Customer Reviews for

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Awesome New Paranormal YA Book

    Hold Me Closer, Necromancer is the first novel I have read about a Necromancer. This is such an interesting Paranormal point of view I wish more people had written about it a long time ago. This novel was amazing. It was hilarious and suspenseful all at the same time. There were some areas where I would be chuckling at some of the character quotes but then by the next page I was on the edge of my seat from the suspense and action.


    The main character, Sam, is just one of those people you kind of have pity for. He lives on his own, barely makes enough money and his life is just kind of boring. Then after shattering a car light with a potato Sam finds himself in a load of trouble. The story line overall could have easily been seen as confusing. However the author, Lish McBride, was able to guide you into each scenario slowly with just enough details. All of the information Sam finds out doesn't become jumbled in this novel. I could truly appreciate that.


    One of my favorite things about this book is the way all of the paranormal activity is being described. I have never heard anything like this but it still makes sense. In each county there is a council. The council each has a head leader. The council is made up of the strongest paranormals of each kind, a werewolf, a necromancer, a witch and so on. It was really interesting that there was this added government role with paranormals. It seems so well organized!


    There is also a bit of romance in there, of course. I don't want to spoil anything but Sam meets one of the strongest, baddest, werewolves out there. Sam and this girl are stuck together in the oddest situation yet they are both able to bond. The romance grows quicly between the two. It was interesting to see a passionate, accelerating love as opposed to the usual romantic, slow growing love.


    I have to say that I also enjoyed the ending. This novel could end here or continue on to a series. It isn't a horrible cliffhanger that makes you want to scream. It is just a happy ending with a few things left unsaid.


    Overall I would have to give Hold Me Closer Necromancer 5 out of 5 Stars. I really enjoyed it. Keep in mind this book has A LOT of death and violence. Its rated for 14+. Plus there is some sexual content towards the end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I rented this as an audio cd from my local library, and before


    I rented this as an audio cd from my local library, and before I was halfway through the story, I ran out and purchased a hardcover copy.

    The book is told from both first and third person narrative, which was probably easier to follow on the audio.

    The main protagonist of the story is Sam. His ordinary, slightly boring, uneventful life takes a dramatic turn after an incident while playing potato hockey. They pick the wrong car to damage, and it brings Sam to the attention of Douglas the local necromancer. Douglas senses a power in Sam and wants to bring him under his control. It seems Sam is a necromancer also, much to his surprise.

    Suddenly, his world is full of otherworldly beings. There are witches, werewolves, zombies, among others, and Sam is totally out of his element. When his friend Brooke's head turns up at his apartment, and she can still talk, Sam realizes he needs some answers and his mom may be the only one who can help.

    The writing is full of fantastic, snarky humor, which comes across wonderfully on the cd version. The narrator for Sam was perfect!

    I absolutely loved Sam's character. He's this innocent, clueless young man, thrust into a world he never knew existed or that he was a part of, and he maintains this sarcastic humor throughout the book.

    Sam's friends, Frank, Brooke, and Ramon, were great. We also meet Brid, (Bridget) a female werewolf that Sam gets locked up with. I liked the relationship that developed between them. Douglas was a well developed evil presence throughout.

    The book moved at a nice pace, and I really enjoyed the writing style.

    I can only hope Sam's story continues and that this is not a stand alone. I need more Sam!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Needs a sequel

    Very great book, with the right balance of comedy drama, and action. Each chapternis as unpredictable as the next. Hope she writes a sequel

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    A must read!!

    I like this book so much! The wittyness of the characters, their sarcasm, etc keeps it interesting amlnd the suspense was killing me the whole time. Also, the cover kinda reminded me of the demonata series...just saying Anyway, i would stongly suggest to read this book Just whish it was a series (TT^TT) If it is, let me know!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Horror/Comedy for the win!

    Hold Me Closer, Necromancer is a hilarious book, but it's still horror. When I was thinking about this review, I knew I wanted to include a quote that showed both at once. I found this one by opening the book to a random spot near the beginning. That's how much the humor and terror go hand in hand throughout the novel. The hilarity keeps the book from getting too too scary, but the story still never loses it's dark and serious edge. It's awesome.

    For me, though, the funny stuff won. I laughed out loud (on a quiet commuter train, no less) while reading this book. Sam's a smart and introspective college drop-out, Brooke's a manipulative smartypants (and I mean that in the most flattering way possible) in a cheerleader's body, Ramon's still in college and living on Sam's couch, and Frank's the new kid that they're all trying to break and/or befriend. What they have in common is their cynicism, irreverence, and fast food employer. They are masters of biting and witty one-liners, exactly my kind of humor. Ramon, Frank and Brooke do their best to make sure that Sam stays firmly grounded in his regular life even though he's being pursued by creatures he's not sure he even believes exist.

    And that's where the horror part kicks in. The evil guy, Douglas Montgomery, is a ridiculously powerful necromancer, and he thinks Sam is a necromancer too. The guy in the quote above? Sam isn't quite sure WHAT he is, but he's left huge cuts down Sam's back that could only have come from a knife. Only no one saw a knife. Within the first 50 pages, someone we already care about is dead. Without getting too spoilerly, let me just say that necromancers are not the only magical/paranormal beings to grace these pages. There are werewolves, fae, witches, vampires and more. Oh, and Douglas's house comes complete with a magical cage and basement torture chamber.

    This is one that I think is more suited to older teens. Sam is out of high school and has already nixed college, and his "normal" life problems reflect that. That's not to say that the average high schooler won't love this book. It is darkly humorous, scary, and Sam and co. exhibit the kind of sarcasm and cynicism to which many in high school aspire (myself included, at that age). And Sam is stuck in the stage of life where he is trying to find himself, something that is highly relatable for many teens and twenty-somethings. He's just got the added pressure of "to raise the dead or not to raise the dead" making everything more interesting. I loved it.


    Book source: Philly Free Library

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Book!

    Sam is pretty much your average guy. Unfortunately, he feels lost and doesn't know why. He dropped out of college hoping that something will come along and show him the way to enlightenment (be careful what you wish for). He works at a typical hamburger joint with his best friends Ramon, Brooke and Frank. Everything seemed like a typical boring work day until Douglas, the most powerful necromancer in his area stops by and zeros in on Sam. No necromancer should have gone undetected and so Douglas takes quite an interest in Sam. The friends find out quickly that Douglas is not trying to help him out of the goodness of his heart. In fact he quickly becomes a threat and Sam only has a short time to find the missing parts of himself that he didn't even know was missing.

    This is a fun story. There is snark, but mostly with the females in the story (you know I love snark). I would also place this book more in the older YA category. The characters are around the age of 19 and there is violence and sex within the book. It isn't too graphic and I think it is more relatable to the older teen. It also ends in such a way that there suggestion of another story. No, not a cliffhanger, but one that begs a second Sam book. Hopefully the females will have a bigger presence and there will be even more snark! I give this book 4 stars and recommend it for those who want a fun YA paranormal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Perfection

    A hilarious take on the magic and monsters genre. I loved how the author makes even encounters with undead horrors entertaining in more than a crap-your-pants-scary way. There is a dash of romance, fortunately nothing like the Twilight garbage, as well as some very good action scenes, such as the siege of the evil necromancer's house and the fight between the main character's fey hound - werewolf mix (girl?)friend and a normal werewolf (hands-down, one of the best fight scenes I ever read). I would not reccomend this book to children who are not yet high school age, as it has a lot of language, some blood, and sexual content including innuendos and a suggested sex scene. Overall, this book is 3-6 hours of literary bliss. Book 2 is out as well - look for "Necromancing the Stone."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Hilarious journey

    Funny and dark, this novel had me laughing out loud numerous times. An entertaining read from start to finish. Some mild language and sexual humor, I'd recommend for ages 16+.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Really Enjoyable

    Hilarious set of characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    I really liked this book, my major complaint with it is the grea

    I really liked this book, my major complaint with it is the great story line is not developed as thoroughly as it should be. This book could have easily had another two hundred pages and I would have blown through them as fast as I did with these. As it is I was left feeling a little let down when it ended too abruptly. It is like the editor told the author to keep it to a certain length weather or not the story was completely developed. I really enjoyed the read, more please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Suspensful and Intense

    Wonderful book, i loved the ending with Brooke. Sequel? I hope so! I stayed up till three a.m. reading this book. I love this book. I will tell all my friends about this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny & A Great Read

    This books cover drew me in from first sight. The bright colors and weird picture made me want to read this book even more. The plot and the characters were the most compelling. The plot was new and fresh, and had a different storyline than other books. The characters made me laugh and actually care about them. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend, its new, funny and a great read. Pretty much everything about the book was amazing.

    Reviewed by Kole for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A must read for those who love creepy

    I looved at the cover and knew it had to be interesting. Sam was a great character and now the mere sound of the name Douglas is creepy. The use of necromancers was a nice change insted of reading the rage of vampires. The witing style was good and the addition of not just werewolves buy mixing fey with that was a refreshing change too. An absolute great paranormal read. Hope there's a second one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    I LOVED this book! Histerically funny! Fans of Holly Black, Larbalestier and Dia Reeves will love this!

    Sam is just your average burger flipper/college dropout until the day he finds out the hard way he's a necromancer (the hard way being getting his friends talking head in a box from the head hancho bad guy necromancer). But despite coming into the game a bit late Sam and his friends (head included) race to find a way to save him and discover there's a whole lot more than necromancers out there... Can't wait for the next installment!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend.

    This book is such an entertaining book. It was filled to the brim with fantastic characters, a storyline that flowed right off the pages and into your imagination and McBride did a wonderful job of placing right in the thick of everything that's going on. All the while that you're rooting for Sam to come into his own, you're worried about everyone else in the book. Brid, her pack, Ramon, Sam's Mom and sister, just everyone. Douglas Montgomery was full of bad and he made the story interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!

    I consider myself somewhat of a paranormal connoisseur/geek. I originally bought this book because my friend knows the author and I recently moved away from Seattle and was missing home. The book was cleverly written and totally kept me engaged the whole time. It was LOL funny in some of the quirkily written things the characters would say and quite surprising and different from my other paranormal reads. I can't wait for book number two!! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Great book!

    HOLD ME CLOSER, NECROMANCER, by Lish McBride, is an exceptional story about a seemingly normal boy with an extraordinary gift that is both powerful and dangerous. Sam has always felt out of place and down on his luck until a very powerful necromancer senses him. Sam has just days to unleash his power or he will meet his demise.

    I loved this book! I have read a handful of necromancer books and this one stood on its own quite successfully, due to the fact that a necromancer was not the only supernatural being present. McBride picked a wide-range of supernatural characters and placed them strategically in the book to make a well-orchestrated paranormal feast!

    Sam is extremely likable. He may feel like a loser because he is a college drop-out, working in a fast food joint, and living in a less than desired apartment; but he is extremely honest with himself and has a fantastic group of friends. Ramon, Frank, and Brooke were probably the best friends anyone could ask for, especially in the whirl-wind situation Sam found himself in with Douglas. They researched, , and even lost part of themselves (you will understand when you read the book) in the fight to keep Sam alive. And Brid was also a great match for Sam. He broke down her hard exterior to understand her inner wolf. They were incredibly adorable even though the circumstances that brought them together was interesting to say the least.

    With this amazing cast that McBride created the surprises just kept on coming. I laughed a lot and nearly cried while reading this book, and I think anyone who loves paranormal will have a great time reading this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Great debut

    This was a fantastic debut novel! Sam was a hilarious character that was colorful and really came to life and flew off of the pages. He's a loser who dropped out of college to work at a fast food joint, until one day he finds out that he is a necromancer, and there is a whole supernatural world around him. When his friends head is delivered to him on his door stop as a warning, things really start to get scary. They also start to get funny when Brooke (the aforementioned head) starts talking! Sam has to find a way to get out of the grasp of the evil necromancer Douglas before all of his family and friends end up hurt.

    This was full of funny characters. Lish McBride really breathed life into each and every character that graced the pages. It was a fun fast read that had me doubling over in laughter on the same page it had me gasping in shock and terrified for the characters! It takes really great writing to pull me into a book like this one and pull so many emotions out of me! I really didn't expect to enjoy this book very much and I was pleasantly surprised to find that I loved it! I recommend this to anyone who loves to read and laugh!

    Content from readingangel.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Most excellent! *Book source ~ Local library Samhain ¿Sam¿ Cor

    Most excellent!

    *Book source ~ Local library

    Samhain ‘Sam’ Corvus LaCroix is a college drop out working in a fast food place with his best friend Ramon when a potato turns his life upside down. Yep, a potato. A spud, a tater, a po-tay-to. If it hadn’t been for that sneaky tuber then Sam may have continued his clueless drifting for a very long time. Instead, he meets Douglas Montgomery, crazy sociopath and mega powerful necromancer. Turns out, Sam is also a necromancer and Douglas does not like to share his territory with any other necromancer even one as weak in power as Sam, so he gives Sam a week to leave town, become his apprentice or die. Not good options there and the messenger he sent to Sam’s apartment? That is messed up. Sam’s running out of time while he tries to figure out what is going on, dodge the cops and stay alive.

    I went into this book without a lot of expectations. I saw a lot of book blogging friends had read it and the blurb sounded interesting, but it still took awhile to get on my radar and then longer for me to actually read it. However, once I started it I couldn’t put it down. I like books about people who have no idea they are something else entirely. And Sam’s situation is one I haven’t seen before in all the books I’ve read. The world, the characters, the villains and the plot are all riveting. I did wonder why Douglas wanted to train Sam at all. With his massive ego and paranoia about having anyone in his territory with any kind of power I didn’t see the point though it made for a good plot device. The end has me wondering though. Did Douglas pull a Voldemort? Hmmmm…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5