BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hit Reply

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Very cute :)

    Good read, easy to follow, likeable characters, relateable situations. Happy endings all around. Enjoyed the book and the format (written as all emails and instant messages)....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Must Read

    I have not finished the book as of yet, about 15 pages to go, but its great. One of those that you just do not want to put down and when you do, you are wondering what is going to happen next. Great author, great storyline, great book over all. I highly recommend you read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    A Big Hit!

    A unique format that Rocki pulls off very well. The women in the story transcend chick-lit as they interact with each other and their pasts to find their futures. Loved it. I hope to see more like this. Kathi H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    some good chick lit

    I was not sure about the format, but this book is really great at showing the inner workings on relationships, technology infused. Normally it is hard to gage emotion in on-line communication, but this book took you inside everyones' heads. I really enjoyed it, so much so I suffered through a headeache because I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this book, especially if you're not into chick lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Hit 'Buy'

    This book was amazingly well written. I'm a college student, and I took it to my Religion class to help pass the time--it definitely worked. I truly loved this book--it's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Great reading...

    Rocki St Claire does an excellent job incorporating the entire story via emails & im's. The book was better than I thought it would be... there were no questions unanswered and it was very easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    revisiting the past

    This book is NOT your average chick-lit. It's all about revisiting your past... relationships, lost loves, coulda/woulda/shoulda beens, then making the decision to either go back in time and try to recapture what 'might have been' or to move forward and NOT look back again. No one I know HASN'T looked up an ex-love online, joined a reunion website/chat group, just to see how a past love/boyfriend is doing, where they are, etc. This book takes it to the next level...what would happen if you got in contact with the ex-love? and what choice would you make and why? Although done in all e-mail and phone call format, you don't notice it at all!! In fact, about 1/4 through the book, I didn't need to read who the e-mails were to & from to know who was writing. Each character has a highly distinctive 'voice' - even on 'paper'. A thought provoking and emotional ride with a satisfying ending...of course! Job well done, Ms. St. Claire!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful character study

    Twenty-eight years old Bostonian Amber Fleece is doing well at work but her personal life is lower than the Big Dig. Desperate and bored with the Ivy League crowd she has been seeing for eons, Amber decides to go back to her happiest moment with males: her prom night. She registers with classrunion.com seeking Gray McDermott though she learns he is blue collar. Stephanie ¿Stevie Wonder Woman¿ Hilliard used to be Amber¿s boss, but became an Orlando mother of two. She loves her darlings, but is bored especially since her husband Brent is never home always traveling with his young beautiful assistant. When she receives an interesting email from Tony Markoff, a blast from her past, Stevie begins an on-line affair, but wonders if that is cheating and if so is that equal to her husband¿s seeming fling.--- Amber¿s administrative assistant Julie Desmond is recently divorced while also suffering from empty nest syndrome as her son has left for college. She becomes independent as she grows on the job and meets a former boyfriend via the Internet.--- HIT REPLY is a powerful character study that looks at three women in varying phases in their lives yet with similar problems and the influence of the Internet on their relationships. The audience gets a first hand look at the prime trio through predominately their email exchanges. Fans will enjoy this instant communication winner that provides focus on what the Net is doing to people as well as asking psychological questions as to whether it fosters closeness and communication or isolationism and hiding. Rocki St. Claire has provided a fabulous look at the impact of the communication revolution on her three likable protagonists.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    A perfect blend of sassy chick lit and emotional women's fiction

    I've read books written in an all e-mail format before, but this was the first one that grabbed me by the throat and would not let me go until I'd finished every last page. The two main characters of the book--Stephanie and Amber--live, talk, act, breathe and think just like many women I know. Their struggles to balance career and family ring so true for any woman who deals with those challenges today. And the humor had me laughing out loud more than once (who among us hasn't secretly called our screaming, maniacal 2 year old a devil on occasion?) Their 'voices' rang loud and clear through their e-mails and I was really holding my breath to see how things were going to turn out. Lots of fun but also thought provoking, Hit Reply is a definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Forward this HIT to all your favorite friends!

    Rocki/Roxanne St. Claire writes with clarity and her voice is infused with verve and emotion. I enjoy her riveting romantic suspense novels as much as her stories of contemporary romance for Silhouette Desire. An impressive talent to enter the world of romance and women's fiction, this author is on my auto buy list. Pre-order this baby before it hits the shelves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Ctrl+Alt+DO NOT DELETE!

    Has Mr. Wrong ever invaded your life? Has the Mommy track lost its appeal? And what happens when you reach the end of that track and your kids are grown and on their own? The main characters in HIT REPLY face these questions and more in a new release from Rocki St. Claire. Amber Fleece is moving up at a Boston ad agency. Still looking for Mr. Right, she registers with an online site to get the email address of the guy who stole her heart (among other things) on prom night. Should she email him? Ignore his instant messages? Does the hip, urban woman really want to get involved with a guy who paints houses for a living and writes country music, and is living with another woman? The Harvard grad she¿s dating seems like the perfect man (at least to her friends and family) but sometimes out-of-your-league is preferable to Ivy League, especially when something more serious than the identity of Ben Affleck¿s current squeeze invades your life. Stephanie Hilliard was Amber¿s boss at the ad agency. But Stevie traded suits for sweats, legal pads for coloring books, and the rat race for motherhood. She adores her children, but hugs, kisses and finger paintings on the fridge are beginning to lose their luster. Combine that with her husband¿s heavy travel schedule and suddenly Stevie begins to think she¿s probably as interesting as gum on the sidewalk. And when he starts traveling with a beautiful brunette assistant, she feels threatened and scared. A job offer from left field shakes things up a bit, especially since it¿s from her old agency and a man she¿d had a pre-marriage attraction to. She¿s tempted ¿ both to take the job and renew the attraction with her old flame. But she soon has to ask herself if sexy emails are any different than what she suspects her husband may be doing. Our third player is Julie, Amber¿s admin assistant. Her marriage is over, her son has left for college and she¿s sure that motherhood can translate into a paying job. Add in the old beau she¿s found via the Internet, and this once-shy woman begins to blossom and exude a self-confidence that¿s quite marketable. Written completely in the format of emails and instant messages, HIT REPLY is a story first and foremost about friendship. It explores the various chapters in our lives and deals with the influence of the World Wide Web, that seemingly never-ending source of information for many people. It allows instant communication and shrinks the world to the size of a 17-inch flat-screen monitor. For every question that it answers, HIT REPLY raises another. Rocki St. Claire is the nom de plume of romantic suspense and category romance author Roxanne St. Claire, who Publishers Weekly considers a star on the rise. HIT REPLY is cleverly written, witty and flirty without going over the top. While billed as chick lit, it¿s unlike the rest of the genre, which is often full of self-dithering and endless angst. The characters¿ ages span three decades, so this book will appeal to a variety of readers. It touched my soul, tugged at my heartstrings, and left me feeling that the world would be A-OK. St. Claire is now on my auto-buy list. P.S. Google your first boyfriend¿s name. You might be surprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    Hit Reply Hits the Mark - Great Reading

    Reading Hit Reply, it's hard to shake the sensation that you have slipped into someone else's computer, someone else's office, someone else's life...and are secretly watching it unfold. Rocki St. Claire masterfully takes her readers into the heads and hearts of three extremely appealing women...via their computers¿and her fast-paced, multi-layered story runs the gamut from hysterical to heartbreaking. The cover looks like typical chick lit, but you won't find any of the conventions of that genre inside. The three female protagonists are in three different decades, and all three women are facing life-altering decisions and situations. Full of twists and amazingly easy to follow in the all email and instant message format, Hit Reply is one of those rare finds that defies categorization. Comedy? Yes, you will laugh -- out loud and a lot. Tragedy? There are definitely a few moments to wreck your mascara. Romance? Plenty of it and in the most surprising ways. Chick lit? Not like any that I've read. This book is one of a kind, utterly delightful, memorable, imaginative and clever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    MEANINGFUL CHICK LIT

    At once warm and witty, this book goes way beyond the average chick-lit novel and tackles issues dealt with by real women. As I read the book, I felt as if Stephanie and Amber were *my* friends - I came to care for them, to experience their joys and disappointments - and very early on, I realized I was reading something truly compelling. These are the most genuine characters I've read in a long time and I highly recommend this book for anyone who's looking for a meaningful, thought-provoking twist to their chick-lit. An utterly gripping book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2