Customer Reviews for

Hiss of Death (Mrs. Murphy Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The nineteenth Mrs. Murphy amateur sleuth is perhaps the most poignant tale of the long running series

In Crozet, Virginia, as she prepares to sell her first grapes, Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen struggles with stage one breast cancer, but refuses to let the deadly disease prevent her from living. Thus with her husband Fair's encouragement the fortyish Harry signs up to ...
In Crozet, Virginia, as she prepares to sell her first grapes, Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen struggles with stage one breast cancer, but refuses to let the deadly disease prevent her from living. Thus with her husband Fair's encouragement the fortyish Harry signs up to participate in a 5K Run for Breast Cancer Awareness.

However, before the race, Harry and her pets (felines Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and incorrigible corgi Tee Tucker) find the corpse of popular Central Virginia Medical Complex operating room nurse Paula Benton. Harry met the OR nurse during one of her recent hospital stays and respected the woman who was a key organizer of the race. Paula apparently died of anaphylactic shock caused by a hornet's sting. However, Harry wonders if the woman was murdered as Paula had issues with former addict now drug counselor Thadia Martin. Both were attracted to Dr. Cory Schaeffer, who is almost electrocuted in an electric car, which further affirms the belief by Harry and her sleuthing team that someone murdered Paula and tried to kill the physician.

The nineteenth Mrs. Murphy amateur sleuth (see Cat of the Century and Santa Clawed) is perhaps the most poignant tale of the long running series as the Brown tandem deftly focuses on breast cancer awareness inside of a well written whodunit. The cancer subplot supersedes the murder mystery summed up nicely in the Afterward by Ms. Brown's late mom: "You're going to be dead a long time. Do it now." Readers will enjoy the latest anthropomorphist mystery as the "real important characters" and the human support encourage Harry; who accompanied by her three pets investigate the death with the last word finally belonging to "maligned" Pewter.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

sad...

I have always loved this series. I even named my own cat Mrs. Murphy in honor of it. I loved how Ms. Brown developed her characters into real people with real life issues who also have a lot of murders happen around them! The first few books dealt with Harry and Fair's...
I have always loved this series. I even named my own cat Mrs. Murphy in honor of it. I loved how Ms. Brown developed her characters into real people with real life issues who also have a lot of murders happen around them! The first few books dealt with Harry and Fair's divorce and the aftermath of that and it was heartbreaking and hilarious at the same time. The animals were spot on in their commentary and they took an active role in the mystery investigations. These last 2 books have been so disappointing that it breaks my book loving heart. The animals are minor characters now, and I feel like she just keeps recycling the animal conversations from book to book. Actually I can look in past books and prove she is doing this. Harry has become predictable and boring and I am so tired of the big picture political/social statements that go on for pages. Dear Ms. Brown and Random house, if you are reading this hear the pleas of your readers and breathe new life into the series! There are so many more adventures and murders to be had with Mrs. Murphy!

posted by llh0803 on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    sad...

    I have always loved this series. I even named my own cat Mrs. Murphy in honor of it. I loved how Ms. Brown developed her characters into real people with real life issues who also have a lot of murders happen around them! The first few books dealt with Harry and Fair's divorce and the aftermath of that and it was heartbreaking and hilarious at the same time. The animals were spot on in their commentary and they took an active role in the mystery investigations. These last 2 books have been so disappointing that it breaks my book loving heart. The animals are minor characters now, and I feel like she just keeps recycling the animal conversations from book to book. Actually I can look in past books and prove she is doing this. Harry has become predictable and boring and I am so tired of the big picture political/social statements that go on for pages. Dear Ms. Brown and Random house, if you are reading this hear the pleas of your readers and breathe new life into the series! There are so many more adventures and murders to be had with Mrs. Murphy!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    quality slipping

    The latest Sneaky Pie mystery falls short of its predecessors. The plot is predictable, often wandering into political and social rants of the author's own agenda. Don't bother buying, it won't hold your attention.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Sadly, this series has jumped the shark

    I've always looked forward to a new Mrs Murphy book. I've followed the characters since the beginning and feel like they're old friends. But Brown seems to have devolved into delivering long political and medical diatribes and doesn't even bother to research her medical facts (with just a very few exceptions, organs for transplant are NOT harvested at autopsy!). This will be the last one I read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Rambling

    I have read all in the series and am disappointed it seems as if the books have become a outlet for her ramblings about politics the actual story line is short but lots of fillers with her opinions

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Disappointed

    I've loved this series for years but don't understand when we switched from mysteries to public opining on the government and a variety of other topics. Does Ms Brown not have an editor who can suggest that her books have become something other than a good mystery. Come on, Rita, back to mysteries, please.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    I've enjoyed this series before, but this one was a major disapp

    I've enjoyed this series before, but this one was a major disappoint. The book is just a plug for breast cancer research thinly disguised as a mystery. There was no humor, most of the interesting characters were missing, even the animals were flat. The soapbox was higher than ever, and I really get sick of Ms. Brown's assumption that no one who isn't from Virginia could possibly understand their idioms. I never thought I'd say this about a Mrs. Murphy book, but I want my money back, as well as the time I spent fervently hoping that the book would get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Give this one a miss.

    Just one big lecture, no story, no plot. I was a big fan until now. Just feel cheated that I spent good money for a good story and got nothing more than the author's rant about the environment, healthcare etc. I should have given this a miss. I may even stop reading the author all together.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    This is, by far, Brown's WORST book! it does not even worthy of

    This is, by far, Brown's WORST book! it does not even worthy of a 1 star rating....instead of gradually introducing you to her characters, she does it all at once in the very beginning, each person's financial worth, etc. etc. blah, blah, blah....most of the book is a poorly written description and commentary on breast cancer .....occasionally a bit of mystery is thrown in to justify adding it into the this mystery series line....the book was incredibly boring....i skipped to the end to learn who the killer was, because after the first 150 pages i just couldn't take it anymore...i feel Ms. Brown owes me my money back for such a crappy book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    I had enjoyed Ms. Brown's earlier mysteries, but not this one.

    I had enjoyed Ms. Brown's earlier mysteries, but not this one. The mystery is minimal, the political rants are at the heart of her writing. It was a waste of time and money; I was disappointed and annoyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Don't buy this. It's a waste of money. Shame on the publishers

    Don't buy this. It's a waste of money. Shame on the publishers for allowing this to go to market. I want to be entertained and kept on the edge of my seat. I don't need a whole book lecture on breast cancer awareness and treatment. I'm sorry I bought this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Used To Love These Books

    I looked forward to these books and have read all of them written in this genre. Love a light hearted mystery and all the people. Don't know who is writing them now, but it is a rave of opinion and politics. I won't bother to buy any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Haven't received

    Hard to read it when I haven't gotten it yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Don't Bother.

    This series has definitely jumped the shark. I didn't make it past the second chapter. Over the course of the last few books. Ms. Brown's right wing views have begun to permeate her novels to the point where they have become unreadable. I was a rabid fan but now find it impossible to skim past her relentless diatribes. It was a nice little series while it lasted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Disappointed!

    I have always enjoyed the Mrs. Murphy series until recently. I have to agree with other reviewers, the books are becoming more about long opiniated discourses than about mystery. The "sermonizing" is becoming a real bore. I still love the animals, but the "rambles" are getting tiresome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Don't bother

    I have always loved this series but couldn't finish this one due to the fact that it is not a mystery but a venue for her personal and political views on everything from the government to what kind of tires to buy. I read for pleasure to get away from these tirades so I won't be buying the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    A disappointment

    It is hard to believe that the same author is writing this book. The last few books by Brown have been so full of postulating views it was difficult to stay with the plot. I felt I was getting a course on Cancer 101, and auto mechanics in this one (along with a sermon on government absurdities.) The earlier books left some mystery regarding who the culprit is. The mystery is solved half way through this one. I was so disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1