BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

His to Command

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you wit...
Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you with working version. Don't blame the author or the publisher.

I'm wondering why most of the low star reviews are all making the same generic kinds of statements and not giving any specific comments about the book. It makes me wonder if they have even read the book.

Personally, I found this book fast paced, emotional, and exciting. I loved Kate and Matt's journey,and the way Kate struggled with her desire to be dominated. I found Matt to be a strong, likeable hero. And it was hot! It was everything I hope for and have come to expect of an Opal Carew book.

posted by CourtneyBass on April 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoy

AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I ...
AWFUL.  I have read other books by Opal Carew which I have enjoyed but this book was a complete RIPOFF!  The story felt like it was just thrown together to meet the critria that readers who enjoyed "Fifty Shades" are looking for.   Its not.  But even worse, I thought I was purchasing a novel not 147 pages.  TEN  DOLLARS for 147 pages!  Now isn't that a ripoff, ladies.  

posted by 988425 on April 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

    Hot, Sexy, and Dominating! Another excellent Opal Carew story!

    I have the print book and it is 275 trade paperback pages. If people are finding that the number of pages in the Nook book isn't right, tell support and they should correct the problem and provide you with working version. Don't blame the author or the publisher.

    I'm wondering why most of the low star reviews are all making the same generic kinds of statements and not giving any specific comments about the book. It makes me wonder if they have even read the book.

    Personally, I found this book fast paced, emotional, and exciting. I loved Kate and Matt's journey,and the way Kate struggled with her desire to be dominated. I found Matt to be a strong, likeable hero. And it was hot! It was everything I hope for and have come to expect of an Opal Carew book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Christian Grey who? I that's what I thought after meeting Matt

    Christian Grey who? I that's what I thought after meeting Matt Pearce, the sexiest man ever!! I love this book and how strong Kate is, even though she gives up control and submits to Matt. It's a scorching read by an amazing author! Hightly recommended!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I may give up control but you will never dominate me  Kate and

    I may give up control but you will never dominate me 

    Kate and Matt had a wonderful and more than satisfying relationship that Kate thought might be forever.  
    Kate and Matt always took the relationship to the edge of propriety and never doubted they both enjoyed
    what went on.  What Kate did not foresee was one night that turned from pleasure into unwanted pain that had her running. 

    When Kate and Matt cross paths, again, the heat is still there but so is the pain that Matt’s poor decision created.  
    What has Matt confused is the pain he sees in Kate’s eyes every time he tries to approach her, what had he done?
    When personal desires could not bring them together Matt uses professional to draw Kate back into his life and his bed.  
    Can they sort through the issues, continue the over the top moments of bliss they shared, and is there a
    future for them if Kate refuses to allow Matt to dominate at least some part of the relationship. 

    Opal Carew writes the most exquisite works of erotic romance that push the respectability envelope right off the table

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Margaret & posted at Under the Co

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Margaret & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “I was completely entranced about how the characters dealt with their past and their present relationship.” ~Under the Covers

    Kate is a professional business woman. She moved to a different place to start her life over. She is also looking for an investor for her company so that she can buy her partner out. She never thought that her past would come back to haunt her. She also never thought that she would still have feelings for the one man who broke her heart.

    Matt is a computer tech. He started his new business and, while waiting for someone, caught a glimpse of a woman from his past. He never thought that he would see her again. And he never thought that he would still be in love with her.

    The first part of the book was more about Kate trying to avoid Matt. She did not want anything to do with him. She just wanted to forget her time with him. She felt that she did not need another broken heart. Matt just wanted to know what actually happened between them. So he tried to hunt her down. Kate did her hardest to hide from him. But in the end he caught up with her. And told her he would not let her go until he found out what happened between them.

    Since Matt finally got Kate to sit down with him and talk; he suggested something to help her find her new Dominant. He offered to teach her everything she needed to know to serve, and at the end of their time together they would both go their separate ways. With that agreement they both tried to keep their feelings from each other. But as the days progressed, Matt tried to stay in Dominant mode and Kate tried to stay in submissive mode, their feelings for each other surfaced once again. They both tried to ignore it but in the end their feelings were stronger than their wills.

    This book gave different aspects all in one book. It gave the Dominant/submissive angle and it also gave a real relationship angle. I was completely entranced about how the characters dealt with their past and their present relationship. By reading this book, the past always comes back to the present. Even if a relationship ends, there is no telling if the people in that relationship will ever run into another again and still have those same feelings for each other.

    I have always loved reading books from this author. She has a way of making her female characters down to earth and with backbones. She also has a way of making her male characters extremely hot and makes you with you had him in your life instead of in a book. I actually think that this book became my favorite of all of her books. I cannot wait for another book by this author to come out. I am counting the months until then.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    KNRC

    Love it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    I have never read any of her books...but I really enjoyed this o

    I have never read any of her books...but I really enjoyed this one....can't wait to read the next one, his to possess, hoping its just as good if not better!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Great book

    This was a great book to read. I enjoyed it very much. It was very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    A reallyoodd read for those that read really quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2