Customer Reviews for

His Steadfast Love

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    HIS STEADFAST LOVE by Golden Keyes Parsons is an interesting and

    HIS STEADFAST LOVE by Golden Keyes Parsons is an interesting and intriguing inspirational historical romance set in 1861 Texas during the Civil war era. How can you chose between love and family?But during the Civil war era that is exactly what Amanda Bell must do.Captain Kent Littlefield aligns with the Union, while her brother,Daniel aligns with the Confederate states,Amanda finds herself in a conflict of the heart. Filled with the atrocities of war,faith,the chaos of war,internal struggles,romance,and love. Fast paced story of love and decision that could cause one to lose their life,the other their heart. A must for anyone who enjoys historical romance,fiction,Civil war era,inspirational stories and love. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details at the author's website,Thomas Nelson, and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: SWEET
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    His Steadfast Love is a Civil War-era novel mainly centered on A

    His Steadfast Love is a Civil War-era novel mainly centered on Amanda and her difficult choice between supporting his brother, Daniel who fights for the South and her love interest, Kent who fights for the North. Torn between choosing family versus love in a war where no one really wins, she struggles with her faith and her heart too.

    Ms. Parsons has made a well-researched historical-romance-politics book that would make you realize the horrors of what men, fathers, sons and families had to endure when our own country went to war against itself. The plot isn’t that unique, but the storyline and the other subplots especially the theme of faith and slavery makes “His Steadfast Love” a wonderful book. The descriptions of the culture, surroundings and even what war look like was well-written. This book put you back into the time of the Civil War.

    I love all of the characters, Ms. Parsons made a wonderful job in weaving them to reality. I was carried away with the real emotions and real prejudices. The flaws of each of the characters made the story real too. I honestly hate too perfect characters, but in this book, they had flaws, they made mistakes. And it’s the best thing that makes reading this relatable.

    I really love Kent here..:)… he’s not just a soldier fighting for his country and what he believes in but he’s willing to fight for love too. Amanda’s is a strong character I would also remember because of how she learned and listened to her heart and God’s word.

    The reason I give this 4.5 is because the story was in a slow-paced, there are fighting, drama, conflicts but these are evenly placed. Also because although I really admire the protagonists relationship and how God put them together, I felt it was rushed or like they met, met some more and fall in love. >not everyone may share this opinion. Also because, the story jump fast into time, like one month, then the next chapter is 6 months (maybe it’s just because I’m curious to what happened during the lost time :D)

    His Steadfast Love is about love, family and loyalty. Where does your loyalty rely- to your country or to your own family? Is love enough to disobey your family? This book made us see death and how hope, even in the darkest times could make life worthwhile.

    An engaging and thought-provoking read that I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys historical pieces with the subthemes of love, faith, loyalty and slavery.

    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Y'all will love this story.

    Y’all will love this story!
    The setting for this romance brings the history alive and Ms Parsons gives us a wonderful insight into the lifestyle of pre-Civil War Texas, during the war and after the war. The history breathes as our hero and the heroine’s brother are in battles and moving around the country during the war. Our heroine experiences many changes to her lifestyle and grows, sometimes tenuously, in her faith and mettle through those changes. The ravages of war and its effects cannot daunt the love our hero, Kent, has for Amanda, even though they are from opposing sides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story during the Civil War

    I love to read a good historical book and this is one of those. A love story back during the Civil War where Amanda Belle, a southern lady brought up with the strict upbringing of a Southern family and she is left to care for her younger brothers and sisters after the lost of her mother. She met an Union army officer Kent Litterfield just before the civil war started and they fell in love. But he soon had to leave her for the union army and having to leave the woman he loves back in the south.

    Soon Amanda's brother Daniel joined the Confederate army, so now they would be fighting brother against brother, so sad. Will their love be enough to bring Kent back to Amanda or will she loose him.

    As I am also a southern lady and lost my own great-grandfather in the civil war, I know a lot about the way the south was destroyed by the north. My own great-grandfather was last heard of near Charleston, SC never to return, my grandfather was born during this time never to know his own father. I love to read about this time, but I also hurt for my own people at what they had to undergo.

    Thanks so much to Wynn-Wynn Media for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Civil War Romance

    This book takes place during the Civil War. Most of the book is set in Texas. For me that made it very interesting since I have lived in Texas my whole life. It shows many of the ugly parts of the war on both sides. Often when we are in a conflict we only see the side we have chosen. We often forget that there are good and bad things on each side. And we often forget that when the war is over we need to move forward, forgive and rebuild what was torn down.

    Kent and Amanda faced the fact that they were on different sides of the war but their love continued to grow. They depended on the Lord to bring them back together when the time was right. You see honest doubt in Amanda about the prayers she offers up to the Lord through the years of death and hardship. But when it comes right down to it she returns to her faith and trusts the Lord to take care of her and her family.

    Kent is a man of honor and understands that even though he is a leader in the war, there is a line that should be drawn. He is not always able to keep his troops from the evil they seek to do but you see that it is a part of his heart to do so.

    If you love history and romance, you will enjoy this book. I would not recommend it to younger readers since the topic tends to lean heavily on the war, unless you want to use it as part of your history lessons for older teens so that you can talk about what you have read and address the ugliness of the war with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    His Steadfast Love - A Review

    His Steadfast Love by Golden Keyes Parsons is a story of God¿s faithfulness in the midst of the most serious conflict, confusion, and controversy. Against the background of the Civil War, Amanda Belle, a supporter of the Confederate cause, falls in love with a Union officer. Both she and the man she loves are devout Christians and both are praying for victory for their respective sides. Yet, how can God answer both of their prayers if one of them is not on the side of truth? And where does the truth lie? This central question is resolved by the end of this entertaining and inspiring book. Packed with emotion, this story will captivate you from beginning to end. You will laugh and you will cry as God¿s answer to division emerges as unchangeable and constant as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    His Steadfast Love - A Moving Tale

    Author, Golden Keyes Parsons, uses vivid details and words that painted wonderful pictures for me and kept me fully engaged. The week that I read this book, I substituted all week, and I almost couldn't stand it when I had to stop reading.

    I appreciated historical facts that were included. Some I had not considered before and some gave me ideas for further exploration. I also liked that a reader's guide was included. The questions are perfect for further personal consideration of issues raised in His Steadfast Love, or for a book club discussion. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    An Enjoyable Light Read for Girls

    A daughter's promise to her dying mother. A war between the states. A family to care for. A Confederate brother. A Union Captain.

    In 1861, Amanda thinks she will never get married. She made a promise to her dying mother. A promise that was made willingly, but is rather binding to her siblings. She's fine with that, until handsome Captain Kent Littlefield walks into her life. Then Texas secedes from the Union and Amanda's brother joins the Confederate army. Where does Captain Littlefield go? Well, he joins the Union army. As you can probably guess, this complicates that blossoming friendship between the Captain and Amanda. When her father forbids her to pursue the relationship, Amanda is heartbroken, but moves on with her life. Until, her father dies, her brother is wounded, and the love of her life is captured.

    The Bad: There is very little to not like about this book. It was simple and sweet, it had an interesting plot line, and a lot of history. :) However, some people might be worried about some elements. One, Amanda continues to secretly write the Captain even after her father forbids their relationship. Two, the couples in this book do hug and kiss.

    The Good: This book was really good and interesting. The plot line was intriguing (not predictable) and made for a very enjoyable read. One wonderful thing about this book was Amanda's strong faith in Christ and her love of people.

    My Thoughts: I would recommend this book to my friends (the girls that is!). It isn't life changing or challenging, but it made for some fun light reading!





    Score ~ ????
    Violence ~ 1
    Indecency ~ 3
    Language ~ None
    Age Appropriateness ~ 15 and Up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    His Steadfast Love

    I really enjoy reading novels that are set during the Civil War era and this book was no exception!

    I liked how the book started six months before the start of the war and ended shortly after the war. I got to see how different both sides were towards one another before the war, and how drastically that changed. I thought 'His Steadfast Love' portrayed very well how torn most people must have been during this time, with brother fighting against brother, friend against friend, and father against son.

    Amanda knows just how this feels. She is torn between both sides. Her brother is fighting for the Confederacy and the man she loves is fighting for the Union. Every victory is a defeat, every advance is a setback, when one is winning the other is losing. She will never be completely happy until this war is over. Little does she know that even that may not solve all the problems that have been created.

    The reason I didn't give 'His Steadfast Love' five stars, is because several times very obscure words were used and had I not been reading this book on an ereader I would have had to look them up because I couldn't figure out what they meant. I liked that I learned some new words, but at the same time this slowed the story down. I also didn't like how abrupt the ending was - I felt that there should at least have been a few more pages.

    Overall, 'His Steadfast Love' is a book that I would recommend. I think that this book would make an excellent movie - especially if they made the ending a little longer! Anyone who loves Civil War era books should LOVE this book - I know I did!

    *** I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion of it - which I have done.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Live To Read

    This book is perfect for those who enjoy the civil war era. The main character, Amanda, has to make several difficult decisions. She doesn't know where to turn or who to choose. In this awful time period, she finds herself falling in love with a potential enemy and she still wants to obey her family.




    The author clearly did research into this era. The reader doesn't have to worry about discrepancies or errors. The events are very well-detailed. The reader will be able to picture some scenes. Amanda as a character was OK to read about. She could be a little too sensitive to others' feelings sometimes...eventually you have to put yourself first or at least second. She was brave, smart, and calm through most of the book. The secondary characters were interesting, they added a fair amount to the book. This book is recommended to adult readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Civil War historical

    This is the second book that I have read by Golden Parsons and I really think I liked the first book titled "Where Hearts Are Free"much better than this one. I normally am a huge fan of historicals especially ones that take place around the Civil War but for me this book really didn't seem to be very thouroughly researched. Other than that it was an okay story. Again I loved the civil war time period, and the fact that the plot moved along quickly was another plus. Even though that the main character (Amanda ) made a promise to her mother on her deathbed she still found herself falling in love with Captain Kent Littlefield, a union soldier, even though her brother Daniel was with the Confederates. I couldn't help but wonder how things would work out. I also find it quite refreshing that a writer can pull us into a story, and also give us a nice positive christian message as well.

    If you enjoy historical fiction, and don't mind a bit of innaccuracies in the details then I think your going to enjoy this one. I easily give it four stars and will certainly watch for more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    His Steadfast Love

    Good evening, all! I hope that everyone is well. I have just received a new book from booksneeze- "His Steadfast Love" by Golden Keyes Parsons. I'm not entirely sure that's the author's real name, but if it is, I am extremely jealous. Anyway, I need to say, before I get started on the review, I received this book for free from the Thomas Nelson Publishing company through the Booksneeze bloggers' program, and everything I say is my own, complete, and honest opinion. So, now, on with the show! "His Steadfast Love" by Golden Keyes Parsons takes place during the civil war, on the Gulf Coast of Texas. A young woman, Amanda, never thinking that she would get married, finds herself falling in love with a Union captain. When her brother joins the Confederates, she is torn in two. What happens next? I guess that you will just have to read it for yourself and find out. Mixing history beautifully with romance, "His Steadfast Love" by Golden Keyes Parsons is a very well written book. It is interesting to see both sides of a conflict put together so well (you know, Union v. Confederate). I give this book four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    An excellent portrayal of the Civil War conflict, both within and without

    Amanda Belle has always dismissed the normal dreams of young women; getting married, having a family, etc. because of the deathbed vow she made to her mother, promising she would look after her siblings. All of that changes when she meets Captain Kent Littlefield, a young soldier stationed in her Texas town. Over time her affection for him grows but its all interrupted by the start of the Civil War. Kent returns to the North to fight for the Union, while Amanda's brother Daniel goes off to join the Confederate Army. Not only that, but Amanda's father has forbidden her to speak with or even write to Kent. Soon Amanda finds herself conflicted. She loves Kent but she also loves her brother, and she starts to really think about her beliefs concerning slavery. She was raised with their cook's children seeing them more as friends or even family than slaves, now she has to think about what that really means. And can she learn to trust God, accept his love?
    I really enjoyed this book, the title "His Steadfast Love" not only refers to the fact that God will never stop loving us, but also to the bond between Amanda and Kent who were willing to wait for each other, even through one of the darkest times in our country's history. Their love really was touching although some moments were only just shy of being downright cheesy. I also enjoyed the side story of Daniel, Amanda's brother, coming to terms with the things he saw and experienced during the war.
    I definitely would recommend this book to any history or romance fans, although things did go a little slowly especially in the beginning so I wouldn't suggest reading this if you are looking for adventure or suspense.
    I received this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1