Customer Reviews for

Hit Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Keller had to disappear after the mess in a previous novel in th

Keller had to disappear after the mess in a previous novel in this series, “Hit and Run,” and he is now living in post-Katrina New Orleans under a new name, with a wife and young daughter. More important, he has “retired” from his previous occupation, that of a hired a...
Keller had to disappear after the mess in a previous novel in this series, “Hit and Run,” and he is now living in post-Katrina New Orleans under a new name, with a wife and young daughter. More important, he has “retired” from his previous occupation, that of a hired assassin, and is now a partner in a business that acquires dilapidated houses, then rehabilitating and flipping them—at least until the housing market and economy collapsed.

So, to keep his head above water, sustain his appetite to keep on buying stamps for his collection and just keep himself busy, he allows himself to be talked into accepting an assignment or three. These take him to Dallas, on a Caribbean cruise, thence to Wyoming and Buffalo. And coinciding with each, he manages to indulge his interest in stamps.

The author manages to keep the reader’s interest at a peak on both subjects, with fascinating twists on each homicide mission. And the cryptic conversations with Dot, who brings him each undertaking, are not only amusing and droll, but in keeping with the over-all tenor of the characters. Of course, the novel is on a par with the high quality of previous Keller books in the series, and is recommended.

posted by tedfeit0 on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Slightly Disappointing

I've been a fan of the Keller series since Hit Man, and have devoured every Keller book or story I could lay hands on. When I finished Hit and Run, I felt sad at the thought of the series coming to an end, yet satisfied that the series had been wrapped up so neatly.

T...
I've been a fan of the Keller series since Hit Man, and have devoured every Keller book or story I could lay hands on. When I finished Hit and Run, I felt sad at the thought of the series coming to an end, yet satisfied that the series had been wrapped up so neatly.

Then along came Hit Me.

I was elated. I even did a pre-order, which is a rare thing for me. When the day of delivery came, I cracked open the book with a hunger to learn about how life had progressed for my favorite professional assassin.

I made it about halfway through, and things were looking good. Then I hit a wall, and I did something I have never done with a Keller novel. I put it down and walked away. I forced myself to pick it up and finish it today, just to be certain I gave it a fair read before reviewing it.

Here's where I think the author fell flat.

When you pick up a book about a hit man, you expect to read about assassinations. Not necessarily bloodshed and slaughter. Mr. Block has always been the master of understated action, whether during a hit or in the bedroom. I've always admired him for that, and at the same time, I've often wondered what, if anything, would prompt Mr. Block to reach for greater detail?

In the second half of this book I found my answer.

Stamps.

A man who will gloss over an assassination that had been built up for forty previous pages and clear his throat past a love scene will drone on ad nauseum for page after page about small squares of paper that are no longer even suited for their intended purpose. I felt like a boy asking his grandpa about World War II and having to sit through slides of his 1963 vacation to Stumblef*** Missouri to see the world's largest ball of ear wax instead.

Don't get me wrong, I understand that Mr. Block's intent was to show Keller/Edward's evolution from hit man to family man. I get that he would have to have a viable means of making money, and that a return to construction as a lucrative trade in today's economy would smack of a Deus Ex Machina. But don't beat us over the head with it.

If the ending of this book is anything to go by, there will be a sixth book. Knowing myself as I do, I'll end up buying it. I just hope that what I find will be more of the old Keller and less of the Chattering Philatelist.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Slightly Disappointing

    I've been a fan of the Keller series since Hit Man, and have devoured every Keller book or story I could lay hands on. When I finished Hit and Run, I felt sad at the thought of the series coming to an end, yet satisfied that the series had been wrapped up so neatly.

    Then along came Hit Me.

    I was elated. I even did a pre-order, which is a rare thing for me. When the day of delivery came, I cracked open the book with a hunger to learn about how life had progressed for my favorite professional assassin.

    I made it about halfway through, and things were looking good. Then I hit a wall, and I did something I have never done with a Keller novel. I put it down and walked away. I forced myself to pick it up and finish it today, just to be certain I gave it a fair read before reviewing it.

    Here's where I think the author fell flat.

    When you pick up a book about a hit man, you expect to read about assassinations. Not necessarily bloodshed and slaughter. Mr. Block has always been the master of understated action, whether during a hit or in the bedroom. I've always admired him for that, and at the same time, I've often wondered what, if anything, would prompt Mr. Block to reach for greater detail?

    In the second half of this book I found my answer.

    Stamps.

    A man who will gloss over an assassination that had been built up for forty previous pages and clear his throat past a love scene will drone on ad nauseum for page after page about small squares of paper that are no longer even suited for their intended purpose. I felt like a boy asking his grandpa about World War II and having to sit through slides of his 1963 vacation to Stumblef*** Missouri to see the world's largest ball of ear wax instead.

    Don't get me wrong, I understand that Mr. Block's intent was to show Keller/Edward's evolution from hit man to family man. I get that he would have to have a viable means of making money, and that a return to construction as a lucrative trade in today's economy would smack of a Deus Ex Machina. But don't beat us over the head with it.

    If the ending of this book is anything to go by, there will be a sixth book. Knowing myself as I do, I'll end up buying it. I just hope that what I find will be more of the old Keller and less of the Chattering Philatelist.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Keller had to disappear after the mess in a previous novel in th

    Keller had to disappear after the mess in a previous novel in this series, “Hit and Run,” and he is now living in post-Katrina New Orleans under a new name, with a wife and young daughter. More important, he has “retired” from his previous occupation, that of a hired assassin, and is now a partner in a business that acquires dilapidated houses, then rehabilitating and flipping them—at least until the housing market and economy collapsed.

    So, to keep his head above water, sustain his appetite to keep on buying stamps for his collection and just keep himself busy, he allows himself to be talked into accepting an assignment or three. These take him to Dallas, on a Caribbean cruise, thence to Wyoming and Buffalo. And coinciding with each, he manages to indulge his interest in stamps.

    The author manages to keep the reader’s interest at a peak on both subjects, with fascinating twists on each homicide mission. And the cryptic conversations with Dot, who brings him each undertaking, are not only amusing and droll, but in keeping with the over-all tenor of the characters. Of course, the novel is on a par with the high quality of previous Keller books in the series, and is recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Another great Keller book!

    It bothers me how much I like Keller. Lawrence Block couldn't be boring if he tried. Excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Recommended, Another "Hit" in the Keller series

    Block follows-up with another good, easy read in the Keller series. This book takes Keller into his new life with a family. Still doing the same work as before, we follow Keller through a series of jobs across the country as he hunts down people and stamps. Thoroughly enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    anxiously awaited the arrival of HIT ME, but so disappointed....

    anxiously awaited the arrival of HIT ME, but so disappointed....this is not a novel, but a collection of short stories....so each one spends much time filling in backgroundof keller & his life...then finally a half=hearted assasination attempt ..plus a wife who gets "hot" thinking about her husband's part=time job........miss the keller of old

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If I am doing what I want, is what I am doing wrong? Keller wal

    If I am doing what I want, is what I am doing wrong?

    Keller walked away from doing the wet work that kept him healthy, wealthy, and a little wiser for the wear.
    He changed his name and settled into domestic bliss that seemed a good fit with a business on the side.  
    Even fatherhood and stamp collecting become his new normal, until the phone rings and an offer he does not
    want to refuse is proposed.  He can always say no, he can always hang up the phone, he can always,
    but he always does the job.  
    Being back in the game means honing covert skills that Keller did not lose but let go a little soft shall we say.  
    He still loves the hunt, has the skills to organize the job down to the finite detail, and never looks back
    after it is completed.  His wife may be reluctant to understand why he is back at the dance but for some
     reason she cannot explain, it does not bother her that the construction business is not how he earns his money.
    Keller moves flawlessly from one offer to the next with a blip or two on the radar and some poorly executed decisions.  
    Overall, the jobs are done and the reaction someone else might have to this line of
    duty is not held close to Keller’s state of mind.

    Lawrence Block constructs the perfect story for every character add a touch of flare to their personality a
    master like Mr. Block can design.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed it and often couldn't put it down. This is

    I thoroughly enjoyed it and often couldn't put it down. This is my first L. Block book and was intrigued by the Keller character. I was pleased he did his grisly work without a gun and the reader is spared unnecessary gore. As a stamp collector, I especially enjoyed the philatelic references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I enjoyed the previous Keller novels, but this one had too much

    I enjoyed the previous Keller novels, but this one had too much information about stamps and Keller's family life. There was not enough of Keller in action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly recommend

    If you are a Keller fan, this book is a must. Keller's life has changed a lot but the recession has caused a downturn in the restoration business so when Dot calls . . . you can guess the rest. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Block is a Master

    How can someone write a story where the main character is a murderer and make you like the story, root for the murderer and actually wonder how the story will end. It was Great - Read It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Its Lawrence Block

    I'd pay to read Block's shopping list. He's an American treasure, and his latest doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Aweful

    He should quit writing! I cannot tell you how disappointed I was when I started reading this book! Don't waste your money!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Not very good.

    Lawrence Block was recommended to be as an awesome writer, but I found this book disappointing. I had never read anything by this author. Possibly some of his other books are better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Pat Sisbarro

    This was bad. It was not Block's original work. He delt with stamps collection thought the book. I would recomend the book only for stamp collectors.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    DO NOT TRUST SAME DAY DELIVERY IN MANHATTAN

    DO NOT TRUST SAME DAY DELIVERY IN MANHATTAN

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1