Customer Reviews for

Hissy Fit

Average Rating 4
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Mary Kay Andrews Book so far!

Hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud! Not to mention, the characters were so vivid and endearing. The plot was by far, her best and most in depth thus far. I loved this bok and would reccommend it t anyone who loves a little Southern sass. Truly one of my favorit...
Hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud! Not to mention, the characters were so vivid and endearing. The plot was by far, her best and most in depth thus far. I loved this bok and would reccommend it t anyone who loves a little Southern sass. Truly one of my favorites.

posted by 8423292 on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good read but ho-hum.

I enjoyed the book, but i didnt care for all the decorating details. I skipped over most of it. It would have been a quick read but for me I didnt care about decorating, just the plot and characters. Sometimes after reading a book I walk away with a little extra kno...
I enjoyed the book, but i didnt care for all the decorating details. I skipped over most of it. It would have been a quick read but for me I didnt care about decorating, just the plot and characters. Sometimes after reading a book I walk away with a little extra knowledge from certain details in a book, I cant say that about this book, I skipped over so much because the details about furniture and such made parts seem to drag on forever. Thats why I gave it 3 stars.

posted by 4694034 on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Amazing

    I was recamended this book when i was in kind of a reading funk. This book is laugh out loud funny. Very easy read and perfect for a raining day or when you just need something to make u laugh.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Best Mary Kay Andrews Book so far!

    Hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud! Not to mention, the characters were so vivid and endearing. The plot was by far, her best and most in depth thus far. I loved this bok and would reccommend it t anyone who loves a little Southern sass. Truly one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Very cute read

    Great lite summer book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Amazing.

    Great fun. A must read summer novel..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    O M G .... Good read

    I loved this book. One to read without putting it down. No sex, not gorey. Fabulous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    A relaxing cozy

    A southern mansion to restore and decorate, a trashed wedding, an old mystery 25 years in the making and a father who has a more active social life that his daughter. Fun book.
    I would read more of this author. A good book for a snowed in kind of day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Loved it!

    I am so happy that I purchased this book! I am a big fan of the chick lit genre in general, but Mary Kay Andrews attention to detail and full character development make this a must read. I thoroughly enjoyed it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Easy read and entertaining

    This is the second book I have read by this author and I will continue to read more books by her. It was easy reading and also entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Fabulous Fun

    This was the first of Mary Kay Andrews' novels that I read. It was not the last. I have now read all of her novels and anxiously await the next. They are just plain fun to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Good read but ho-hum.

    I enjoyed the book, but i didnt care for all the decorating details. I skipped over most of it. It would have been a quick read but for me I didnt care about decorating, just the plot and characters. Sometimes after reading a book I walk away with a little extra knowledge from certain details in a book, I cant say that about this book, I skipped over so much because the details about furniture and such made parts seem to drag on forever. Thats why I gave it 3 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Great Read!

    I have read all 3 of this author's books and loved them all. They are all modern funny southern tales that will keep you entertained. Being a southern girl myself I could really relate. Wish she would write more! Oh and the price is great, much less than I paid for the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    well

    ok so i got tjis book because it sounded good from the back but there was more about antique furnishings then nething else which should be put on the back to warn you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    Eh!

    This is my first Mary Kay Andrews book and I was disappointed. I found it very hard to like the male lead. The "girlfriend" character was way over-the-top and unbelievable. She also stayed around way too long for me. I ended up not wanting the lead male and female characters to end up together, even though you knew it was going to happen. The ending was disappointing and anti-climatic also. I got to the last page and moaned in disgust. It felt like she decided the book should end in 20 pages or less so she wrapped everything up without it fitting together or making sense. All that being said, the lead character was a great character and the book was very well written. The interwoven plot lines were beautifully coordinated and all the minor characters were a great addition to the book. I will read other M.K. Andrews but this one is on the "Do not read again" list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Cute

    This book was very cute,perfect for the beach! The story line is very entertaining. Some parts were hard to read as they dragged on. but i would recommend as a summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    hilarious...fun...little romance

    I think this book is a great book to read, it's fast reading, and disapointing when it comes to an end. Great humor with a little romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    dark comedy

    In Madison, Georgia, interior decorator Keeley Rae Murdock lives her life in accordance with her profession down to the tiniest iota. The twenty-eight year old feels everything is perfect until she finds her fiancé Andrew Jackson ¿A.J.¿ Jernigan and her maid of honor Paige Plummer having a go hiccups and all during the wedding rehearsal dinner. Keeley has a HISSY FIT that every local resident heard about, but especially comes to the attention of wealthy newcomer Will Mahoney.--- Will decides that Keeley is perfect for restoring the dilapidated mansion he purchased that he plans to use to court the woman he desires that he has never met in person only on TV. Keeley prefers to reject Will as a client as it seems impossible to decorate a home with no idea of the benefactor of her work, but her ex and his banking family are trying to destroy her business so she accepts the assignment.--- This dark comedy will keep readers¿ attention as southern small town secrets begin to surface including one involving Keeley¿s vanished mom. The story line offers an intriguing look at home furnishing mostly through the discerning eye of the heroine. Though much of the support cast is one dimensional especially A.J. while Will¿s woman is kept somewhat shadowy on purpose, fans will appreciate Keeley¿s HISSY FIT that hooks the audience expecting more outbursts from this steel magnolia.--- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Quick enjoyable summer read

    If I could do 3 1/2 stars, I would. This book is predictable, but enjoyable. I would have preferred more development of the main characters romance - you'll know when you read it, but I laughed out loud on occasion and it left a good feeling when I finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Typically Southern

    I thoroughly enjoyed every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Hilarious!

    From page one to the end, this book entertains. I have recommended this novel to my daughter, my friends, and everyone else. This is a must read. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Loved, It is the 2nd book I've read by her. Sooo Funny and very

    Loved, It is the 2nd book I've read by her. Sooo Funny and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14