Customer Reviews for

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 788 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(518)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Review of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

I know, I know.. I should have read this book before then. I have a vague memory of attempting to read it about 10 years ago - but that was when books only interested me if they had a half-dressed hunk on the cover and promised a few hours of romantic dreams.

Clearl...
I know, I know.. I should have read this book before then. I have a vague memory of attempting to read it about 10 years ago - but that was when books only interested me if they had a half-dressed hunk on the cover and promised a few hours of romantic dreams.

Clearly, this book didn't do that - so on the shelf it went. Now, in reading through the 1001 books to read I saw the name again and thought, hm.. perhaps I should give it a try. I'm glad I did.

While much of the book feels like it's still over my head (and it took me longer to read then I thought it would, seeing as I had to keep going back over things I didn't understand), I got more than my fair share of giggles out of it.

I don't think there's really anyone out there who doesn't know what this book is about - so let me tell you what my impressions of it were before, and after reading it.

Before I started reading this book I thought I knew the story. I understood 42 was somewhere in the book, and my impressions of the story came from an old PC game I picked up several years ago (I gave up on that game very quickly too). I knew there was a ship computer that talked, and that there was a depressed robot. And mostly I knew it was the story of a man named Arthur Dent. What I didn't know was how it all fit together.

Now I've read the book. I've laughed at the ship computer, finally understand that XKCD comic about the Kindle, loved loved loved Marvin the depressed robot and felt much of the same confusion that Arthur Dent must have felt. And I still don't quite know how it all fits together.

And that's why I like the book so much. Because I'm going to have to read it, and read it again - and although I think I still probably won't get it, I think I'll enjoy reading it every time, just like I enjoyed reading it this time. And really, if you can't enjoy reading a book... what's the point?

posted by Benz1966 on January 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

good book, very interesting, not everyones cup of tea, a lil ran

good book, very interesting, not everyones cup of tea, a lil random, but overall pretty good book, i can see myself finishing the series

posted by jjbookcast on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, will take

    The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, will take you on a wild adventure that will keep you jumping around from planet to planet. Its length is pretty considering, the cover didn't really draw me in, and the author has done many other books in his past and since writing this one.




    For starters the book isn’t a huge book so if you don't really like reading but are required to read for per say an English class then this might be the book for you. But if you prefer long books then I don't know if you'd care to read this book too much.




    The cover on this book isn't really the most appealing book cover it just has a hand with its thumb sticking out and some black lettering that says The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and below that says Douglas Adams, now when you hear me tell you this you're probably thinking man this book sounds lamer than all heck, but let me be the person to tell you that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover which is exactly what I did.




    The author of this book is the late Douglas Adams he has written many books in his lifetime this book has a few other books with it in a series of Science Fiction packed novels. He has wrote more than 30 books in his lifetime and also wrote the well known Dirk Gently Novel Series.




    So to cap it all off this book is a pretty decent book, I myself didn't like it all that much but I’m not really a science fiction kind of guy so I don't want me not liking it to be that big of a decision into you wanting or not wanting you to read it. If you're the type of person who likes Science Fiction then theres a chance that you will really like this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Entertaining

    Well. I've learned that I don't really like comedies. That aside, it was very funny, but not enough purpose in the story to keep me focused. I often times felt my mind wander to other things. It did pose some interesting and thought-provoking questions in a light-hearted manner. It was good, but I'm still unsure as to whether I will read the sequels. If I do, it will be after I read some other things first.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Total randomness and I felt myself thinking "what the hell&

    Total randomness and I felt myself thinking "what the hell" quite a few times! It was definitely unique and I loved Marvin the depressed robot. Overall it was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I finally read this and still feel I should have liked it more t

    I finally read this and still feel I should have liked it more than I did. Truth is, I just couldn't care about the characters or the plot. Some of the humor was good, but the rest seemed too hyper, to frantic to keep a reader's attention instead of a real story. Thus it felt flat and not worth continuing with the sequels. I'm rather saddened by this outcome after being told for years how much a classic of science fiction this book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    Lacks excitment

    When you think of the galaxy you think of all these really cool outstanding objects such as stars, moons, planets, suns, etc. Well, Hitchihikers Guide does not portray the excitment of going through space. All they talk about is the ship which doesn't seem to be too interesting either. All in all the excitment factor of the actually traveling through the galaxy made the book dull for me. I personally was very disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    below average book

    the writing in this book was really confusing at times, and the ending was kinda stupid too. From the reviews on this book I was expecting a great book but I was very disappointed when I finished reading this terrible book. The jokes are lame and only made me smile maybe twice. The story behind it is really crazy, I also think that the book ended too abruptly half way through the book they finally get into outerspace. Dont listen to the other people if you are looking for a good book cuz this is NOT what you are looking for

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2