Customer Reviews for

The Hob's Bargain

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Fantastic

    I picked this up because I enjoyed Moon Called and Blood Bound. All I can say is WOW! To add to it, I re-read this story so many times that I'm on my 3rd book. The first two have disintegrated from the number of times I've read them. I have a 4th copy in my car so I have something to read while waiting in line. All I can say is that the story line has helped me get over some rough spots in my life. Patricia Briggs is the only author where I have to buy two books from the beginning. One to read, and one for later reading (when the first copy has become too battered).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    A surprising jewel

    After reading Moon Called, which I enjoyed very much, I picked this book up on the advice of a friend on the web. This is a jewel of a book--a lovely romance and a wonderfully written story. I was sorry when it ended. A definite keeper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    A Must Read!

    This is definitely my favorite book. I think the reader must have a love of such creatures (hobs, etc.) to really enjoy this piece. This book has something for everyone. I haven't been able to get any male friends to read it, but speaking for myself, the females love it! I think the pace is set nicely and there is most certainly a longing for there to be always one more page, but knowing just one more page could be too much. Props to Patricia Briggs! It was wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Highly recommened!

    After reading every book in Patricia Briggs Mercy Thompson & Alpha and Omega series, I started reading her earlier novels, and this book didn't sisappoint me. It was a very satisfying read with an interesting world, an enjoyable romance, and a nicely moving plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    One can never go wrong with a Patricia Briggs book.

    One can never go wrong with a Patricia Briggs book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Great stand alone book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Try I think you'll like it!

    I am a Patricia Briggs fan. I especially like her Mercedes Thompson and Alpha and Omega series. I recommend this book happily to anyone in the the same boat. It stands alone - I recommend it to anyone who likes for example Ilona Andrews. It has a nice mix of action, romance and magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Wonderful

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Luv it !!!!!!

    Exactly the book i was loooking 4 !!!!! Is ther a second ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    It ended before i was ready

    You know when you wait for a plot twist you just know is comming? Your anticipation builds and when the twist arrives the tension inside eases and you devour pages as the long awaited turn takes place. for me the turn happened in the last chapter and left me hungry. Loved it anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    highly recommend

    Loved it. Kept me quessing on how it was all going to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I picked this up to fill in when I ran out of Mercy books, and c

    I picked this up to fill in when I ran out of Mercy books, and can't be more glad that I did. Everything is alive, from the creatures to the Earth itself. It is a lovely story of pain, loss, and redemption. I really liked the strength of the female lead - she comes from a time and land where life is hard, and death is only a breath away. Not only is she left widowed early on, she is magic, and magic isn't accepted or respected.

    The Hob is a wonderful character. Funny, warm, and caring, he is one of those characters whose very oddness of physical characteristics hides his beautiful interior. I absolutely love the way the book works, not only the characters, but the whole world that Patricia sets up. It is a lovely development of a mythical living world with great personality.

    I am so glad I have a Nook Tablet - I have read it several times, and will again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Highly recommend-love this book

    This is actually the fourth time I have bought this book. I really can not even begin to tell you why I love it so much. Maybe because it is wonderful fairytale. I love Patricia Briggs books, but this one, it is worth buying four times. Maybe since I bought it for my nook this time, it won't fall apart after reading it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A must read

    Strong female character, strong story development and a wonderful world of magic. I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read.

    This was the first Patricia Briggs book I read. It inspired me to read more from her. I found this book to vary from the norm. It held my interest. I have passed it along to family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved The Hob's Bargain

    This is a great book. I raced through it as I couldn't wait to see what would happen. So far I have enjoyed all of the Patricia Briggs books I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Patricia Briggs

    The charachters have depth and you start to fall in love with the Hobb yourself. I loved this story of magic, love and sacrafice. Will read this one over and over again. Her imaginative style of writing takes the reader to a different world of old magic and earthy beings. I love all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Hob's Bargain

    The beginning is attention grabbing and unique to the story. I enjoyed the playfulness of the Hob and the tenderness he shows for Aren. I enjoyed the action and the slower parts because it wasn't presented in a boring way. I will pull this book out again and reread it as I do many others by Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Patricia Briggs does it again!

    Aren has the sight, and must bargain with the last Hob to save her village. She lives in a world where those with magic must either join the evil mages or be put to death, so has hidden her talents most of her life. Suddenly, she needs to learn to use the sight to protect her friends, despite their superstition. Doesn't hurt that she finds love along the way either! Great stand alone story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4