Customer Reviews for

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 790 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(520)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Review of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

I know, I know.. I should have read this book before then. I have a vague memory of attempting to read it about 10 years ago - but that was when books only interested me if they had a half-dressed hunk on the cover and promised a few hours of romantic dreams.

Clearl...
I know, I know.. I should have read this book before then. I have a vague memory of attempting to read it about 10 years ago - but that was when books only interested me if they had a half-dressed hunk on the cover and promised a few hours of romantic dreams.

Clearly, this book didn't do that - so on the shelf it went. Now, in reading through the 1001 books to read I saw the name again and thought, hm.. perhaps I should give it a try. I'm glad I did.

While much of the book feels like it's still over my head (and it took me longer to read then I thought it would, seeing as I had to keep going back over things I didn't understand), I got more than my fair share of giggles out of it.

I don't think there's really anyone out there who doesn't know what this book is about - so let me tell you what my impressions of it were before, and after reading it.

Before I started reading this book I thought I knew the story. I understood 42 was somewhere in the book, and my impressions of the story came from an old PC game I picked up several years ago (I gave up on that game very quickly too). I knew there was a ship computer that talked, and that there was a depressed robot. And mostly I knew it was the story of a man named Arthur Dent. What I didn't know was how it all fit together.

Now I've read the book. I've laughed at the ship computer, finally understand that XKCD comic about the Kindle, loved loved loved Marvin the depressed robot and felt much of the same confusion that Arthur Dent must have felt. And I still don't quite know how it all fits together.

And that's why I like the book so much. Because I'm going to have to read it, and read it again - and although I think I still probably won't get it, I think I'll enjoy reading it every time, just like I enjoyed reading it this time. And really, if you can't enjoy reading a book... what's the point?

posted by Benz1966 on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

good book, very interesting, not everyones cup of tea, a lil ran

good book, very interesting, not everyones cup of tea, a lil random, but overall pretty good book, i can see myself finishing the series

posted by jjbookcast on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 796 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

    I know, I know.. I should have read this book before then. I have a vague memory of attempting to read it about 10 years ago - but that was when books only interested me if they had a half-dressed hunk on the cover and promised a few hours of romantic dreams.

    Clearly, this book didn't do that - so on the shelf it went. Now, in reading through the 1001 books to read I saw the name again and thought, hm.. perhaps I should give it a try. I'm glad I did.

    While much of the book feels like it's still over my head (and it took me longer to read then I thought it would, seeing as I had to keep going back over things I didn't understand), I got more than my fair share of giggles out of it.

    I don't think there's really anyone out there who doesn't know what this book is about - so let me tell you what my impressions of it were before, and after reading it.

    Before I started reading this book I thought I knew the story. I understood 42 was somewhere in the book, and my impressions of the story came from an old PC game I picked up several years ago (I gave up on that game very quickly too). I knew there was a ship computer that talked, and that there was a depressed robot. And mostly I knew it was the story of a man named Arthur Dent. What I didn't know was how it all fit together.

    Now I've read the book. I've laughed at the ship computer, finally understand that XKCD comic about the Kindle, loved loved loved Marvin the depressed robot and felt much of the same confusion that Arthur Dent must have felt. And I still don't quite know how it all fits together.

    And that's why I like the book so much. Because I'm going to have to read it, and read it again - and although I think I still probably won't get it, I think I'll enjoy reading it every time, just like I enjoyed reading it this time. And really, if you can't enjoy reading a book... what's the point?

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Too expensive

    There's a cheaper version: The Ultimate Hitchiker's Guide
    12 .00 for the entire series vs. 8.00 for the first one only.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    Don't Panic!

    If total randomness is not your thing, steer clear of this book. Douglas Adams' "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" starts with the Earth being destroyed to make way for a hyper spatial expressway. The main character, Arthur Dent, and his friend, Ford Prefect, escape annihilation by hitchhiking their way on board one of the Vogon ships that were in the process demolishing the Earth. After being found and thrown into space, they are rescued by the Heart of Gold, a state-of-the-art ship stolen by the president of the galaxy, Zaphod Beeblebrox. When Arthur and Ford meet their hitchhiking hosts, they discover it to be Zaphod and Trillian. Arthur had previously met Trillian at a party on Earth, just before Zaphod swooped in and took her off into space. The four travelers find their way to Magrathea, a legendary planet known for manufacturing custom planets. When they get to Magrathea, Zaphod, Trillian, and Ford are captured and detained by Magratheans. Arthur is greeted by an old man, Slartibartfast. He educates Arthur on the history of Magrathea and the computer designed to answer the question to life. This computer was known as Deep-Thought and produced the answer of forty-two. The question, to which this answer belongs, is not known by Deep-Thought. Luckily, Deep-Thought provides the plans for a super computer that will produce this question. The Earth is the key, but if you want to know more, you will just have to read the book. While I found this book to be confusing at times, it was also extremely entertaining. Until you finish the book, it comes across as being completely random. But after finishing the book, everything sort of comes together. The randomness is what makes this book what it is; without it, it would just be a boring story about four people. I definitely recommend reading this book, but if possible, read the book before watching the movie. While entertaining, the movie is not nearly as good as the book. It is a more enjoyable read if done before watching the movie.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    It may be old and I may be young but...

    I loved the while series. It is preposterous, ridiculous, British and just so...unreal. If you want to just not have to think too seriously about anything and just want to escape for awhile...take a chance on this and find yourself somewhere else. I'm only 25 and the first time I read it was ten years ago but it's a quick laugh worth a quick read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Oh my gosh this book is hilarious. This book will make u lol rotf.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    good book, very interesting, not everyones cup of tea, a lil ran

    good book, very interesting, not everyones cup of tea, a lil random, but overall pretty good book, i can see myself finishing the series

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Hilarious!

    Don't Panic..... and just read this book! Fantastic, funny, and will stay with you. Also make sure you read the other books in the series as well. A warning to those that saw the movie, although the movie script was written by Adams, the book is not the same. Both are hilarious tho.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Fanshmabulous!

    Hitchhiker's Guide is the funniest thing I have ever read. Well, Woody Allen's 3 books were hilarious too, but Hitchhiker's is definitely the funniest NOVEL I've ever read. Hitchhiker and Restaurant at the End of the Universe are both 10s, and I would have loved to actually see them combined to make one bigger, fanshmabulous book. Life, the Universe and Everything (the 3rd) is not quite as good as the first 2, So Long and Thanks for All the Fish is worse than # 3, and Mostly Harmless is the worst of all. I recommend at least the first three books, however. But make sure, if you read Hitchhiker, to at least read Restaurant. This pretty well wraps up Arthur Dent's adventures in time and space and probably could have ended the series right there without missing too much. Yes, Hitchhiker and Restaurant would make an excellent book. Maybe if I get some tape...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    I am going to reveal the ending!

    Ha Ha tricked ya. Actually revealling the ending would be really mean, especially people like me who hate endings "I hate endings" -The Doctor

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Funny and clever all the way!

    Loved the book! Is a mix of nerdy cleverness and a little intrigue on every chapter.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, will take

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, will take you on a wild adventure that will keep you jumping around from planet to planet. Its length is pretty considering, the cover didn't really draw me in, and the author has done many other books in his past and since writing this one.




    For starters the book isn’t a huge book so if you don't really like reading but are required to read for per say an English class then this might be the book for you. But if you prefer long books then I don't know if you'd care to read this book too much.




    The cover on this book isn't really the most appealing book cover it just has a hand with its thumb sticking out and some black lettering that says The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and below that says Douglas Adams, now when you hear me tell you this you're probably thinking man this book sounds lamer than all heck, but let me be the person to tell you that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover which is exactly what I did.




    The author of this book is the late Douglas Adams he has written many books in his lifetime this book has a few other books with it in a series of Science Fiction packed novels. He has wrote more than 30 books in his lifetime and also wrote the well known Dirk Gently Novel Series.




    So to cap it all off this book is a pretty decent book, I myself didn't like it all that much but I’m not really a science fiction kind of guy so I don't want me not liking it to be that big of a decision into you wanting or not wanting you to read it. If you're the type of person who likes Science Fiction then theres a chance that you will really like this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    This book was hilarious!

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy was absolutely hilarious. Douglas Adams has a very dry, snarky sense of humor, and I found myself giggling a little at the absurdity of some of the happenings. This book follows an unwilling Arthur Dent and his friend Ford Prefect around the galaxy as they explore lots of things and places. The book can get a little technically confusing at times, but it really isn't very much and it's usually possible to think the science through. All in all, I thought this was a very good book and I can't wait to read the second one! If you're looking for a light, humorous, fast-paced book, then The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy could be for you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Modern classic

    Modern classic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    42

    ALWAYS CARRY YOUR TOWELS FOLKS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Z

    Jzhsh

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    READ THIS COMMENT

    I do not hav the nook version for thus but i have the actual book and i have two word for it...LOVE IT!!!! It is one of the best books ever. Btw...IF U SAW THIS COMMENT AND DID NOT BUY THE BOOK I WILL HUNT U DOWN AND RIP OUT UR SPINE AND THEN UR ADAMS APPLE WITH MY BARE HANDS AND THEN U WILL DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny and Clever

    This book was very funny, with lots of sarcasm and irony. It was a very creative story, and I really enjoyed it. I look forward to reading the rest of the "trilogy"!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Hilarious!

    Doiglas Adams was a genius!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Great Book!

    Maggie Homer 9/8/10
    Book Review

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
    By Douglas Adams

    Douglas Adams wrote The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. It takes place in the present time and the main character's names are Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect. This sci fi novel takes hilarity and imagination to a whole new level. Arthur is a normal middle aged man with a friend, Ford Prefect, who claims to be an alien from outer space. Little does Arthur know, it's true. Arthur and Ford embark on a ridiculous journey through space that takes them from a Vogon space fleet to meet a three armed, two headed alien who happens to be president of the galaxy, and Ford's cousin. I would recommend it for all audiences, especially those who like a good laugh in their reading.
    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy is a fantastic book. It was described as "Extremely funny, Inspired lunacy. and over much too soon." Personally, I loved this book. The sheer ridiculousness of the plot itself is emphasized by the author's descriptions of everything in space. According to Douglas Adams, the universe is filled with all sorts of species. There are Vogons, humanoids, octopodic physucturalists, and hooloovoos, among many other things. A hooloovoo is a "super intelligent shade of blue". The imagination it must have taken to create this book is incredible.
    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy takes its title from a commonly used device in the story. The device is like a book except it has a screen that shows an index. The index has everything you would ever need to know about the universe. The most important quote in the guide is "A towel is the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have." A towel can be utilized as a blanket, a pillow, a bag, a coat, and to clean things up to state just a few of its myriad uses. The Hitchhiker's Guide is featured throughout the book and they use it often during their travels.
    One of the aspects I love about this book is that there is absolutely no moral. There is no life lesson at the end. One of the reasons for this is probably the fact that the book is so completely unrelateable to. The story is written purely for the reader's entertainment. At the end of the book, they can't exactly tell you to 'never ride in a Vogon Spaceship' or perhaps 'when traveling in outer space, always bring your towel and some peanuts' because the fact is, you will probably never have the chance to ride in a Vogon spaceship, or travel in outerspace.
    This book is one of the best I've ever read. The creativity and wit of the writing make it hard to put down. I finished the book quickly, and i finished it laughing. I think that anyone with a sense of humor would truly enjoy this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Fun trip!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, though I find it a bit difficult to describe. I guess the best advice I have is to just jump in and go along on the ride! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 796 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40