Customer Reviews for

Hold Me Tight: Seven Conversations for a Lifetime of Love

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Saved My Marriage!

This book teaches you what things to look for when your spouce is mad at you. They are not really mad at you they are affraid of loosing you. I know it's hard to hug a cactus, but sometimes that's what you have to do to show them you aren't going anywhere. Don't retract...
This book teaches you what things to look for when your spouce is mad at you. They are not really mad at you they are affraid of loosing you. I know it's hard to hug a cactus, but sometimes that's what you have to do to show them you aren't going anywhere. Don't retract and give the space but stand up and talk to them and hold them tight.

posted by Scout_Typper on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but I think I need more help

I think this book is very helpful for those who have spouses open enough to try it. I just wish they also gave ways to approach your spouse with these conversations. Just like some parents have to hide their vegetables to get their kids to eat it. I have to sneak in rel...
I think this book is very helpful for those who have spouses open enough to try it. I just wish they also gave ways to approach your spouse with these conversations. Just like some parents have to hide their vegetables to get their kids to eat it. I have to sneak in relationship talk to my husband or he just doesn't listen much less talk.

posted by MGordo on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Saved My Marriage!

    This book teaches you what things to look for when your spouce is mad at you. They are not really mad at you they are affraid of loosing you. I know it's hard to hug a cactus, but sometimes that's what you have to do to show them you aren't going anywhere. Don't retract and give the space but stand up and talk to them and hold them tight.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    A Mind Opener - I understand myself & my partner better

    The concepts in this book are very simple yet can completely change how you understand your and your partners' reactions to situations and to your relationship in general. I haven't finished the book yet but I can't hardly put it down... I am very excited to digest these concepts - I can already see them making a huge difference in how I respond to my partner and how happy we are.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    saved me

    this book was referred to my husband and i. i was skeptical that a book would help me. but it did and has. this book opened both my husband and i's eyes to how we communicated. we have been telling everyone about this book. our marriage was great before we read this book but now....it's secure,safe, loveling, and full of joy. PLEASE READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional guide to a more responsible and meaningful relationship

    Ms. Johnsons' interpetation of the intricacies of human relationships is simply designed, carefully thought out and written in a language that not only changes prior perceptions but invents a new and healthy twist to perceptions in relationships.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    The Best Book for Couples in Years

    Sue Johnson makes accessible and practical the science of attachment and offers an explanation for adult love. Hold Me Tight is written in a clear and compelling style. It is an excellent book for couples and smart therapists will be recommending it to their clients.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great ideas

    Great ideas with specific questions and instructions.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    In clear language, Dr. Sue Johnson describes Emotionally Focused Couple Therapy and gives hope to couples who want to improve their relationship. Hold Me Tight is a must read for psychotherapists who provide couple counseling. I certainly benefited from reading it. (Payam Ghassemlou MFT, Ph.D.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I bought this last weekend at my local B&N, after my wife fi

    I bought this last weekend at my local B&N, after my wife fired our marriage counselor who did not seem to have any real focus or plan. The counselor recommended a different therapist who uses EFT, and I wanted to see what it was all about. I bought this book because Dr. Sue Johnson is one of the pioneers of EFT, and this book lays out the reasons for her approach, as well as the steps that an EFT counselor would take to restore marital harmony. I have to say that I thought the book was very interesting and helpful, as EFT is based upon the belief that everyone needs deep emotional attachments, and that the way to fix a rocky marriage is to get the couples' emotions back in synch with each other, rather than obsessively revisiting the past or laying out groundrules for coexisting in the present. I also like the fact that it is unashamedly pro-marriage but not in preachy way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1