BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

His Mistress by Morning

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Such an emotionally wrought book! Wonderful!

    I read the second book of this series before the first one (this one) and was not sure if I wanted to after reading the jacket. However, it is wonderful! A wish is made by the damsel to be loved by this man like he loves his mistress. Her fairy god mother for lack of a better term changes the world around her and she becomes his mistress. However, she is a known mistress of some renown and he is a different man as well. So is their love story told but she also wants marriage but as a lady of the night he cannot do so. The book is about how things can be, how they should be and how it all works out in the end. I cried, I laughed and I loved. Not every book can do this. It was a love hard fought and hard won.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Excellent Regency with a Paranormal Twist

    As a fan of every Elizabeth Boyle historical romance ever written, His Mistress By Morning was as usual, an enjoyable read, but with a surprising paranormal twist, which made the story even more interesting. Charlotte has a long time romantic crush on Lord Sebastian, Viscount Trent. As she visits her friend Lady Hermione, Sebastian's sister, she finds herself wishing she could be like the ladies who turn Sebastian's head. She wakes up finding herself in Sebastian's bed, but as his mistress, not his wife - which is her true wish. She soon realizes that it is the magic powers of the recent ring willed to her by her aunt that has the power to have provided her with this wish. The story is sensual with a bit of magic, making this story even more interesting and hard to put down. At the end, when Charlotte and Sebastian are back in the present world, Charlotte discovers she has the real power from her past experience with the magic of the ring to truly make Sebastian hers, and in the way she really dreams, as his wife. This story is fun, sensual and magical and definitely in the same caliber as the rest of Ms. Boyle's historical romances. I look forward to the remaining books about the Marlowe Family Tree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful Regency romance

    By 1810 reticent spinster Charlotte Wilmont knows she loves Viscount Sebastian Marlowe, who ignores the fact that his family is pariahs of the Ton as he takes care of the scandals caused by his four wild siblings and causes a few with females too. Charlotte¿s fondest wish in life is to have Sebastian love her forever.--------------- However, sometimes you get what you wish for as Charlotte wakes up to find Sebastian in her bed. He remain the most notorious rake in England while she has become the most infamous mistress as every male bids to have Lottie Townsend in their bed, but he is the winner. Although she does not understanding how this transition from lonely in love and on the shelf virgin to his mistress happened, Charlotte does not care as she appreciates her freedom from convention, her sexual trysts with Sebastian, and the wealth to buy whatever she desires. Being the subject of male adulation and female envy only makes her unconventional life that much greater. However, in spite of her euphoric lifestyle, something is lacking and soon she realizes a mistress is not a wife and mother and that she may not have her beloved¿s heart after all.----------------- A bit of the whimsical adds to a wonderful Regency romance that will be considered by most readers as one of the best historical tales of the year. Charlotte initially loves that she has become HIS MISTRESS BY MORNING, but soon wants much more from him as she finally realizes her wish has not come true. Sebastian takes immense delight with his mistress at night, as he is a certified rake, but finds he needs more of Charlotte than just the bedroom. Sub-genre fans will enjoy this amusing quirky love story.---------------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    I loved reading this book. This is one of my favorite historica

    I loved reading this book. This is one of my favorite historical romances. It added something different and unique, and was not all about the typical kissing (etc) scenes but about the growth of protagonist Lottie as a person. We're all stuck between a rock and a hard place many times in our lives, and it was easy to feels the emotions of those similarly disposed in this novel. I always enjoy Boyle's novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    Love this book!

    I really love this book and could read it over and over. I loved the plot of the book and the characters. Wondering when the sequel will come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    I loved this book. To me it was amazing how so much could happen because of this ring. I could not believe how wonderful this book was. It was a def change to normal romance stories. I would rec this book to anyone that wants a different beat to a romance novel. It was thrilling, romantic and def original. I have put this in my library and intend to read it many more times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ!!

    I truly adored this novel, it was fun. Lottie (Charlotte), mousy friend of Sebastian's sister has adored him for a long time. Actually Lottie adores his whole family because they are eccentric and do not care about the ton's rules, well except for Sebastian. A good deed to a stranger transforms Lottie's life and she becomes Sebastian's love. Actually she becomes his mistress and in this parallel world Sebastian is a BAD BOY (Yummy). Here's where all the fun starts. Lottie discovers several things in this alternate world not only about this hidden part of herself but about her family too.<BR/>Then she is returned back into her original world and helps herself become more bold and saucy. She also decides to awaken Sebastian's inner bad boy and awaken his naughtiness too.<BR/>If you are looking for a light, fast, fun romance with a dash of magic then here is the book for you. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    couldn't put it down

    I love historical fiction and I love when I find a romance that I can't wait to see what's going to happen next but hate to see it end. I am estatic that there will be another story with the same characters. They were all unique and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1