BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

His Mistletoe Bride

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    A wonderful Christmas story

    This is a wonderful story of two people who don't feel that they fit in their worlds. The story will draw you in from the very start and have you rooting for Phoebe to gain all she wishes. Lucas finds he has met his match and is willing to find all of the hidden treasure in Phoebe.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I am extremely fortunate to have been given an advance copy of H

    I am extremely fortunate to have been given an advance copy of His Mistletoe Bride, by one of my favorite historical romance authors, Vanessa Kelly. I thoroughly believe Vanessa could write about the phone book and make it an enthralling tale. Her writing style is smart, engaging, and sexy. Her descriptions are pure poetry. And she skillfully brings her characters to life with a mastery I envy as a fellow author, and admire and enjoy as a reader.

    When I first began this book, and discovered the heroine was a Quaker, I admit I was worried that I wouldn't enjoy this story as much as I have enjoyed others by Vanessa Kelly. The use of 'thee' and 'thou' and the unfamiliar beliefs and mannerisms of the Quakers was off-putting at first. But the author's skill quickly drew me in and I fell in love with the characters.

    Phoebe, the heroine, had an English mother and a Quaker father, and she goes from America to England to live with her grandfather because her parents died. She struggles to fit in, and speaks 'proper' English except when she's upset, in which case she slips back into 'plain English' and the 'thee' and 'thou' words start cropping into her sentences. It's quite endearing seeing her struggle to belong and be accepted but to not abandon her belief system.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story for the same reason that I enjoy all of Vanessa's stories--it is unique. Vanessa is not your ordinary historical romance author. She ALWAYS figures out how to makes her stories different from anything else that is out there, while still keeping enough of the typical historical romance world-building that readers expect. I particularly enjoyed how she used Mistletoe as the name of the hero's manor, and most of the servants had the surname 'Christmas'. There's even a mutt named Holly.

    But perhaps best of all is the sprinkling of well-loved supporting characters from Vanessa's other books. Her die-hard fans will be thrilled to see so many favorites. I loved seeing sexy Dr. John Blackmore again and the fun interplay with his wife, Bathsheba, from My Favorite Countess.

    I highly recommend this book. Stick with it past the 'thee' and 'thou' opening chapter. I promise the language gets easier and more familiar, and the wonderful, endearing characters are a true joy. I'll definitely be buying my own copy to put on my keeper shelf, even though I have a free electronic arc. Well-done, Vanessa. Keep them coming!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    The perfect Christmas love story

    This story is about a lady 'lost' in a world trying to find her way and finding love along the way. And a gentleman trying to help her and doing his best to convince her to give him a chance. VK really hit a home run w/this one. Don't let the length of the book scare you it's fast passed and by the end you will want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    Opposites Attract. *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for

    Opposites Attract.

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Phoebe Linville has crossed the ocean from Philadelphia to London to meet her estranged English side of the family, the Stantons. When her mother married her Quaker father, her grandfather, the Earl of Merritt disowned his only daughter. After the Earl’s son died he tried to make amends with his daughter only to find she had died some years earlier. He does make contact with his only grandchild, Phoebe, who is unhappy in her Quaker life and wants to meet her grandfather. However, upon arriving in London she finds that her grandfather died weeks earlier and his wish was for her to marry his heir, Major Lucas Stanton. Phoebe has no intention of marrying a man she doesn’t know, but Lucas is persuasive and patient. Soon she finds herself Lady Merritt and the Mistress in charge of Mistletoe Manor. Now all she needs to do is teach her husband how to love. But it’s Christmas, a time of miracles. How hard could it be?

    Told from both Phoebe’s and Lucas’s POV this story is well-written with great characters. While a little over the top at times it definitely entertained me. Because of Phoebe’s upbringing she’s a complete innocent to the ways of London society. But she has strong beliefs and a personality to match when she needs to assert herself and stand her ground. She was a little too submissive at times for me to believe 100% in her personality though. Lucas is a great character, but he was also a bit too bossy for me. I’ll forgive him since he was used to leading in the Army, but he’s not in the Army anymore and running an estate is nothing like running a unit of soldiers. Anyway, I quite enjoyed the book and now I want to find the others that are loosely connected to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Started out good................................................

    Started out good...............................................................................................................................
    The story fell flat for me.   It was pretty good up until Penelope decides to keep the BIG SECRET from Lucas---don't want to give any spoilers here so I'll leave it at that.   Couldn't see why she would have such a huge concern over people she barely knew who were doing the wrong thing.  It made her seem disloyal to her husband who had always been nice to her .  In fact he was pretty much nice to everyone.  Anyway it was a well written book.  I would pass it on to a friend even though I though the heroine was a self righteous twit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Sort of read it before

    Your book reminds me very much of another book with the same plot. The girl's parents die, and in the mothers will a soldier gains not only the place that the girl would do anything to have. The girl is forced to marry the man, well you get the idea.
    Though it is a very similar story line I have no doubt your version is uniqe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This book was not bad, but I prefer more romance! This is a stor

    This book was not bad, but I prefer more romance! This is a story about Major Lucas Stanton and Phoebe Linville. Phoebe is on her way to her new life in London. She is about to meet the English Family her mother turned her back on to marry her father. Phoebe was raised in America as a Quaker. She never felt like she really belonged and is excited to go to London. Once she arrives she is devastated to learn her grandfather has died. Lucas is now the Earl of Merritt and has promised Phoebe's grandfather that he will take care of her. Of course, Phoebe wants to marry for love and Lucas has sworn off love after a bad relationship. The story includes couples that have been featured in other books by Vanessa Kelly and had I known I would have preferred to read them first. In the end Lucas and Phoebe find true love, but getting there was a bit boring for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A scorching hot Christmas tableau An ex- soldier who won't give

    A scorching hot Christmas tableau
    An ex- soldier who won't give up his warlike manners, let alone surrender his heart to love. A virtuous and strong willed Quaker who will need to cross the ocean to connect with her passionate nature and find a place she can really call "home". An arranged marriage and a quest for love. All wrapped in vivid and accurate descriptions of the Georgian England winter season and its rituals. A colorful Christmas tableau and a hero/heroine chemistry that escalates from warm to scorching hot.
    One of the most distinctive qualities of this historical romance novel is the refreshingly different kind of heroine. Young Phoebe Linville lives a very singular condition of outsider among her own people. Member of a Quaker family, but subtly shunned by her community because of her deceased mother's refusal to conform to some tenets of the faith, she decides to accept his maternal grandfather's invitation to leave New Jersey and join him in England. The characterization of the female heroine is quite solid and detailed, consistent in the way she struggles to meet the rigid expectations of a religious community and gradually reveal an unsuspectedly head-strong and passionate nature. Phoebe was doomed to live a quiet spinsterhood, steeped in an austere village upbringing, but once in England she will meet her perfect half in an unexpected place. Major Lucas Stenton, distant cousin of hers and heir to her grandfather's earldom, welcomes her upon her arrival with two shocking pieces of news: her grandfather has passed away during her boat trip to England, not before asking Lucas in his final will to become Phoebe's guardian and husband. The marriage may be an arranged one, but the chemistry between the handsome and intimidating ex-soldier, and the unconventional and genuinely beautiful American is as immediate as the blink of an eye. She may be a starchy Quaker, but she can't help being affected by the large framed and hard eyed soldier. He may have spent years and years on the battle fields leading armies and defeating enemies, but he can't resist her innocent beauty and straightforward tongue. Despite his reluctance to surrender his heart to any woman after a former lover had demolished his life, Lucas is won by Phoebe's gentle manners and quick wit. A clear declaration of love won't be easily yielded by our emotionally armored soldier,

    "...when dealing with matters of the heart, [Phoebe's] fearless warrior husband turned tail and headed for the hills."

    But he tremendously enjoys his wife and while his heart lacks the eloquence, his actions will speak volumes. The author's clever choice to bring the lead characters close together from the start, sets the scene for some warm "interactions", incandescent I would say. In the cozy isolation of his country estate, and with the aid of a festive Christmas spirit, Lucas conducts a "sensual assault" that will breech Phoebe's inhibitions and his own emotional barriers.
    The introduction of a secondary plot thread, that doesn't really get thick except for the final pages, serves the purpose of enhancing the conflict and test the trust issues between the newly weds. With weak-in-the-knees romance, sexual chemistry a go-go, and as sumptuous as equally accurate descriptions of holiday traditions, His Mistletoe Bride will bring the winter temperatures up a notch or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    It isn't often you come across a story that can only be describe

    It isn't often you come across a story that can only be described as delightful. I love that the conflict arose from Lucas's and Phoebe's different world views. It was intriguing to learn of the Quaker religion and Phoebe's use of thee's and thy's. I will be reading more from Ms. Kelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1