BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hobbit (Young Readers Format)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3225)

4 Star

(533)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(94)

1 Star

(248)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

176 out of 232 people found this review helpful.

Enchanting book,

But the enhanced edition is worth the extra buck, which it is I believe only a dollar more. It has recordings of J R R Tolkein reading the dwarves songs such as chip the glassses n crack the plates! & far over the misty mountains cold.

posted by 11133557 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 189 people found this review helpful.

Stupidity!

All of the people who rate this as a bad book are too stupid to understand it. If it had been written in crayon and fewer words, maybe you would understand it better. Try "Curious George," it may be more your intelligence level. Have a nice day.

posted by 11554864 on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 216
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    THE HOBBIT!!!

    This book is seriously awesome! It was full of action,adventure,and total epicness!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I received The Hobbit as a gift almost a year ago. This emerald

    I received The Hobbit as a gift almost a year ago. This emerald hardcover edition is stunning -and I don't just mean its appearance! The Hobbit is a fantastic, captivating story, and a wonderfully well-written one at that. Tolkien's own illustrations are included throughout and add to the magic and ingenuity.

    I had difficulty putting the book down and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great read. The Hobbit is a classic!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Great book, terrible version! Typos abound!

    The hobbit is a great fantasy adventure, but this version either has compatability issues with the android nook app or was the most poorly edited ebook i have ever seen.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Really!:(

    Would someone please write a real review? I want to know wether it's a good book or not.

    6 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Amazing story, bad version

    I love the hobbit. I have probably read it 8 or 9 times. I highly suggest getting a different, better version. In this one named are misspelled, there are weird breaks in the pages. It seems like it was digitally scanned and converted to text.

    tl;dr: get a more expensive version of this fantastic story

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great!!!

    I am 12 and this book was so captivating that I read it in about 8 hours, over three days! Tolkien's style of writing is easy to read, the story is interesting, and the characters are fun. I was inspired to read this after I saw the movie, and I will probably read the Lord of the Rings next. Anyone reading this for the first time is lucky!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Hobbit movie

    Hi all, do you think you have to read the book before watching rhe movie? Pls reply asap

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Anynomose

    Just give it a chance.

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly Recomened if interested in a form of mythology

    The Hobbit is a great book to read because Tolkien gives England it's own form of mythology which people will appreciate. It has a lot of interesting aspects to it that make it interesting and fun.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Amazing

    This has to be the most adventerous book Ihave ever read!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    So many typos! Awful - do not buy

    I have an HD Nook and this book has so many typos and errors in it I'm amazed Barnes and Noble is selling it... just awful. I want my money back and I'll purchase a different version.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Avoid this one

    This book is terrible. It has typos on just about every page. It's as if it is a poorly scanned copy through an optical character recognition reader skipping the proofing. It's too frustrating to read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This particular e-book edition has many typos and misspellings t

    This particular e-book edition has many typos and misspellings that confuse the story. It was probably scanned with OCR and not carefully edited after. Pay a few dollars more for a different version.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Spend a little more.

    If you enjoy reading, walk away from this version of The Hobbit. There are so many errors, it takes all the enjoyment out of the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Horrible editing

    This edition is full of typographical errors. Who printed this sloppy mess? Fourth graders? I guess I'll buy the more expensive edition because this one is just pitiful.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Full of typos

    This rendition of the hobbit is chock full of typos that largely detract from the pleasure of reading it. I will buy the other more expensive version in hopes of finding a good read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Whoa

    This edition is full of mistakes. Words are misspelled and left out all together. It was very irritating, but I suppose that's what you get when you pay $3. DO NOT BUY THIS EDITION.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Hobbit

    BEST book EVER if you agree press YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    My presussssss

    This bookses(refrence to gollum) is amazing!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    I read this in high school and was hooked on the world of Middle

    I read this in high school and was hooked on the world of Middle Earth. That was 40 years ago. ;-) 
    I enjoyed introducing Tolkien's books to my children and now my grandchildren.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4315 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 216