Customer Reviews for

His to Command

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you wit...
Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you with working version. Don't blame the author or the publisher.

I'm wondering why most of the low star reviews are all making the same generic kinds of statements and not giving any specific comments about the book. It makes me wonder if they have even read the book.

Personally, I found this book fast paced, emotional, and exciting. I loved Kate and Matt's journey,and the way Kate struggled with her desire to be dominated. I found Matt to be a strong, likeable hero. And it was hot! It was everything I hope for and have come to expect of an Opal Carew book.

posted by CourtneyBass on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoy

AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I ...
AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I thought I was purchasing a novel not 147 pages.  TEN  DOLLARS for 147 pages!  Now isn't that a ripoff, ladies.  

posted by 988425 on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoy

    AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I thought I was purchasing a novel not 147 pages.  TEN  DOLLARS for 147 pages!  Now isn't that a ripoff, ladies.  

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

    Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

    I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you with working version. Don't blame the author or the publisher.

    I'm wondering why most of the low star reviews are all making the same generic kinds of statements and not giving any specific comments about the book. It makes me wonder if they have even read the book.

    Personally, I found this book fast paced, emotional, and exciting. I loved Kate and Matt's journey,and the way Kate struggled with her desire to be dominated. I found Matt to be a strong, likeable hero. And it was hot! It was everything I hope for and have come to expect of an Opal Carew book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Christian Grey who? I that's what I thought after meeting Matt

    Christian Grey who? I that's what I thought after meeting Matt Pearce, the sexiest man ever!! I love this book and how strong Kate is, even though she gives up control and submits to Matt. It's a scorching read by an amazing author! Hightly recommended!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I may give up control but you will never dominate me  Kate and

    I may give up control but you will never dominate me 

    Kate and Matt had a wonderful and more than satisfying relationship that Kate thought might be forever.  
    Kate and Matt always took the relationship to the edge of propriety and never doubted they both enjoyed
    what went on.  What Kate did not foresee was one night that turned from pleasure into unwanted pain that had her running. 

    When Kate and Matt cross paths, again, the heat is still there but so is the pain that Matt’s poor decision created.  
    What has Matt confused is the pain he sees in Kate’s eyes every time he tries to approach her, what had he done?
    When personal desires could not bring them together Matt uses professional to draw Kate back into his life and his bed.  
    Can they sort through the issues, continue the over the top moments of bliss they shared, and is there a
    future for them if Kate refuses to allow Matt to dominate at least some part of the relationship. 

    Opal Carew writes the most exquisite works of erotic romance that push the respectability envelope right off the table

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Total ripoff

    I want my money back! I got this book because it was suppose to have 288 pages and it only has 147. I think most of the book is either missing or it was not sent in the correctly in the Nook version. I opened it and it doesn't even open fully. All I see is the middle of the screen. What is the purpose to pay 9.99 for something that actually cost 2.99 like many others. There is suppose to be about 7 books and it seems like there are two 70 page booklets. There is a problem here and I want a refund. Can someone help with this problem? I would appreciate it.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    This was originally 6 parts?!

    At only 147 pages, this story isn't worth your money. So predictable, his "secret" that he kept from her for 2 years was so obvious, immediately!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    This was a very "cookie cutter" story that I believe w

    This was a very "cookie cutter" story that I believe was just churned out to cash-in. I called B&N customer service as the product details state there are 288 pages to this book and it came across as only 147!?!?!? I feel like I completely wasted $9.99

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Alright

    This book was just okay and definitely not worth 9.99

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    What happened to a plot?  This was terrible...only 170 something

    What happened to a plot?  This was terrible...only 170 something pages for ten dollars?  What a rip off.  The sex wasn't even that good.  I would really like my money back. I will not be purchasing anything else of Opal Carew's.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No

    Bad

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Let's break this down...

    You have a once ago romance, she runs (that's a natural thing at times)

    He happens to be in the same area as her.

    BAM!!!!

    All old feelings are back.

    How are the happenings or how they end up- well the future reader needs to find that out.

    I enjoyed the book- some felt rushed. I was wanting a little bit more of the stronger BDSM but for what the characters could do/handle- it works.

    One subject seem to disappear from the book after an event but maybe I had an oversight while reading it in 24 hrs.

    Thank you Ms. Opal for sharing your talents with us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    I had read good things about the author, but this was a huge dis

    I had read good things about the author, but this was a huge disappointment. I read the blurb before buying, and the story seemed like it had a lot of potential. The story quickly fell flat, it was very predictable and even boring at times. The D/s was unrealistic, a little more research would have gone long way, there is good BDSM fiction out there, but this is not it. This was a cookie cutter version of Sh of Gr, (which also was not very good IMHO). I've read much better fanfiction and it was free.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I do recommend this bood if you want a short story

    I enjoyed this paperback book alot. For a single book series this is one of the better books to read it kept my interest the entire time which made it extremely hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Not worth the price

    $9.99 for 175 pages???? Not worth it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Margaret & posted at Under the Co

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Margaret & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “I was completely entranced about how the characters dealt with their past and their present relationship.” ~Under the Covers

    Kate is a professional business woman. She moved to a different place to start her life over. She is also looking for an investor for her company so that she can buy her partner out. She never thought that her past would come back to haunt her. She also never thought that she would still have feelings for the one man who broke her heart.

    Matt is a computer tech. He started his new business and, while waiting for someone, caught a glimpse of a woman from his past. He never thought that he would see her again. And he never thought that he would still be in love with her.

    The first part of the book was more about Kate trying to avoid Matt. She did not want anything to do with him. She just wanted to forget her time with him. She felt that she did not need another broken heart. Matt just wanted to know what actually happened between them. So he tried to hunt her down. Kate did her hardest to hide from him. But in the end he caught up with her. And told her he would not let her go until he found out what happened between them.

    Since Matt finally got Kate to sit down with him and talk; he suggested something to help her find her new Dominant. He offered to teach her everything she needed to know to serve, and at the end of their time together they would both go their separate ways. With that agreement they both tried to keep their feelings from each other. But as the days progressed, Matt tried to stay in Dominant mode and Kate tried to stay in submissive mode, their feelings for each other surfaced once again. They both tried to ignore it but in the end their feelings were stronger than their wills.

    This book gave different aspects all in one book. It gave the Dominant/submissive angle and it also gave a real relationship angle. I was completely entranced about how the characters dealt with their past and their present relationship. By reading this book, the past always comes back to the present. Even if a relationship ends, there is no telling if the people in that relationship will ever run into another again and still have those same feelings for each other.

    I have always loved reading books from this author. She has a way of making her female characters down to earth and with backbones. She also has a way of making her male characters extremely hot and makes you with you had him in your life instead of in a book. I actually think that this book became my favorite of all of her books. I cannot wait for another book by this author to come out. I am counting the months until then.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Cannot Recommend

    A little too risqué for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I have not read the book.. I was thinking about it until reading

    I have not read the book.. I was thinking about it until reading some of the reviews. Its sounds ALOT like the crossfire series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    KNRC

    Love it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    I have never read any of her books...but I really enjoyed this o

    I have never read any of her books...but I really enjoyed this one....can't wait to read the next one, his to possess, hoping its just as good if not better!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3