Customer Reviews for

His Last Duchess

Average Rating 3
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

posted by danja on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

I enjoyed it. What it lacks in historical depth it makes up with drama and romance.

posted by 6837865 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

    Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Pretty good

    I enjoyed it. What it lacks in historical depth it makes up with drama and romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing Dark Romance!

    The beginning started slow for me, but I like to give an author a couple chapters to lure me into finishing the entire book – and Gabrielle Kimm did that. I thought the mild start served a purpose; it shows Lucrezia’s innocence and gentle heart. As she matures, she maintains some of that innocence and discovers what she desires in life, and a spouse. Her husband, the Duke, is a dark character and becomes this ominous shadow that makes this romance different from many others I’ve read.

    Honestly, I had doubts about this story for a few chapters, but I was glued to this book for the last hundred or so pages and couldn’t put it down. I was surprised by the emotions this book invoked. I loved Lucrezia, her naivety, and compassion. The Duke made me uncomfortable, had me on constant alert, and became this character I despised. There were certain sections where I wondered why the author created these other characters, but I grew to care about each of them, and they were vital to the story. Gabrielle Kim did a magnificent job tying up all the loose ends and settling any “what happened to so-and-so” questions I had.

    Very good read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    This book was pretty good. I would recommend if you have some t

    This book was pretty good. I would recommend if you have some time on your hands. I liked the location/time period it was written for. I just kept feeling like something else should happen, so I guess it could use a little more depth. Some parts of it seemed out of place, and I found it hard to get through those parts. Overall, though, a nice story, with a decent ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Gracey-7

    I couldn't make it thru 50 pages of this book. Who wants to read about a grown man trying to be with a 16 year old girl. So disgusting! I will be deleting this book out of my library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Wonderful, tension-filled romance

    Thoroughly enjoyed this. Very likable, realistic characters in a very detailed, lush setting. I completely lost myself in this world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Okay this is my first review.. because this is the first time th

    Okay this is my first review.. because this is the first time that i
    have felt compelled to write one... DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK WITHOUT READING
    SAMPLE FIRST. I ready the prologue and the first paragraph, and was
    done. I felt the author tried to use "big words" and was
    constantly repetitive in order to make up for her lack of talent. I
    understand using descriptive words. And i Don't expect to know every
    word but when i have to look up about 3 words in a single paragraph..
    thats taking it too far

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Not so good...

    The story had great potential, but did not live up to it. There were many scenes in the book where I was very anxious to see what happened next, but disappointed when it just became long and "dragged" out and I just wanted it to be over! There was also a scene that was kinda "sick"- (ie. dead girl). The ending was also "short & sweet"; would liked to have seen more to "wrap it up" better, so to speak. I would give this author a 2nd try (if it's free) to see if there were improvements to her writing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Waste of $$$$

    I did not like this book at all. A waste of good money. Story was about a deranged Duke and his abuse of his young bride, AND Pet dog. The bride then has an affair with an artist. I plan on deleating this book ASAP!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    A good book!

    This was a good book! Gabrielle Kimm is a wonderful author who spins a great historical story. I did find times in the story where I begin to feel a little antsy...and wished she would push forward with the plot. But overall, a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Not bad

    The ending was pretty disappointing. Not my favorite, but not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    I dont usually bother writing reviews. But I really enjoyed this

    I dont usually bother writing reviews. But I really enjoyed this book. And I'll deffinently read more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Liked it

    HISTORICAL FICTION IS ALWAYS A FUN READ AND THIS ONE IS NO EXCEPTION

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Facinating

    This book was difficult to put down. Alfonso both intrigued and disgusted me. I enjoyed learning about this time period through the light of these historical characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    This book was just ok.

    His Last Duchess was just an ok read. It was clear the author did her research on the process of frescos. I don't think the little side stores tied together very well in the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed it; couldn't put it down.

    This is the first book I've read of Gabrielle Kimm, but won't be the last! It was a page-turner -- I couldn't wait to see what happened next. I thoroughly enjoyed His Last Duchess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Good historical romance. Don,t care if the setting is time period correct its a Novel not a History book. Well worth your time to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Read it!

    Book was good. Story line was interesting. Ending was cool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Great Book

    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    left some questions

    I really liked this book but it did leave some questions as to what had happened to some characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3