Customer Reviews for

The Hobbit

Average Rating 4.5
( 4401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3293)

4 Star

(551)

3 Star

(200)

2 Star

(101)

1 Star

(256)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

181 out of 238 people found this review helpful.

Enchanting book,

But the enhanced edition is worth the extra buck, which it is I believe only a dollar more. It has recordings of J R R Tolkein reading the dwarves songs such as chip the glassses n crack the plates! & far over the misty mountains cold.

posted by 11133557 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

This is for the Bill Vincent publisher eBook version. I WANT MY

This is for the Bill Vincent publisher eBook version.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!
I have read the Hobbit Several times. Love it, 5 stars etc.
Looks like Bill Vincent is a lazy incompetent publisher who does not even proof read his publication.
This eBook version is a scan o...
This is for the Bill Vincent publisher eBook version.
I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!
I have read the Hobbit Several times. Love it, 5 stars etc.
Looks like Bill Vincent is a lazy incompetent publisher who does not even proof read his publication.
This eBook version is a scan of the book where there are intolerable OCR errors on just about every page. The OCR spell check also incorrectly changes some of the Dwarf names to the wrong spelling.
Who the heck is Bill Vincent and how did Barnes and Noble let him in here with his piece of book scan and OCR fail garbage.

posted by FlyingDolphin on May 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    The Hobbit By: J.R.R. Tolkien

    I am a 25 year female old college student. I had to choose a book from a list of several titles. I went through the process of checking websites for reviews and asking friends whom have read this book. I had several referrals and the book had several good reviews. So this was my first choice to read. The book does have very imaginative and interesting characters, but I found it very hard to follow the storyline. If you are into fantasy reading you may enjoy this book, but I was very dissatisfied and bored with this book after the first few chapters. My opinion is one of many. So please take it upon yourself to decide if this is a book for you. I would not recommend this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    The cornerstone of High Fantasy

    Nothing more needs to be said beyond that this is an excellent story. It starts off like a children's story, with rhyming and cadence that would appeal to a younger audience but slowly changes in to a story of an adventure that anyone could enjoy. I recommend this to all readers because of it's legacy it's left but I highly recommend it to those who enjoy high fantasy, it's the blueprint that all fantasy has based itself off since.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Doesnt download to iPad

    I bought this book and it is not available on iPad or iPhone. Not mentioned in summary at Ll. rip off

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Terrible editing!

    The nook version of this book is a bit, well... awful. There are a ridiculous amount of errors - meaning I've only read a few pages and I've already seen at least 20 errors. They're really distracting ones too. For instance, letters are left out of words or added to words constantly and I've seen Bilk) written a few times in a row (so far) and it took me a moment to realize that it was meant to be bilbo. I wouldn't recommend this version (at least for the nook) at all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Spelling errors!

    Disappointed at how very many spelling errors there were. Most of the time they don't even use the same spelling for the names! You have to guess who or what they mean & don't get me started on the songs layout... the most spelling problems are in the begining of the book but they extend to the end of the book. Often you have a few lines on one page & the rest of it is empty, then there is a missing page at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    OMG suckish book

    I saw the movie but l dont like the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Okay...

    This book is boring about 90% of the time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Kjtddddgfg

    ?

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Not what I expected

    I don't really understand why people enjoyed this book so much. I was expecting it to be alot better. It was pretty predicable what was going to happen. You could bet that in every chapter there would be some type of fight scene. This book didn't really keep my attention

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    Many typos

    This Nook edition has too many typos even in just the first few pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    To below

    Wow. Just... wow. ((I did too D'X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    I cried when Kili died

    D'X NOOOO!!! KILI!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Calli

    I FUC<_>KING LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    I had to read this book for English class. I did not like it. I

    I had to read this book for English class. I did not like it. I literally got migraines after reading chapters of this book, no joke. This book was almost pure torture. It's not only an eye sore to the eyes, but to the mind as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    To 20

    I did and I didnt get a free Macbook pro. Everybody, dont listen to people like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Great book, horrible typos

    I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this edition. It is rife with errors, clearly from being an ocr'd version of a print book. The story gets 5 stars, the edition gets 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Good story, horrible typos

    It's obvious that this is just an ocr, as there are plenty of typos in this book. Do not reccommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Boring

    I really tried to like this book, but it was just too boring. This is literally the only book that im gonna watch the movie instead of reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    I completely HATE this book!!!!"!"

    The plot seemed to drag on forever, and it seemed liked they never got past marching through the forest. After hearing all the buzz about this book, I was excited to read this in 9th grade, but was quickly dissapointed when the story felt short for me. The climax never seemed to get high enough, the characters were confusing to tell apart, and it seemed like the author stopped writting about a 100 pages through which is very dissapointing since he wasted 400-plus pages on a terrible plot-line. Do NOT waste your 10 bucks for this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Kinda good

    This book is very VERY VEEEEERY boring in most parts but it is interesting in some parts like riddles in the dark

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6