Customer Reviews for

His Southern Temptation (The Boys are Back in Town Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Recommend

    I read the first book in this series and greatly enjoyed it. This one was good but I didn't get the same I don't want to put it down feel. I think in part is because I really like the whole meet and curiousity in getting to know one another stories. In this they already had a several occasions past. All in all though I love Robin's style of writing but this is probably a three and half star for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    IT HAD IT ALL

    It had it all, heartwarming southern atmosphere, a strong story plot, very likeable and realistic protagonists, very down to earth and developed main characters with the chemistry between them sweet and passionate; last but not least, the sex was steamy!! Thank you Robin!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Recommend

    Good story. Loved Lucky and his devotion to Taylor. A twist I didn't see coming. And a love story worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    His Southern Temptation was such a fun and sexy read! The story

    His Southern Temptation was such a fun and sexy read! The story of a guy who falls for his best friend's sister is one of my very favorites. I loved that Lucky and Taylor already had a long history and an established relationship. This history has the story beyond the "getting to know you" phase and into the heart of the story, Lucky convincing Taylor to take a chance on love.

    Lucky Landon is my favorite kind of book guy. He's sexy (of course!), but also a genuinely good guy who cares a lot for his family and friends. Lucky was a former Marine, and had spent years doing covert operations that left him wanting the peace and comfort of him. Over the years, Lucky would meet up with Taylor, the younger sister of his best friend. Lucky found peace in Taylor and now hopes to convince her to stay and take a chance at a real relationship. OH! Here's a biggie (for me): Lucky has dark blond hair. Now this might not seem like pertinent information to some, but for someone who really likes dudes with dark blond hair, it's a huge plus! Don't get me wrong, I like a sexy dark haired guy as much as the next lady, but it seems almost every single book has one.

    It's always nice to have a book in which the guy is chasing the girl, and the one who wants more. Taylor is definitely a lady who's hard to catch. And she has no interest in a true relationship with Lucky, or so she would like to think. Taylor was fun, a real free spirit who doesn't want to end up in a loveless relationship like her parents. I really appreciate authors who write women like Taylor. Women who are comfortable with themselves, their bodies, and with pleasure. And speaking of pleasure, this book had lots of it! Lucky and Taylor had been hooking up for so long and knew each others wants and pleasures so well. They were intense in their intimate moments, but also had a lot of fun.

    His Southern Temptation is exactly what I'm looking for when I want a fun a steamy read. I spent a huge amount of time reading and swooning, but just as much time laughing. I haven't read the first book in the series, a companion, but I definitely will. Robin Covington is an author that I can highly recommend and will be excited to read more from in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Another steamy one!

    His Southern Temptation is just as hot as the first book! All the boys are back in Robin's second installment and they don't disappoint. Couldn't put the book down--perfect beach read! Looking forward to the next story in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    This was a good solid book. It took me a little while to get int

    This was a good solid book. It took me a little while to get into it, but I think part of that was because I had not read the first one in the series, so perhaps there was some history that would have made more sense to me if I had read A Night of Southern Comfort. This was my first book by Robin Covington and I enjoyed her storytelling. 

    The characters are well developed and I really enjoyed Lucky and Taylor. They both had a lot to overcome to find their happy ever after. I also felt like Robin did a nice job of making their feelings and emotions very real. They responded to things in the way you expected and you really wanted them to work. Taylor is not a princess, which I really liked about her. I have an inner bad girl that I never act on so it was fun to live through her a little. She is exactly the type of girl Lucky needs.

    The intimate scenes were nicely done and were appropriate for both the characters and the story. Robin writes them with plenty of passion but doesn't cross the line into too much detail. I really enjoyed several of the secondary characters and look forward to going back to A Night of Southern Comfort to read Jack and Michaela's story. If you like contemporary romance with great characters, a good plot, and lots of love and friendship, I recommend you try His Southern Temptation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    This is one of those reads that just flies by! Taylor and Lucky

    This is one of those reads that just flies by!

    Taylor and Lucky have been going in different directions practically their whole life. However every time they landed in the same place at the same time things always got very hot! So when they both ended up in their home town at the same time it didn't take long for that old spark to blaze again. Only problem is that Lucky is all in but Taylor has no intention on staying in the small town. She has plans in Hawaii. Can Lucky convince her that they are meant to be? Or will she leave like she always does?

    His Southern Temptation Was a great read. It it's the ground running from the first page and doesn't stop until the end. Full of passion, drama, and suspense you'll not want to put this book down. I loved Lucky and how he can be so jaded and hard on the outside but how soft he is when it came to Taylor. He just melted for her and at times made me want to protect him from her. Taylor had me wanting to smack some sense into her. Don't get me wrong I loved her but the way she keeps Lucky hanging on at times got to me.

    Overall this was a sweet, romantic read with a really HOT guy! lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Lucky is back in town tired of working for the government and de

    Lucky is back in town tired of working for the government and determined to buy his father's farm and settle down to live a quiet life. 
    Taylor is back in town to help pack up her family's belongings before they sell the house.
    But neither of them was counting in seeing each other again... especially not sharing a house for three weeks... 




    His Southern Temptation is a sexy, sweet and intriguing read. 
    Lucky is all you want in a man. He has a dark past he's trying to forget, but he's determined and boy does he know how to charm a woman. He's equal parts funny, intense, sweet and HOT. 
    Taylor on the other hand is more of a wild child. She's not looking for marriage, just a few weeks of fun between good friends and perfect lovers while they're on the same place. But Lucky wants more... and he's gonna make this three weeks worth it. 




    I can't tell you how emotional this book is. Taylor and Lucky will break your heart, have you screaming in frustration and believing in love all in the same scene. 
    In a way they do want the same: Each other. But they also want to go after their dreams, and that is in different states... let's not forget that Taylor has a bit of commitment issues so yeah... heartbreak is near and constant. 




    The pull they feel for each other is intense, and the way they fit together feels as natural as breathing.
    Ms. Covington really makes a wonderful job bringing this wild and sweet characters to life and making them real in the pages. The emotions are so well written that you can really connect to the book.
    The pace is great, with lots of action both in the bed and out thanks to the mob going after Taylor. I really liked that touch to the story, it give Taylor and Lucky a perfect opportunity to decide what to do. The secondary characters add in a funny way to the story.. and sometimes they don't really help them but they make it entertaining. 




    I'm really looking forward to the other books in this series.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    I¿m a big fan of lovers reunited and when I came across the oppo

    I’m a big fan of lovers reunited and when I came across the opportunity to review Robin Covington’s His Southern Temptation, I couldn’t resist. I haven’t read the first book in the series, A Night of Southern Comfort, and while I don’t think it’s necessary to read it before reading His Southern Temptation, I think it would help because you’ll be familiar with a lot of the characters mentioned. That being said, His Southern Temptation, is a good a standalone book.

    Like any person growing up in a small town, David “Lucky” Landon couldn’t wait to leave and his chance came when he enrolled in the US military. As a former assassin in the military, he’s done things he wishes he could forget. He decides he wants to buy his father’s farm, but before he does, he has one more job to do. He’s hired to find the whereabouts of Sarah Morgan and the case is proving more than he bargained for; no one will talk to him regarding Sarah. Meanwhile Taylor Elliott is only in town to help pack and sell her family’s house. Thinking an intruder is in the house she holds him at gunpoint and realizes it’s none other than Lucky. The feelings she had for him resurfaces and both must come to grips with what it all means. Will they be able to put the past aside or will they once again go their separate ways?

    I really enjoyed Covington’s writing and His Southern Temptation is a fast paced read. In terms of characterization, the characters are interesting and well-written. We find out how long Lucky and Taylor have known each other and the reason why they aren’t together. The differences between their backgrounds are also pointed out, with Lucky growing up on a farm and Taylor being part of a prominent wealthy family. Taylor has some relationship issues. Her parents haven’t had an ideal marriage and she’s afraid of heading down the same path. The constant relationship / no relationship discussion got a bit old especially once Taylor had made her mind. I understand her mother’s point when she tells Taylor she needs to live to her life and basically outlined what she gave up, but at the same time Taylor has had YEARS to think this through. That was my only small annoyance. While there are a lot of secondary characters, you’ll enjoy them. I loved Sheriff Burke and his untimely arrival in three memorable scenes involving Lucky and Taylor. The real standout secondary character is Taylor’s brother, Teague. He’s so stuffy and proper and I can’t wait for someone to come and turn his world upside down.

    The mystery of Sarah Morgan plays a minor role and while I was disappointed there wasn’t more to it, I realized after reading, this isn’t about Sarah, but about Lucky and Taylor. While I wanted to give it a three, I debated with the rating. In the end, the romance between Lucky and Taylor is the center of the novel and because of that, I gave it a four.

    My favorite quotes:
    It was time to channel the late, great Patrick Swayze and take “Baby” out of the corner.

    "Maybe what you’re looking for isn’t a place but a person."

    I’ll be going back to read A Night of Southern Comfort and am really looking forward to reading Teague Elliott’s story. If you’re a fan of romance, I recommend His Southern Temptation. Just be warned: it’s a sizzling read. You might need a cold shower or two after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1