Customer Reviews for

History Is Wrong

Average Rating 3
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Rambling and Self-indulgent

    What a mess. A rambling diatribe that where the author whines about how badly he's been mistreated. Any interesting information in this book could be covered in 10 pages. Instead, you get a rambling whine session.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Yes! We are the future generations!

    What a wonderful follow up to Chariots of the Gods! Eric gives more revealing discussion on what has been found since his last book and also offers more intriguing hypotheses! Eric is searching for the answers in the ancient texts and discusses what is revealed about man's true history. Answers many questions for the person seeking truth and gives the reader much to think about. I'm looking forward to his next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    His Books Are Better

    I've been a fan of Von Daniken for quite some time and I've enjoyed his intriquing ideas about astronaut theory... Like Chariots of the Gods and The Gods Were Astronauts... those are pretty cool. However, I didn't really get into History Is Wrong. It starts out interesting about the ellusive Metal Library that is said to exist in a cave. This part is pretty convincing, but soon after there are pages and pages of "Debunking the Debunkers" where Von Daniken redundantly explains how his critics have always been after him and how unfair it's all been. Frankly, his tattletailing on his foes, is not what I bought the book for. It kind of redeems itself at the end by talking about the mysterious Nazca Lines of Peru... but then again if you've read his other books, it's been said and done. I'd like to learn more of this metal library filled with writing and unexplicable artifacts, but his obvious anger towards the media got out of hand in the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    I'd like my money back !

    about a year ago I decided to get 'Chariots of the Gods' and I really like it, specially since it was written so long ago, being a Sitchin fan for a while I kind of needed a different take on things, so when I saw at the stores the new Erich book, I went straight home to devour it... I was so dissapointed, He spends most of this book defending himself about...whatever...I'd like my money back !
    a much better book is 'Slave species of god'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Open minded and thought provoking.

    I loved the topics in this book. They really made me think about things and what I was taught in school. Although the topics and information were profound, the organization of the thoughts in the book were a bit jumpy. It was like the writer had A.D. D. He couldn't start and finisha topic and jumped around a lot. Still an incredible read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Alien Gods

    Erich von Danniken has written many books on this subject and, he is beginning to repeat himself. Not much new here for those of us who have read his previous works. Von Danniken does stay true to his beliefs, though I question his methodology on collecting data and evidence. I do recommend this book and others like it to kick start thoughtful discussions. My family is still debating some of the "facts" Von Danniken presents so it does have educational value.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Awesome

    You can't go wrong buying a von daniken book -- This man is the father of the ancient astronaut theory
    What he saids is gospel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    For those who question our historical information to date, you need to read Erich von Daniken!

    History Is Wrong was the third book of von Daniken I have read (Chariots of the Gods & Twilight of the Gods). The material was very well researched as anyone familiar with Mr. von Daniken's works can testify - the man does his homework. I am truly inspied by the author's abilities to debunk the once reverently held historical "facts" by his references to the carefully presented new information. These giant bits of information most adequately presented by Erick von Daniken has invoked ideas in me that now shatter my many mysterious, once held beliefs. My knowledge of Archaeology, Astronautics, Geological discoveries, Historical evidence, and the early use of scientific materials has hyper jumped my mind since reading this author's works, especially History Is Wrong. This book resolved many questions, the most prevelant of which was: How could anyone dispute the overwhelming evidence brought before us by this man's careful and methodical remapping of history's truths. Taking into careful consideration all that von Daniken's book has enlightened me about, I set out on a journalistic quest to read what other authors have had to say about our once factual history involving mankind and the developement of our lost civilizations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1