Customer Reviews for

Ho-Ho-NOOO!

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Ho-Ho-NOOO! is a fairly typical popular-Christian Christmas stor

    Ho-Ho-NOOO! is a fairly typical popular-Christian Christmas story. TJ’s family is in for a meager holiday and she takes a series of jobs to raise money to give to her father. Her best laid plans fall apart, though, and ultimately she learns the unoriginal-but-still-important lesson that Christmas is more about the gift of God than about the gifts we give one another.

    I received the TJ and the Time Stumblers series (6 books in all) for my classroom, and they quickly became hits with a lot of the kids. A Christian riff on Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, the Time Stumblers series features Herby and Tuna, two silly guys from the 2200’s who travel back in time to the twenty-first century in order to get some first-hand data for their history project on TJ Finkelstein, a great world leader from their past. They end up stuck with a seventh-grade version of TJ in her own time, and while they work on finding their way home they help TJ learn many of the biblical virtues and life lessons that will make her a godly and revered leader one day. My female students love that the books feature a godly heroine who, though destined for greatness, struggles with the same hardships, homework, and heartbreaks as them; and the boys get a kick out of Herby and Tuna’s antics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    The fourth book in the TJ and the Time Stumblers series, Ho-Ho-N

    The fourth book in the TJ and the Time Stumblers series, Ho-Ho-NOOO! By Bill Myers looked fun. It wasn’t a disappointment. TJ and her time traveling buddies are neck deep in trouble once again. If your a fan of Bill Myers you'll love this series. Great for kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Stallion

    I walk away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Frank

    Pulldd her against him andlayed her down in the straw where he inserted his shaft all the way and staryed pumping her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Fire

    Hy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    It is Christmas time and T.J.'s sister has already planned the p

    It is Christmas time and T.J.'s sister has already planned the perfect present for her Dad. T.J. decided that she needed to get her Dad a bigger and better present but in order to do that she needed money. She got a job at a local department store and ended up babysitting a local celebrity's children. She kept tallying her money earned and thought she might have a chance to give her Dad the "biggest gift" but on Christmas Eve her life took a downward spiral. T.J. learned that Christmas is not about who can give the best present or the most stuff, its about spending time with your family and loving your friends and neighbors as God loves them.
    While this book seemed a little odd to me while reading it, it will be perfect for older children with all the screaming and "sound effects".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    (To begin, let me say that I'm over a decade out of the target a

    (To begin, let me say that I'm over a decade out of the target audience age range, so that definitely affects my opinion of the book.) 

    "Ho-Ho-NOOO!" is the fourth book in a "juvenile" series about a modern-day junior-high student, T.J., and her from-the-future pals, Herby and Tuna. This installment takes place during the week leading up to Christmas as T.J. learns some lessons about charity, genuine giving and familial love. I believe the intent of the book was to teach the "real" story of Christmas, and though it made valid points about the commercialism and greed of the holiday, I didn't find a whole lot about Christ, the true "reason for the season," which I found surprising, as this is supposedly a "Christian book." Although none of the other books in the series are realistic, I found this one by far the most far-fetched and just plain ridiculous. I found some humor in the last few books, but "Ho-Ho-NOOO!" was just too over-the-top for my taste, and I honestly wouldn't recommend it, even for someone in the target audience. 

    Additionally, I know I've mentioned it before, but I really dislike the obsession with boy/girl dynamics, crushes, etc in these books. Not only do I find it inappropriate for the age of the 12 year old main character, but I would hope that a "Christian" book could have more helpful and edifying story lines. For that reason, and those I stated in the previous paragraph, I would rate this book 2 stars. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ho-Ho-Nooo!, by Bill Myers, is book #4 in the TJ and the Time St

    Ho-Ho-Nooo!, by Bill Myers, is book #4 in the TJ and the Time Stumblers 6 book series—and my favorite! These are highly entertaining and engaging books. The entire series is unique in page appearance, and filled with Biblical messages.

    When TJ finds out her father lost his job, she goes on a quest to raise money to give to her father for Christmas. The ‘lesson’ learned (each book conveys a Biblical message) is that there is more to Christmas than gifts.

    TJ deals with the issues at hand, without having a ‘redo’ through time travel. The message is strong and powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Christmas is coming, TJ has no money to buy her Dad a present, a

    Christmas is coming, TJ has no money to buy her Dad a present, and her sister is already planning the perfect gift. So TJ gets a job, with help from her 23rd century visitors.
    I thought this was a cute book with the typical craziness of this series. It was good to see TJ learn the true meaning of Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Best one yet! These books are not my favorite, but once you get

    Best one yet!

    These books are not my favorite, but once you get used to them they aren't too bad. This one is my favorite so far - mainly because instead of time going backwards so everything can be redone, TJ has to learn her lesson and live with the actual results. That seems a much better way to teach a lesson than to have gadgets to get you out of the mess you (and the Time Stumblers) created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    TJ Finkelstein and her friends are back for more in the fourth b

    TJ Finkelstein and her friends are back for more in the fourth book of the 'TJ and the Time Stumblers' series.  "Ho-Ho-Nooo!" focuses on the true meaning of Christmas, and it isn't something you can buy in a store.  23rd century time travelers Tuna & Herby are still with us (nope, no fuel for their time-travel pod yet) and they are causing as many hijinks as before.
     
    In this installment, TJ works and works to make money for a special Christmas gift for her dad (she is partly motivated to beat out her sister, Violet, and partly wants to help with the household finances as her Dad has just been laid off).




    TJ learns that just maybe, even in the possession-focused city she lives in, that gifts for Christmas aren't always tangible.  I recommend this book and entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Now that I have read all of the books in this series, I can stat

    Now that I have read all of the books in this series, I can state unequivocally that this one is my favorite! All these books offer funny dialogue, silly blunders from Tuna and Herby, catastrophes in TJ's life, and futuristic devices that never seem to work properly. In the midst of all the chaos, Myers offers a mini-character lesson. In this book, as you can imagine, the lesson is the true meaning of Christmas. Is Christmas about buying a better present than someone else, or can it simply be spending time with the people who matter most? Myers further complicates things in this book by a real-life challenge of unemployment.

    I love the way Myers teaches a lesson in a fun, kid-friendly way. These books are great for kids or kids-at-heart. The whole set would be a great gift for beginning or intermediate chapter readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    In this novel, TJ realizes the true spirit of Christmas and thro

    In this novel, TJ realizes the true spirit of Christmas and through her efforts to earn money for Christmas, she is drawn back to the real reason for Christmas: Jesus Christ.  It’s a sweet, entertaining tale that is sure to capture the hearts and minds of your young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    This is just as silly as the others in the series, with lessons

    This is just as silly as the others in the series, with lessons taught in an imaginative way. These stories are great for kids. Bill Myers writes so well, I am looking forward to reading his newer novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    ilana.nauman@gmail.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1