BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

History of the World in 6 Glasses

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Amazing how drinks affect the world

I originally got this for extra credit for school and thought it would be a boring read, but as I started reading it, I found that I could not put it down. It is amazing how 6 different drinks have affect the world.

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun but not deep

This book could have been great with a bit more detail. It was best when the author was setting up the origin of a drink.

posted by leveluptime on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    APWH Review; A fun way to learn the history of our world Standag

    APWH Review; A fun way to learn the history of our world
    Standage's novel is a wonderful way to learn about how something as simple as a beverage can alter the location, people, and economy around it. The introduction of these drinks helped them to not be so dependent on living right next to a water source. The book mostly covers the start, impressions, and spread of the beverages. He also explains the drinks in relation to religions.  At first, I thought the book was going to be written like a typical boring history book. Instead, the book was full of graphics related to the text, and provided a deeper insight into information. It was interesting to learn that some drinks we associate with certain areas got their starts in the other side of the world.
    I enjoyed how each section was written in a way that you could easily connect them back to the other sections. He made sure to include important events that we may associate with a certain time period, but all the while making sure to tie it back to the drink. He efficiently conveyed the information he wanted to, but kept it very understandable. Standage is a great writer, and I recommend this book to any history lover desiring to learn more in this area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Zc

    Fj vm ri s ": g.

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    AP World History Review For someone who has a desire to lea

    AP World History Review
    For someone who has a desire to learn about the past cultures and histories of our world, Standage's novel, History of the World in 6 Glasses, provides an adequate resource. It follows six beverages in different areas of the world and their affect on culture, society, economics, and the geography of the land. It demonstrates how essential common drinks such as beer and coffee can be to communities. The author completes his purpose well in creating a well-constructed book of the cultures of the world. His books helps us to realize how important beverages are to the development of our world.
    Generally preferring to read fiction myself, it took me a while to get into this book and adjust to the flow and structure of Standage's writing. However, once I did so, History of the World in 6 Glasses proved to be an extremely educational book. He makes it fun and entertaining to explore the past empires as they changed over time. Without a doubt, I would recommend it to any, young or old, desiring to educate themselves thoroughly of the past. Not only does this book discuss separate ancient civilizations in depth, but also talks of the way these civilizations intertwined and connected to form the more modern civilizations and peoples of today. It doesn't take a college historian to understand this book, which is good, because I doubt we all are experts here. More simplistic than some, this book still provides an excellent source of knowledge, and is a definite read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    A History of the world in 6 glasses

    test

    0 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    Lively and entertaining, this is a serious look at history that

    Lively and entertaining, this is a serious look at history that doesn't
    take itself too seriously - Standage blends in just enough humor to keep
    the history from getting too...well, dry but makes his case with solid
    research and historical fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Amazing

    No mattr if you are a adult or teen you can reead this anywhere you want. I am a incoming sophmore and this book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Interesting read

    This is a fairly interesting read although the author seems to be a bit bof a drunk and a caffine addict sinc his fasination with beer and coffee is very apparent

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Repetative

    With such an interesting and inexhaustable topic I would have thought there would be little room for the author to repeat himself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    AP world

    I chose to read this book as a summer reading project for my world history class. After reading this, I know I picked the right book! If you are looking for an entertaining way to review the history of the world, this is surely the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Interesting lens to look at history through

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sip your way though history

    Tom Standeage tells the history of the most popular beverages over the history of our society. Entertaining, Enlightening. A valuable look at out history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    AP World History Review (A History of the World in 6 Glasses)

    This is a good example of why history is fun. Tom Standage has investigated the origins of six beverages: beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and Coke and has found many connections and insights into not only the histories of the drinks themselves but also their impacts on the larger human story. The links Standage finds, for example between coffee and the Enlightenment or tea and the Opium Wars or wine and beer and their effect on class and cultural tensions in Greece and Rome, just a few of the many insights you'll find in the book are fascinating. This is a great book, and I recommend this book, but mostly to those history lovers. The only problem that I had with this book is that he lists fact after fact. I think that he should separate the book into 6 different books: beer, wine, spirits, tea, coffee, and Coke. I think that he should actually have a character go in that time and find out more about that drink and history, but on the other side, I think this book is great. This isn't a hate, it's just a suggestion, but I really liked this book. So read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Ap World History Review: Interesting Book

    This was a very interesting book. Tom Standage uses beer, wine, coffee, tea, spirits, and coca-cola. This is different than any other person has before, most people associate and describe the world through war, explortion, and even political power. This is a very interesting and great read, you will enjoy this book if think deep down and inside the ways of all the colonies mentioned and how they are linked to the glass of their time perod.

    As we learn early on in the book, most of these beverages were important to the society. The Egyptians used their glass as a form of currency, paying their taxes to the pharoh with it. This was also some of the only drinks (other than water) that these colonies had back then. Coca-cola was not yet invented yet in the time of Wine in Greece. So many Greeks only choice was wine. Coca-cola in the New Wrold was probably the most interesting to me. Standage compares coca-cola to globalization of the world. He not only compares it to globalization, but he links it to the global economy and how massive of an effect it has had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    History of the World in 6 Glasses

    Beverages come into play in all social gatherings, we see this today between friends at a bar watching a game or a group of coworkers at Starbucks discussing their day at work, between businessmen at a conference table breaking a deal or even a shared moment at McDonalds when a father and his son share a Coca-Cola. It is no doubt then that sharing a drink with someone is a universal symbol of hospitality and friendship. These beverages, six in particular, have dominated society: beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola. How? Tom Standage's, A History of the World in 6 Glasses, illuminates us on how the history of these beverages have affected our social behavior and therefore led us to the societies we embrace today.When I first starting reading the introduction to this book, I started to wonder immediately, how could a beverage impact a society so much? Well, I was left dumbfounded when I shortly learned that the storage of grains and barley became an essential component for the production of beer and would be one of the reasons why ancient civilizations started to leave the nomadic lifestyle behind in favor of a more settled one. Another fact that fascinated me about the origins of beer was its contribution to writing. Yes, writing was in fact originally invented to record the collection and distribution of goods such as grain, bread, and beer, and the earliest written documents came from Sumerian listings of these products. Beer was a convenient form of currency and being in liquid form and easily divisible, it made an ideal form of currency.The social class division in wealth gave way for the enthusiasm of civilized competition, it reminded groups like the Greeks, how civilized they were in contrast to those who drank "unsophisticated beer." Its rarity probably contributed to its large demand, which gave way for improvement and therefore specialty of wine. For example, Greek vintners adopted the practice of growing vines on stakes in neat rows rather than on trees which allowed more vines to be packed into one selected area, ultimately increasing productions and providing easier access for harvest. Even, Greek writer Thucydides quoted that "the peoples of the Mediterranean began to emerge from the barbarism when they learnt to cultivate the olive and the vine" (52). And in fact, wine had become one of Greece's main exports.Another more chemical beverage known as "spirits" had been discovered through the process which involved vaporizing and the re-condensation of a liquid, created a far higher alcohol content. However, unlike beer and wine, the production of spirits was only known by few and it was only when knowledge of it spread through Christian Europe that it became widely consumed. Its increasing consumption perhaps derived from not only its power to intoxicate quickly and easily, but also its availability in cooler climates where wine was scarce and expensive.After reading this book, I definitely was able to get a better insight on how society can be impacted by the drinks they consume, from the Mesopotamians to the Greeks to the British and up to the Americans, our ancestors all gathered around to have a beverage. Whether it was for survival, war, aristocracy, or pure enjoyment, it has brought people together since the dawn of civilization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    AP WORLD HISTORY REVIEW: A DESCRIPTION OF MY OPINION OF THE BOOK

    The book portrays history using humorous representations and interconnects the impact of beverages to specific time periods. I was intrigued by the concepts Standage proposes. One of his analogies credits the making of beer in early centuries to have persuaded nomadic peoples, like tribes of the Fertile Crescent, to settle into mainly agricultural villages over time. Additionally, he credits, in part, the harmony and unification of America during World War II to the making of Coca-Cola. According to Standage, everyone agrees people are happiest when granted the freedom of choice in political, economic and personal fields. Perhaps he feels so strongly because the President of the Coca-Cola Company, Robert Woodruff, ordered during World War II that every American man in uniform would get a bottle of Coca-Cola for five cents, no matter where he was, or how much it cost his company.

    He grasped the concept that drinks were not drinks. They linked people socially and politically. Symbolically for years, people shared drinks literally in order to demonstrate a level of trust with one another. They shared in order to show that there was no malice and that the drink was safe for both. The clinking of glasses is another illustration of this concept. It symbolized the returning of the separated bottle to its whole, the return to its original joined state. On the contrary, drinks could be used to yield control over others. Take for example, the efforts of the British in their taxing of tea prior to the Boston Tea Party. The Sons of Liberty clearly felt that tea was more than a drink. It became a rallying cry for the development of an entirely new country. It's these kinds of concrete analogies that influence me to recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses - Tom Standage

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses by Tom Standage was a novel that gave the reader an insight into different periods of world history and the dominating beverages of the eras. Standage did a great job of organizing the book into comprehendable chapters with subsections allowing the reader to take breaks as necessary. The book also allowed the reader to receive information without a history overload. Although some of the information presented was common knowledge; it was overall very well written and comprehendible.

    One of the unique factors of the novel was how it allowed the reader to stop and think. Personally, I stopped and considered how our generation has been deteriorating and how standards have been lowering. Standage did a great job of portraying the world as it really is by using an analogy of beverages. Each beverage essentially represents a time period and a crucial part of where we are today. Any history student looking to gain a deeper insight into the world and beverages of the world leading us to where we are today would enjoy the well written novel by Tom Standage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    AP World History Review: a description of your opinion of the book

    When I first saw this book, it seemed interesting to read. My main objective at the time was to just complete a book, and finish my assignment as painlessly as possible. I started reading the book and realized how in depth it was. It explain how something effected something else clearly, and was a very easy read. I liked how it was in chronological order, so you wouldnt get confused. His research seemed very reliable considering he has written other books.
    I would recommend this book to anyone because the book is written in a way that people, who know less on the subject, can understand as much as people who know more on the subject. Since his book is written in chronological order, you can identify changes through time easily and can make connections within each time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    Great Book - Questionable Seller Service

    B&N sent me an offer for free shipping for an online order and I was not given this when I ordered this book. Now, Customer Service is ignoring my emails and it looks like I will have to contest the charge on my B&N credit card!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Synopsis of How The World We Live In Came To Be

    This book was great. It captivates your attention and dutifully guides you through all the different periods of time and corresponding 6 classes of drinks. I never knew how much certain drinks impacted the way the world developed until I read this book. It provides great and interesting, yet still useful, knowledge of the world from olden days to modern times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6