Customer Reviews for

His to Command

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you wit...
Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you with working version. Don't blame the author or the publisher.

I'm wondering why most of the low star reviews are all making the same generic kinds of statements and not giving any specific comments about the book. It makes me wonder if they have even read the book.

Personally, I found this book fast paced, emotional, and exciting. I loved Kate and Matt's journey,and the way Kate struggled with her desire to be dominated. I found Matt to be a strong, likeable hero. And it was hot! It was everything I hope for and have come to expect of an Opal Carew book.

posted by CourtneyBass on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoy

AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I ...
AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I thought I was purchasing a novel not 147 pages.  TEN  DOLLARS for 147 pages!  Now isn't that a ripoff, ladies.  

posted by 988425 on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Good book

    Opal love your books this one good read not my favorite

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Surprised

    I kept waiting for the secrets to come out. Editing needed, a bit frustrating but I kept turning the pages. Hot and sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    It could have been better

    I gave this boom 2 stars because i felt like it was rushed also because it was $10 for 140 pages i feel like i was ripped off

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Not worth it.

    I've read quite a bit of this genre lately and have been finding some very talented writers and steamy stories! However, I have to say that this was the worst, by far. First, the book is only 140 written pages on my Nook. Really? I paid $10 for 140 pages? Unfortunately, it was 140 pages of nothing special. The book felt like it was thrown together in order to reach the newfound excitement for BDSM-related books that has taken over the country. The story was disjointed and I never really felt any connection to the characters. This was my first taste of this author, and sadly, it will be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Great book

    This was a great book to read. I enjoyed it very much. It was very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    I enjoyed the love story between Matt and Kate as well as their characters. The dialogue between the two was good and at times amusing. However, I have read over 100 books of this genre. I too am beginning to believe they are being written quickly at the expense of the storyline, for example Matt is a dominant, and Kate was /is his submissive. The Dominant that whipped Kate, so severely leaving scars would never have done so without a safe word in place and the permission of her Dominant. Therefore, he was nothing more than a common criminal who belonged in jail. Second, the person that set this all in motion Ileana only lost her job, not at a result of what she did but her own promiscuitious behavior. When she went to Matt's home, at no point did Kate actually confront her for what she did. Matt only asked for her to be removed from his projects. She did not even attend to Kate's wounds after the beating. I don't believe there is a woman in the world that would not have slapped Ileana for what she did, pushing her way into his home, flaunting their relationship in her face and not only telling that lie but trying to steal the ring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Not worth it

    Terribly written! I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this. That was $10 wasted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I wish I read the reviews before I purchased it. $10 for 147 pa

    I wish I read the reviews before I purchased it. $10 for 147 pages, really? I feel like I missed the beginning of their relationship. Like I was reading the clifnotes to the whole book. Not happy! Hopefully the publisher will realize the mistake of the cost, of course that's $10 I'll never get back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Not good

    Don't waste your time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    A reallyoodd read for those that read really quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Pretty trashy

    Minimal plot, just one dominant/submissive sexual encounter after another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    HIS TO COMMAND was definitely an intriguing read. After reading

    HIS TO COMMAND was definitely an intriguing read. After reading ILLICIT by the same author, I jumped right into this book. I was very impressed at how Ms. Carew hooked me once again from the beginning. It was such a fast read which I wasn’t expecting. It was a story about love, romance and dominance. I am not really into the whole BDSM and have read it before and wasn’t impressed. This story however wasn’t that bad. I was surprised. Overall, a quick, very well written and recommended read.

    Rating: 4

    Heat Rating: Extremely Scorching

    Reviewed by: KellyR

    Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Fast read

    I enjoyed it.quick short story. Easy to identify with the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    ....

    ....

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3