BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

His Woman

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed the characters!

    Review by Jen:
    I'm glad I was given the opportunity to read this book. I enjoyed the characters, setting and the plot. I'll admit that sometimes I felt like Isabel and Duncan kept repeating the same arguments as to key they can't or can be together. But past that occasional feeling of repetitiousness, I was glued to the book. I recommend this book for anyone wanting to read a medieval romance set in the Scottish highlands. It is the second book in a series, but it totally stands on it's own and there's just a couple references to events that happened in the first book, His Captive.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Well done.

    Keeps you interested. Keeps you on edge and wanting to see what will happen next. Good length.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    His Woman by Diana Cosby

    I am not a woman who has read a lot of romance novels in my life although I am a diehard romantic (albeit a cynical one currently) at heart. Only within the last two years have I begun to read a fair amount of romance and chick lit because of the authors I have become acquainted with online. Although my bedroom walls are lined with prints of knights and fair maidens painted by John William Waterhouse, Edmund Blair Leighton, Lord Frederic Leighton and Sir Frank Dicksee, I have never known such love as is depicted in those legendary paintings, and perhaps that is why I am so drawn to medieval history and historical romance. My favourite novels are the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon and my heritage is German/Celtic. My maternal grandmother was of Scottish heritage and her maiden name was Clyde. Braveheart is one of my all-time favourite movies.

    So, it was with great eagerness and curiosity that I looked forward to reading His Woman by Diana Cosby - a historical romance set in 1297 Scotland when the rebel and martyr Sir William Wallace still lived. His Woman is the often frustrating and eye-rolling story of Lady Isabel Adair and her one true, but supposedly unobtainable love, Sir Duncan MacGruder.

    The story begins with Isabel having sacrificed her life's happiness to save her father's life by becoming the mistress of the evil, English Earl, Frasyer, who having known her betrothed Duncan since childhood and being intensely jealous of him wanted nothing more but to have Isabel so that Duncan could not. When Isabel's father, Lord Caelin, succumbs to alcoholism and gambling after his wife's death, he loses so much money that his home will be lost and most likely his life, unless he agrees to pay the debt with Isabel as his currency.

    While this book is pleasurable to peruse, as well as passionate, Lady Isabel Adair is a bit of an infuriating character for most of the story because her behaviour and the choices she makes present her as foolish in so many ways. I just wanted to slap her most of the time. She wasn't a heroine I could identify with in any way because she didn't feel she could trust the man she professed to love.

    This is the basis of the entire novel. Using the main characters, Cosby repeats questions over and over again and anyone who has half a brain could figure out the answers to them without knowing the twist that the ending holds. That part is quite good, I must say.

    Sir Duncan MacGruder and his brothers Seathan and Alexander are interesting, dynamic characters and I loved the description of their grandmother's tower chamber in Lochshire Castle with all its faery splendor and magic. However, just because Isabel has whisky hair, amber eyes (features which are nauseatingly repeated too frequently), a slim curvy figure, and they wwere childhood sweethearts, doesn't seem to be enough reason for Duncan's willingness to risk his life over and over for her sake once his promise to her dying brother Symon has been fulfilled.

    For entire review go to http://scullylovepromo.wordpress.com

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    I Am Going to Read Them All

    Got My Captive as a Nook Free Friday Book, read the synopsis and thought "I am not a romance novel kind of person, but what the heck - it is free." I read it in a day and upon completion, purchased the next two and enjoyed each equally. The Brothers MacGruder. Are there any such men other than in a wishful imagination? ...and I am not just talking the romantic/spicy bits. I am thinking a book such as this should be required reading for most men...read and learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Wonderful!

    I have never read a book where the first few chapters take place mostly under a bed!!! Not on the bed, under! Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    I absolutely love this author and this series keeps me coming ba

    I absolutely love this author and this series keeps me coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Good story..

    219pgs.... good story and great continuation of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great Series

    Great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    The first was better...

    But I quite enjoyed this one as well for many of the same reasons: strong characters with depth, a plot with a slight twist, hot romantic scenrs, and vividly described imagery.
    Quite enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2