Customer Reviews for

Hoda: How I Survived War Zones, Bad Hair, Cancer, and Kathie Lee

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

funny and heartwarnimg

I always liked hoda but now I feel like I kmow her

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

All hat and no cattle

I agree with Kirkus: unremarkable showbiz froth. There's not a lot in here about her career progression that you couldn't learn from the Web, and she reveals nothing personally that might answer the question, What makes Hoda tick? Lots of glossy wonderfulness. And then ...
I agree with Kirkus: unremarkable showbiz froth. There's not a lot in here about her career progression that you couldn't learn from the Web, and she reveals nothing personally that might answer the question, What makes Hoda tick? Lots of glossy wonderfulness. And then the parts of her life that were difficult such as reporting in difficult situations, were glossed over with triteness. I skipped over a lot. I've read a number of media personality bios and autobios and most are much more insightful than this.

posted by AnnG55 on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Incredible

    This is one of the best autobiographies I have read. Hoda is funny and will make you laugh out loud. She is a class act and I think her stories about her family are so inspiring and she knows how very blessed she is to be part of them. I had a smile on my face throughout most of the book. Thank you for sharing your amazing journey with us.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    funny and heartwarnimg

    I always liked hoda but now I feel like I kmow her

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Boring

    She is such an imteresting person with an interesting background and experienves that it is a shame she did not go into more detail. If you are a Hoda fan, just get the book from the library.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    All hat and no cattle

    I agree with Kirkus: unremarkable showbiz froth. There's not a lot in here about her career progression that you couldn't learn from the Web, and she reveals nothing personally that might answer the question, What makes Hoda tick? Lots of glossy wonderfulness. And then the parts of her life that were difficult such as reporting in difficult situations, were glossed over with triteness. I skipped over a lot. I've read a number of media personality bios and autobios and most are much more insightful than this.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Fun, informative - like catching up with a best girlfriend.

    I knew I really liked Hoda from watching the Today show but now I truly adore her. She's witty, humble, and humorous.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Hated It

    Too boring and condescending!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    X

    Hdh

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Hoda

    Enjoyed so much and learned a lot about someone I enjoy watching everyday. Easy read!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Great Little Book

    Hoda shared her personal life with us, from growing up in a family that immigrated from Egypt to the USA, to her personal battle with cancer and divorce, and ending with the rise of her career. It was well written and easy to read. I would recommend it if you are a fan of hers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Great, quick, read!

    If you are a fan of the Today show, this is a must read. She is a strong woman who has lead a very normal path to the place that she is now. The recipe that she shares in this book is also delicious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    Awesome!!

    For some odd reason I felt the urge to read this book and I read it in 2 days...it's a good book to learn a little bit from!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    dissapointed fan

    I have always enjoyed watching Hoda on Today. However, her memoir disappointed me. Many parts rambled on and on so much that I skipped serveral chapters. I hoped to learn more about who Hoda is outside of journalism and news but little light was shed on more personal aspects of her life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Who doesn't love Hoda?

    Again, another memoire that is written just as the writer speaks, how nice. This book by Hoda Kotb is very delightful and a quick read - you don't want it to end and then suddenly it does.

    I watch Hoda and KLG every day and wish them success with their show; perhaps it should be expanded to include the 3rd hour of Today (?)

    Great job Hoda.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Perfect reading material, could not put it down. It gives you a glimpse what Hoda is all about. Loved the quirks and humor that she offers. By the end of the book I felt like this is someone I would want to hang out with. Hoda is simply a down to earth woman doing what she is so passionate about. She makes you realize to never give up on your dreams no matter how many times you get knocked down. Would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Highly Recommended!!

    Very intertaining read, funny and very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Thank you Hoda: You have inspired me!

    Excellent and truely from the heart

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Hoda is very honest and it was interesting as she talked about her family life as well as an up-and-coming reporter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    highly recommended

    very easy read. i was sorry when it ended. hoda should write more books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Love!

    Best book yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Kelly slater

    I love it it really changed my life without it i can an wuld do severe damage to my brain

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6