Customer Reviews for

His Robot Girlfriend

Average Rating 3.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

If Commander Data is your favorite ST:TNG character, you'll love this

A relatively short and simple story with lots of pop sci-fi references and insider techie jokes. Are the characters well developed with a deep history? Not so much -- this is, after all, a short story. It is, however, a story I just couldn't stop reading, even well i...
A relatively short and simple story with lots of pop sci-fi references and insider techie jokes. Are the characters well developed with a deep history? Not so much -- this is, after all, a short story. It is, however, a story I just couldn't stop reading, even well into the early hours of the morning. That's my benchmark for a good read.

posted by Jaceson on December 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

"Mike's life was crap"... and so was the story about him.

I was compelled to drop this story within the first page, but I figured that it was only 100 pages, so I could tough it out and see if it got better. It didn't. The whole story felt like a 40-something, sci-fi nerd's wet dream and the author could benefit from being mor...
I was compelled to drop this story within the first page, but I figured that it was only 100 pages, so I could tough it out and see if it got better. It didn't. The whole story felt like a 40-something, sci-fi nerd's wet dream and the author could benefit from being more adventurous and explore the concepts of a larger vocabulary and longer, more complex sentences. Mike was a detestible, pig of a character, and I often felt pity for his deceased wife for ever having married him. I found the rampant use of brand names and pop-culture references incredibly annoying, as were the random made up brand names such as "vueTee". Also, the economics in the story did not seem realistic to me - Mike balked at spending $2000 on a robot (which seems extremely cheap to me considering the full range of functionality available) but had no problem spending $150 at Wal-Mart for two dresses, a package of underpants, and a candy bar, or later funding thousand-dollar shopping spree for his robot. I found the politics in the story boring and held no value towards the overall worth of the story as I had no idea who these people were nor what relationship they had to anything in the story, so I often skipped those paragraphs. Had the author actually used more descriptive words instead of writing the story like an itinerary, and had there actually been more of a plot, I might have enjoyed it. The one and only thing that I did find rewarding in the experience was how the robot girlfriend started to transform Mike into a better person. By the end of the story, I still thought he was a shallow idiot, but I hated him less, all thanks to his robot girlfriend.

posted by Molica-MakeBelieve on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "Mike's life was crap"... and so was the story about him.

    I was compelled to drop this story within the first page, but I figured that it was only 100 pages, so I could tough it out and see if it got better. It didn't. The whole story felt like a 40-something, sci-fi nerd's wet dream and the author could benefit from being more adventurous and explore the concepts of a larger vocabulary and longer, more complex sentences. Mike was a detestible, pig of a character, and I often felt pity for his deceased wife for ever having married him. I found the rampant use of brand names and pop-culture references incredibly annoying, as were the random made up brand names such as "vueTee". Also, the economics in the story did not seem realistic to me - Mike balked at spending $2000 on a robot (which seems extremely cheap to me considering the full range of functionality available) but had no problem spending $150 at Wal-Mart for two dresses, a package of underpants, and a candy bar, or later funding thousand-dollar shopping spree for his robot. I found the politics in the story boring and held no value towards the overall worth of the story as I had no idea who these people were nor what relationship they had to anything in the story, so I often skipped those paragraphs. Had the author actually used more descriptive words instead of writing the story like an itinerary, and had there actually been more of a plot, I might have enjoyed it. The one and only thing that I did find rewarding in the experience was how the robot girlfriend started to transform Mike into a better person. By the end of the story, I still thought he was a shallow idiot, but I hated him less, all thanks to his robot girlfriend.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fell short for its lack of plot

    This book fell real short of my expectations. It was a shame that the author did not delve into the possible permutations of human / machine relationships. Instead we are left with teenage male fantasy of the 'perfect' woman who just happens to be a robot. All that is required of the human character is a fat bank balance or good credit. This story had very little in the way of plot. The "no robot" policies didn't faze anyone and just seemed inconvenient. Everyone is accepting of him dating his robot, the lack of real conflict lost this book for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    If you are curious to know about women's fashion (and the unique

    If you are curious to know about women's fashion (and the unique names that some of their clothes are called), how without a woman (even a robotic one) a man is incapable of taking care of himself, and like to see the two biggest cliche's in robotic lore (unexpected shutdown and robots gone bad), then this is the book for you.
    Otherwise, search elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Lost

    I was really curious about how this book would be, hoping it was a challenged romance butitwas more like that one movie about a guy that fell in love with his phone (I think the movie was called her) maybe justa tad better since it was a robot instead. Not my taste but maybe someone else will be interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Read the entire story and nothing remarkable about it.

    Nor character development or truly engaging plotline. Story was about 107pgs long. The story read more on long the lines of a 40-something, sci-fi nerd's wet dream and the author could benefit from being more adventurous and explore the concepts of a larger vocabulary and longer, more complex sentences. The rampant use of brand names and pop-culture references incredibly annoying – because it this was in the way future why would a very bad movie like starship troopers be still around to watch on TV sorry “vueTee” and the random made up brand names such as "vueTee" were just annoying. Read the entire story and nothing remarkable about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Msm

    I didnt like it at all i wouldnt recommend this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    waste of time, no real plot

    I stopped reading after the 1st chapter... blah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2