Customer Reviews for

His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(621)

4 Star

(356)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Dragons, who cares about dragons right?

I was never a dragon person, whenever saw a dragon book I would dismiss it without a scone thought. I had read dragon and had never honestly liked it so I thought ok one last try... And holy temeraire was blown away, just a perfect mix of true history with that envelopi...
I was never a dragon person, whenever saw a dragon book I would dismiss it without a scone thought. I had read dragon and had never honestly liked it so I thought ok one last try... And holy temeraire was blown away, just a perfect mix of true history with that enveloping fantasy of dragons just seemed to carry me away on a journey. before I knew it I had read "In His Majesty's Service" cover to cover in 4 hours just pondering wether or not I should go drive and get the next one right away or eat lunch first. Amzing novel, fantastically wrote, thank you Naomi for such a fantastic book. I will have to look forward to keeping track with all your books to come!

posted by Cujo253 on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was interesting

If you enjoy "heroic" adventure type books this is the one for you. I sugest thisfor people who enjoy fanticy/ficton type books as well

posted by 1322194 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Dragons, who cares about dragons right?

    I was never a dragon person, whenever saw a dragon book I would dismiss it without a scone thought. I had read dragon and had never honestly liked it so I thought ok one last try... And holy temeraire was blown away, just a perfect mix of true history with that enveloping fantasy of dragons just seemed to carry me away on a journey. before I knew it I had read "In His Majesty's Service" cover to cover in 4 hours just pondering wether or not I should go drive and get the next one right away or eat lunch first. Amzing novel, fantastically wrote, thank you Naomi for such a fantastic book. I will have to look forward to keeping track with all your books to come!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Definitely recommend!

    I did not expect this book to be very good as it is not the type I typically read but I found it gripping and very well written. I will begin the next one in the series with great enthusiasm.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    I got this book as a Free Friday book. While I am not one for the fantasy genre outside of Tolkein, I was hooked on this book from the first page. I am now on book two and intend on reading the entire series. Naomi Novik takes the familiar "a boy and his dog" story and creates a "British naval captain and his dragon" theme that works flawlessly to answer the question, "What if the Napoleanic wars were fought with the use of dragons. There is something here for everyone. From heartwarming (how can you not love Levitas?) to intense action.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesomness

    This was my first encounter with Dragons. I intended to begin with the Pern series, but a friend of mine talked me into this one. I'm glad she did as I fell in love with Temeraire--his inquisitive and intelligent mind. I can foresee his coming philosophical ideals and challanges. I fell in love with Laurence's constant struggle between what is good, proper and expected and what is wholly life. Temeraire opens Laurence's heart and mind, with his "innocence of a child" questions and comments. All the dragons are so loveable. Historic events are included in this story that are accurate and make the story that much more real. Reading this book, we could all wish for dragons! There are characters you could love to hate, and character you would hate to love. There is potential for the rest of the series. I am looking forward to more. I must continue...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Unique and Refreshing Look at Dragons

    Naomi Novik has done an enjoyable job of blending a scifi enthusiastists view of dragons with a historians view of Napolean's life time. The view of dragons stays close to many of the legends and myths associated with dragons but Ms. Novik brings those into a balanced view that is acurate to history. She tells a story that moves along easily and that keeps the reader engaged. Her knowledge of the British Navy brings a reality to the story that makes it almost plausible. Her development of her characters is well done with characters who stand out from the pages of the book. The relationship between the dragons and the humans in the story is very effectively developed. Because of the setting of the story, those who might not be scifi enthusiasts will find much to recommend this story. A most enjoyable alternate history that pulls together the strengths of history and the imagination of scifi literature.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Phenomenally Fantastic, LOVE IT!

    I was given this book a couple of weeks ago at the C2E2 convention in Chicago, IL and thought what the heck - funny thing is I couldn't put it down! I generally read romance fantasy fiction and when I asked if there was a romance I almost put it aside - I'm SOOO Glad I didn't and would recommend this series to anyone who loves dragons or just a phenomial epic drama that includes masterful characterization juxtiposed against the napolianic war era. Temeraire is my favorite dragon ever, and his captian of course. The arial combat scenes and naval battle scenes I swear I could actually feel the thunder and heat . . . I was enthralled, simply terrific!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I've always been a dragon person and I thought this book might b

    I've always been a dragon person and I thought this book might be too military-ie for me. Turns out it was a perfectly fresh spin on the old dragon tale I love so much. Thank you Naomi!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    One of the best

    I have read this book many times; it is fast becoming as familiar to me as Pride and Prejuduce or Master and Commander. It is amark of its excellence that it is not really dwarfed by such illustrious company.

    Many of the rest of this series are extremely enjoyable, but none are quite as outstanding as this first book. To some extent, that is because I don't really like the direction the author takes us in her revision of history or in the development of Lawrence's character. However, Temeraire is so excellent and likeable a character that I am always going to want to see what next happens to him, whether I care for the author's storyline or not..

    In any event, I can only most heartily recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Possibly one of the best books I have read! =]

    I really LOVED this book very much. It has a good plot and I have fallen in love with the character Temeraire because of his rarity, grace, and beauty, along with his desire to protect Laurence. I have read the Inheritance series by Christopher Paolini and this ranks up there, if not higher. So excited to read the next book, PLEASE buy this one, as long as you have the love for dragons you will love this book too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    If you like dragons, this is a must read! I started readind abou

    If you like dragons, this is a must read! I started readind about dragons with Anne McCaffrey's Pern stories, but Temeraire quickly became one of my favorite dragons. One of the fun parts of this series is seeing how Temeraire's point of view is so different from that of his captain, Laurence. All of the characters, both dragon and human, are well-developed, and the plot is exciting! I have read this book several times and loaned it to others. This is one of my favorite series and I can't wait until the next one comes out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Very fun series. Really can't help but fall in love with Temerai

    Very fun series. Really can't help but fall in love with Temeraire!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Amazing series.

    If you like fantasy and historical fiction, or even just one or the other, you will love this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    An Excellent, Well-Written Story

    This is a beautifully-written story about dragons that is set during the Napoleonic Wars. It is largely believable as a thesis, and the story is well-told and difficult to put down. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Very good so far.

    Really awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    It was interesting

    If you enjoy "heroic" adventure type books this is the one for you. I sugest thisfor people who enjoy fanticy/ficton type books as well

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Love this series!

    The charaters are strong and I love the combination of fantasy and history. The Napoleonic Wars are fascinating in their own right and when you add in dragons? Awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Very Good!

    One of the best books I have read in a long time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    love it love it love it

    one of my fav book serries.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very good

    Got it for free & was pleasantly surprised.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Really great read

    Can't wait to read the resr of the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64