Customer Reviews for

Hiss and Hers (Agatha Raisin Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fun romp

You need to enjoy Agatha Raisin, personality defects and all, to enjoy this book, but it's all sorts of fun. Agatha's friends Charles, James, Mrs Bloxby, Bill, Toni, Roy all show up to make it an ensemble piece. I needed a light murder mystery with plenty of laughs, and...
You need to enjoy Agatha Raisin, personality defects and all, to enjoy this book, but it's all sorts of fun. Agatha's friends Charles, James, Mrs Bloxby, Bill, Toni, Roy all show up to make it an ensemble piece. I needed a light murder mystery with plenty of laughs, and that's exactly what I got

posted by BandTeacher on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

Same plot, same characters, same everything. After awhile these cookie cutter authors just take our money and laugh all the way to the bank. I usually library loan these books, but was foolish enough to Nook this one. Shame on me!!!

posted by BarbRN on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Save your money

    Same plot, same characters, same everything. After awhile these cookie cutter authors just take our money and laugh all the way to the bank. I usually library loan these books, but was foolish enough to Nook this one. Shame on me!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    This is a sad entry in an increasingly down spiraling series. G

    This is a sad entry in an increasingly down spiraling series. Get it together M Beaton or hang this one up. Many wonder if another writer is involved with the later editions of this series. As true of many other series, it starts out well, but this one has de-gressed to haywire. Too many series going? Maybe authors start out midstream and then get a wild hair and test the market for how much it will bear. I have heard that Agatha is a takeoff on the author herself. Check out her photo. Ms. Beaton does have small bearlike eyes. Whatever it is, I'm definitely library copy on this series at this point. The next edition is slated for September 2013, and one can't help but be curious to see if the bad press on this latest and worst yet book will influence the author (whomever it may be) to correct the errors and offenses. It has happened.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    A fun romp

    You need to enjoy Agatha Raisin, personality defects and all, to enjoy this book, but it's all sorts of fun. Agatha's friends Charles, James, Mrs Bloxby, Bill, Toni, Roy all show up to make it an ensemble piece. I needed a light murder mystery with plenty of laughs, and that's exactly what I got

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Gotex

    Hi

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    FALLON TO BLOODMASTER

    Go to res three

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Another Agatha Raisin mystery

    As usual the author brings us another gripping but humorous Agatha Raisin mystery. Agatha is a vain, jealous, ambitious, but intuitive 50sh private detective in the tradition of the British cozy mystery. The police are constantly telling her to mind her own business and to leave them to theirs, but she always solves the murder before they do, many times to her own danger. This is another fine example of M. C. Beaton's talent as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    M.C Beaton is either obsessed with the name George or too lazy t

    M.C Beaton is either obsessed with the name George or too lazy to simply choose another.  Maybe it's Agatha who is attracted to the name George.  Whatever the reason, the repetition is becoming annoying.
    I have reached the point that I no longer pre-order an Agatha Raisin book;  I wait for the paperback or for a used copy.  The addition of the supremely annoying Toni hasn't made me eager for more at all.  Agatha's character is changing as well.  Now I'm waiting for Beaton to start killing off major characters, because that's what authors do when they get tired of a character.  Instead of simply STOPPING, they seem to feel compelled to destroy their creations.
    I haven't looked forward to the next Agatha Raisin book since the second one after she started the detective agency.  I kept hoping for a while to get the old Agatha back, but I fear she's lost and gone forever, submerged in what most middle-aged and beyond authors fancy to be the true character of a young person.  Really, really boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    This book sscapist reading. As  stand-alone story it would be ok

    This book sscapist reading. As  stand-alone story it would be okay. However, this is the latest in a series and continuity of the story is a problem  Suddenly Simon's parernts have been resurrected, Clearly the ghost writer has confused  Simon with Harry. The error is bad enough but culd be excused if Simon's parents were announced as dead several books back, but we're only talking one book ago. If the ghost writer doesn't care enough to read the series, why should we? At least  haven't been so many spelling errors in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    A fun romp.

    I'm always amazed at how rude British people are to each other. Maybe it has something to do with their class system? But this is a wonderful little romantic story with a dash of murder thrown in to make it spicy. A page-turner as are all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Poor old Agatha. When I left her at the end of the first novel,

    Poor old Agatha. When I left her at the end of the first novel, she was smooching over her neighbour. In this novel, she's got her eyes firmly fixed on at another ‘hunk’. Unfortunately for them both, he ends up in the compost heap having come off badly against a poisonous viper. How he came to be there, is the question Agatha must answer.
    Agatha comes across as much more likeable in this novel than in earlier novels of this series. Others must think so as well because her friends rally around and help her crack the case, unearthing a heap of vipers along the way.
    I enjoyed reading this, it was particularly nice to find out how Agatha and the other characters have grown over time.
    An absolute must for the many fans of the series, and a recommend for fans of the comic detective genre.
    Nina Jon is the author of the Jane Hetherington Adventures in Detection crime and mystery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Another Winner

    I enjoy reading the Agatha Raisin series and I haven't been disappointed by any of the books. This was a nice weekend read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Another winner with Agatha Raisin!

    Although short it has all the typical Agatha Raisin twists and turns and some familiar characters and some new. Alltogether a good read! Would be 5 stars but it is very short.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    Great reading

    As ever, Agatha Raisin is a hoot. She always seems to get herself in a bind, yet works her way out of. Not without a lot of emotion and frustration, but gets to the root of things, as usual.
    Good reading that always makes you wonder where the next turn of the page will take you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Really a fun read!

    Beaton has wrotten a fun, actioned-packed story that makes you want to read more of Agatha! Loved it!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    M.C. Beaton is always a good read

    Enjoyed the book a great deal. Always something different with Agatha Raisin. And the characters stay true to form! It is as we were meeting old friends.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    recomend

    As in the prevoius books by this author this particular book
    is easy to read and like mysteries in the past one goes along
    with the character's discovery.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    If like low key small town mysteries, this is for you.

    I do like M.C. Beaton. I have read very few of her Agatha series. They move very slowly. I like her Hamish series very much.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Always good

    Agatha is always funny. I like reading one of her books at times, but not too often.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    A fun read

    If you like this light hearted series you will like this lastest one just as much. Aggie still has her problems with self esteem and snap judgements but she comes through with the solution once again. A good English cozy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I loved it but then I love all the Agatha Raisin Series. Can't wait for the next one... M. C. Beaton is great in my book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2