the third book in the Banks Brother series and is about Elijah, one of Edward and Regina's twin sons. I absolutely LOVE the cover of this book. Rose always knows just the right look for her books; especially for cover freaks like me who will buy a book based on how good the cover art is. 




    Amelia has been in love with Elijah Banks since they were kids, but he didn't return her feelings. When she's stood up on her wedding day, Elijah swoops in to save his friend from the scandal being jilted would create. 




    I loved Amelia and her spunky nature from the get go. She wouldn't take Elijah's crap and put him in his place a time or two. Elijah has a strong sense of loyalty and will do what he has to to protect his loved ones. However, it was a bit sad for this reader to realize that the twins weren't really that close with their parents, especially their father, whom I adored. At least Edward instilled some values in his youngest son as you will learn about as you read. 




    Amelia and Elijah have a true love story, though a bit complicated because they're both too stubborn for their own good. I devoured this book in just a few hours and was so pleased to see some of my favorite and beloved characters from past books. {I did notice the absence of Lady Olivia!} 




    As always, this is a well-written and humourous romance ripe with intrigue and suspense. Oh, yeah, watch out for Mr. Henry Hirsute. *Shudders*




    I am eagerly anticipating the conclusion of the Banks Family books with Henry's story. Although, to be honest, I'm a bit saddened at the mere thought of the Banks family stories coming to a close as I've grown to love them very much over the past year. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great

    A must read. The story is so wonderfuly put toghether .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I have been a Rose Gordon fan since I read her first book and th

    I have been a Rose Gordon fan since I read her first book and they just seem to get better and better. If you have been following her books in chronological order I am sure you have come to love the Banks Family as much as I have along with the other loveable and sometimes quirky personalities. Ruth Gordon has a way of combining love, laughs with just a tasteful touch of sizzle. I look forward to each of her Banks Family stories as I feel it gives me a chance to not only get close to a new family member but catch up on what the rest of the family and friends are up to. This book can be read as a stand alone but I guarantee if this is you kind of story you won't be happy unless you start from the beginning of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Need some help with you love life? Togethe forever result 2!

    I will help you the best I can.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    It was not long into this book when I realized that this was my

    It was not long into this book when I realized that this was my style of book! Completely! I love historical fiction, and when you add a nice little romance with a bit of spy on the side, as far as I am concerned, you have me hooked! This is a book that also has humor and something that I am not used to seeing. Are you ready for this? The two characters are virgins! If you know your history, that in itself is unbelievable. Historically, women were expected to remain pure until marriage (this figures into the story as well, but it was generally understood that the men would sow some wild oats. (That figures into the story, too). The profanity is so minimal that it is almost nonexistent. And the lovemaking is hot, heavy, and only between married individuals. Again, very refreshing.

    This is a part of a series, and I, for one, would love to read the entire series. This is one of those books where you will find a few surprises, but it is a nice, light romantic read. Regency romance at its absolute best!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Original Post on Romancing the Books blog / I am so happy that I

    Original Post on Romancing the Books blog / I am so happy that I decided to read this book. I have read several by this author before and I loved them.

    I couldn’t imagine what I would do if I had past out at a costume ball and woke up the next morning on a strange bed and my clothes half way off. I would be ashamed and I wouldn’t want to show my face. That isn’t what Amelia does. She decides to marry the guy who really makes her stomach sick. Even though she had been waiting on true love and the one she loved just wouldn’t give her the time of day.

    Elijah Banks has been in love with Amelia for awhile. Even though she used to run around trying to kiss him when she was younger and he didn’t want anything to do with her. Needless to say that when he got older he changed his mind like his father warned him he would.

    This story was well written and I couldn’t help but laugh. You could tell that these two were meant to be together and you just wanted to say enough already and just admit your feelings to each other. That wouldn’t have made a great story line so we got to enjoy it a little more. I was beginning to think that they both would never reveal their secrets to each other.

    Every time I read a book by this author I am drawn in more and more. She just weaves her stories so well that I get so into them. I enjoy the play between the characters. She always makes sure that you get some laughs out of her stories and every one of her characters are strong and know how to take care of things. They have spunk and you just know that you will get a great story.

    I highly recommend this story to everyone who loves a great historical and enjoys the romance between a great couple.



    Reviewed by Crystal N / Review copy from the Author /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    nice story of un requited love.

    nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great Book a must read!!!!

    I loved the book !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great Read

    I loved this book and it's nice that Rose Gordan wrote this series. I like series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1