Customer Reviews for

His Risk to Take (an Entangled Select novella)

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

As with all the books in the Brazen line - this was excellent.

As with all the books in the Brazen line - this was excellent. If you like the Alpha male and super hot sex - this is for you! I adore this line and every single title is an auto-buy for me!

posted by em_3boys on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This had a decent storyline, good characters and the epitome of

This had a decent storyline, good characters and the epitome of opposites attracting. It was smokin' in the sex area and Troy was hot as... Ruby is a great character and an awesome hustler. I really loved her. The book had a little too much predictability for me, and so...
This had a decent storyline, good characters and the epitome of opposites attracting. It was smokin' in the sex area and Troy was hot as... Ruby is a great character and an awesome hustler. I really loved her. The book had a little too much predictability for me, and something else that I'm not quite able to pinpoint. This is one of the best endings that I've read in a while. I was surprised when the book ended because there were so many more pages left of the book. Much to my surprise (and disappointment) the remaining pages consisted of multiple chapters from book 1 - that I had already read. I would like to know what (if anything) happened to Bowen and how (or if) his friendship with Ruby was impacted. That would have at least wrapped up my curiousity.

posted by starznstripes24 on February 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    As with all the books in the Brazen line - this was excellent.

    As with all the books in the Brazen line - this was excellent. If you like the Alpha male and super hot sex - this is for you! I adore this line and every single title is an auto-buy for me!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good

    This was a cute read with quite a solid plot and character development considering how short it was (only 100 pages). The guy was the typical alpha male, which I usually like, except that he was too possesive and a little freaky at times. Other than that, it was Ok. Good weekend read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Wow

    ## OK, so WOW. This book was spectacular. Albeit a tad short with 115 pages, I loved it from beginning to end. The heroine was fabulous. Beautiful, strong, capable and sassy. Absolute perfection. And the hero? Holy moly, he was hotness personified. Sure, he was a demanding alpha, but in the best way. Not in the "roll my eyes, this guy's an ass*ole" way. Their chemistry was intoxicating and the sex scenes were scrumptious. Tessa Bailey is two for two in my opinion. If you haven't read her first book "Protecting what's his", make sure you buy it today. It's a fun and sexy read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    This had a decent storyline, good characters and the epitome of

    This had a decent storyline, good characters and the epitome of opposites attracting. It was smokin' in the sex area and Troy was hot as... Ruby is a great character and an awesome hustler. I really loved her. The book had a little too much predictability for me, and something else that I'm not quite able to pinpoint. This is one of the best endings that I've read in a while. I was surprised when the book ended because there were so many more pages left of the book. Much to my surprise (and disappointment) the remaining pages consisted of multiple chapters from book 1 - that I had already read. I would like to know what (if anything) happened to Bowen and how (or if) his friendship with Ruby was impacted. That would have at least wrapped up my curiousity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Must Read!!

    Must Read!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Yet another homerun for Tessa Bailey. This second installment of

    Yet another homerun for Tessa Bailey. This second installment of the Line of Duty series didn't disappoint. It has Tessa's unique blend of suspense, humor, strong female lead and her signature dirty talking alpha hero. I thought this was the perfect novella to bridge the first book to the next full length book in the series. A setting change from Chicago to New York and the sequel bait characters were introduced in this book. This is a great book to read in one sitting and a great book to try if you're not familiar with Tessa Bailey and don't mind reading a series out of order. You'll still be able to pick up on everything if you do start with His Risk to Take. Again, great job Tessa! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    His Risk to Take is a sexy quick read with pool hustler heroine

    His Risk to Take is a sexy quick read with pool hustler heroine and a cop hero. This book is a lot of fun with strong female lead and hero who is a wonderful man who turns dominating in the bedroom. This dynamic really works well in the story along with the well developed back story of the heroine. 
    I would have liked the book to be a tad bit longer and have a really luscious epilogue to really enhance it. 

    If you are looking for a fast, fun, and hot read, this is a good one!

    If you like romances with bad-girls, gambling, grief, groveling, hero-in-pursuit, police, pool, possessive heros,and  smartass heriones, you will find it here. 

    I was given this book for my honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    This was a surprisingly fun read.  I went into this thinking it

    This was a surprisingly fun read.  I went into this thinking it would be a sexy romantic suspense novel and it was.  It was also charmingly sweet and erotic.  I loved this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars--HIS RISK TO TAKE is the second installment and novell

    3.5 stars--HIS RISK TO TAKE is the second installment and novella in Tessa Bailey’s adult, contemporary Line of Duty erotic romance series. This is police officer Troy Bennett and pool hustler Ruby Elliott’s storyline.
    Told from third person point of view HIS RISK TO TAKE follows Troy as he begins a seduction of a beautiful but strong willed woman he met on a recent night out with the boys. Ruby is everything Troy wants and everything he shouldn’t touch- a woman with a reputation and a history of illegal gambling with connections to underworld crime. Not only has Ruby grown up on the road but she has also grown up on the hustle. What ensues is Troy’s building relationship with a woman who will be caught in the middle of the NYPD’s latest take down.
    The relationship between Troy and Ruby is hot and steamy. Troy is a man who likes control in the bedroom; he likes to talk dirty during sex; and he isn’t afraid to experiment with whatever he finds nearby.  Ruby is caught off guard when her attraction to Troy forces her to choose sides between family and love.  Ruby is a stubborn and feisty woman whose choices will place everyone at risk and in this, she will cause more problems for Troy than she could possibly imagine-a little bit of Ruby goes a long way for everyone involved.
    The secondary and supporting characters include Troy’s fellow officers and the crime family connections to Ruby and her dad. We are introduced to Ruby's BFF Bowen Driscol-a man whose connection to Ruby is protective and close.
    HIS RISK TO TAKE is a fast paced, predictable novella with a hot, sexy cop and a difficult female lead. There were moments of anguish when Ruby continued to defy police orders and Troy’s need to protect-in this Ruby is a difficult character to like. Interfering in a police investigation led to some contentious issues with the man that she was growing to love. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    110 pages and the book sucked

    110 pages and the book sucked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Movie of the day

    This is a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Missed the mark

    While there were a few memorable scenes, it was not very good. The characters seemed shallow and the writing was weak. This is the first and last for me from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great read

    This is a new author for me but definitnely will keep reading what she puts out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Good read

    Like all the books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Hmm

    Hmm I felt this book could have been longer. Felt some parts were rush while other parts jump instead of explained. Still a good book tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    Troy Bennett is a homicide cop and he has just moved to Chicago

    Troy Bennett is a homicide cop and he has just moved to Chicago from New York. All he wants is to leave past (where his parnter was killed) behind him.
    Ruby is raising herslef, because her parents didn`t do their job, they abandoned her. So she survives the only way she can-she is a pool hustler. She meets Troy in a bar where she wants to play pool and their story begins.

    The story grabs your attention from start to finish.
    I really like Ruby. She is funny, strong and independent. She isn`t helpless little girl. She is a survivor! And Troy. Ohhh Troy. I love him and his dirty mounth! :)

    Definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    Love all of Tessa's HOT Alpha cops w/dirty mouths! Troy & Ru

    Love all of Tessa's HOT Alpha cops w/dirty mouths! Troy & Ruby's story is mouth watering amazing! Tessa's my go to author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Just ok

    Not as good as the author's other book. Too unrealistic. Not a re-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read! Not as good as the first but still really go

    Another great read! Not as good as the first but still really good. Troy has such a dirty mouth on him and it makes me melt! Ruby is a rough and tough girl but when her and Troy get into the bedroom its all dirty mouth dominating Troy. I really would have liked an epilogue with this story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great story

    This is really a very sweet story - you truly get to know and love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5