Customer Reviews for

His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(620)

4 Star

(354)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Dragons, who cares about dragons right?

I was never a dragon person, whenever saw a dragon book I would dismiss it without a scone thought. I had read dragon and had never honestly liked it so I thought ok one last try... And holy temeraire was blown away, just a perfect mix of true history with that envelopi...
I was never a dragon person, whenever saw a dragon book I would dismiss it without a scone thought. I had read dragon and had never honestly liked it so I thought ok one last try... And holy temeraire was blown away, just a perfect mix of true history with that enveloping fantasy of dragons just seemed to carry me away on a journey. before I knew it I had read "In His Majesty's Service" cover to cover in 4 hours just pondering wether or not I should go drive and get the next one right away or eat lunch first. Amzing novel, fantastically wrote, thank you Naomi for such a fantastic book. I will have to look forward to keeping track with all your books to come!

posted by Cujo253 on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was interesting

If you enjoy "heroic" adventure type books this is the one for you. I sugest thisfor people who enjoy fanticy/ficton type books as well

posted by 1322194 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Unique and Refreshing Look at Dragons

    Naomi Novik has done an enjoyable job of blending a scifi enthusiastists view of dragons with a historians view of Napolean's life time. The view of dragons stays close to many of the legends and myths associated with dragons but Ms. Novik brings those into a balanced view that is acurate to history. She tells a story that moves along easily and that keeps the reader engaged. Her knowledge of the British Navy brings a reality to the story that makes it almost plausible. Her development of her characters is well done with characters who stand out from the pages of the book. The relationship between the dragons and the humans in the story is very effectively developed. Because of the setting of the story, those who might not be scifi enthusiasts will find much to recommend this story. A most enjoyable alternate history that pulls together the strengths of history and the imagination of scifi literature.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Very good

    Got it for free & was pleasantly surprised.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Really great read

    Can't wait to read the resr of the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Good storyline

    had L and T been opposite sexes or had the way L spoke to T been more in line with the way males actually speak to one another (no calling him darling) the book would have gotten five stars. the storyline is unique and well written, I can suspend disbelief for mystical creatures and knights who can pick up a woman who, in her clothing, weighs roughly 250-300 pounds while galloping on a horse (which requires the use of only one arm), but I have a hard time believing such a heterosexual male would speak with another male in the way it was portrayed in this book. he was completely believable as in other parts of the book, it is only when the dialogue between them comes about that I found myself floundering as it didn't come across as legit. that being said, the books truly are wonderful and I hope to read the others while soldiering on past the very unbelievable flowery and extremely feminine dialogue between the two main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Great Dragon Adventure

    This is really a good dragon adventure, at least the start of a series of them and hopefully the quality will continue. Although not quite on the level of the Pern series of Dragonriders, this is a good romp in fantasy, mixed with Hornblower and Bolitho (C.S. Forester and Alexander Kent, along with Dudley Pope and others) era -military-historical fantasy. I did find it enjoyable, characters starting to develop and look forward to reading the next chapter in the legacy.
    I do recommend this book to those how enjoyed Anne McCafferys Pern series, especially the beginning ones, and the Royal Navy series of Forester and Kent and Pope and others or their kind. This is a good escape for a few hours from today's world, and isnt that why we chose to read, as well as educate and stretch our imaginations?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Loved it!

    I enjoyed this very much
    At first it seemed to struggle but I got really hooked quickly
    Good for most age groups;some violence
    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Great reading - captivating characters

    The story line was captivating and left the reader wanting more. Plan to read the next in the series. Would love to have a dragon like Temeraire. Also an interesting play on history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Enjoyed it very much

    Like this series I plan on getting the next nook book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I found it a good read, though I liked this one a bit more than the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Intriguing

    I wasn't sure if I would like the book, but I really enjoyed it. I loved the combination of dragons and the Napoleonic wars! The world and the dragons were quite intriguing.

    P.S. This is the same review I submitted to GoodReads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    such a good book

    I probably would not have downloaded this book if it had not been free. I majored in History and I love both historical fiction and fantasy, so I decided to give this book a try. I am so glad that I did! The characters are engaging and the story is fun. I found myself both laughing and crying. I have purchased the next two books in the series and will buy even more when I finish books 2 and 3. I highly recommend the Temeraire Series to anyone who like historical fiction, fantasy or war stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Who knew dragons could be such fun!

    This book keep me thoroughly entertained until the very end. The plot was different and kept me reading. It really was hard to put the nook down. The only thing I was slightly disappointed in was the ending. The author was far too interested in getting you to buy the sequel and not in cleverly ending his story. But I guess that can be overlooked as the rest of the book was excellent. The characters made sense and were easy to relate with. The story line was clever and exciting. I will never think of dragons in the same way thanks to this book. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    Unexpected pleasure to read

    It was a nice surprise for someone who does not read much (if any) books in the fantasy/sci-fi genre. Well written with strong plot. It is a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Pleasantly surprised

    I like the Napoleonic era (I have read the Richard Sharpe series) and I like dragons (The Inheritance books) so I figure I had nothing to lose with a free book combining the two. I was pleasantly surprised. More than anything, I enjoyed the character of Temeraire and the developing relationship between him and Will Laurence. The storyline developed at a good pace and the book held my interest the entire time. I am hooked and will definitely continue with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, fast read

    I read this book simply becasue it was a free eBook offered by B&N. That said, I am sure I will read the other books in the series if they are like this one. First off, this is not Gone With the Wind, but who really wants every book they read to be classic literature. This book is pure fun. The author is very creative, creating a world in which dragons are an accepted reality.

    The characters are interesting, especially the dragons who are as unique and whose personalties can be as varied and complex as any human characters. It is interesting how the author uses the interplay between the main human character and the main dragon character to have them both grow together, the dragon because he is newly hatched and the hman as he realizes there is more to life than he had thought.

    The book is well-paced and has no moments that drag. This would be an excellent beach read or an interlude between more serious or dense reads. I found it to be thoroughly enjoyable and would recommend it to someone looking for something different, light, and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    historical fiction? why not

    The naploenanic england wars with dragons. Can't get any better then that. I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't believe it was free. I almost started this series a year or two ago. Now I'll have to buy the next one. Some great new concepts. Most traditional fantasy writing with dragon riding in them is with one or two people. A fresh new concept of whole crews riding them. Mid-flight broading actions. Gun crews, ground crews, wow. It was very well thought out and stayed in era period. Would recommend to anyone who likes fantasy books. Too bad history class wasn't this good, I would have recieved better grades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Interesting Book

    I first saw that Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings trilogy) had bought the rights to this series so I decided to check it out. The book is amazing, very original and a great page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Fun for all

    I'm more a lover of historical novels and British naval stories than of fantasy, but this melding is imaginative and successful. Temeraire's intelligence makes him both engaging and unintentionally hilarious, and Captain Laurence is a paragon of the British sea captain. I, too, thought the book was a bit slow in places, but that may be intentional--the great amount of foreshadowing might be helpful to younger readers who otherwise might not fully understand the characters' motives, actions, and outcomes. However, the extensive flying training was about as interesting to me as the Quiddich games in Harry Potter--not important enough to spend that much time on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    A moderately good book

    This book is one of the best dragon books I have read in a long time. The only thing about this book that I don't like is that it is a very slow book. This book is about Captain Laurence who finds a dragon egg aboard a ship that he captured when the egg hatches, Lauerence becomes a companion to the dragon Temeraire. Now that he is a companion to a dragon Laurence must now train as an aviator and aid against the war against Napoleon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18