Customer Reviews for

Hold Still

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Made me CRY

    This book made me cry. it was so well written. I really loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Hold still review by alex charlton

    This book was awesome i finished it in three days. If you are looking for a great book that will keep you on the edge of your chair stop here because this is the book your looking for. This book made me happy, sad,glad,and mad all at the same time. I really felt i could connect with the main character caitlyn. You will fall in love with this book. So go ahead and start reading. NOW.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A must read......

    I loved this book! Every emotion your supposed to feel with a good book I felt. There were some points where I winced and wanted to turn away and other points where I wanted to cry and keep going. Amazibg book for anyone who needs anwsers about the suicidal mind. I would definetly reccomend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    "Hold Still" Holds Top Spot!

    "Dear Today, I spend all of you pretending I'm ok when I'm not, pretending I'm happy when I'm not, pretending everything to everyone. Love Ingrid"

    This line is from the power diary of Ingrid who committed suicide leaving her best friend, Caitlin, with just her dead best friend's diary. Throughout the novel, Caitlin continues to read parts of the diary and begins to find herself in the world. Caitlin eventually found the courage to give others that took part in Ingrid's life, letters in her diary directed to them. After Caitlin gives them their own little part of Ingrid, she goes back to their favorite place to be and watches it as it is destroyed.

    This novel was an excellent choice for a teenage girl such as me. I tried to put myself in Ingrid's, Caitlin's, and Dylan's shoes. It made the book just so much better for me. I find that many teenagers read books of suicide, drugs, drinking, and others of this sort. And may I say, this book filled my expectations. I had a three-week period to read this, and I finished it within 5 days. I am definitely interested in finding more books from Nina Lacour.

    The book was written wonderfully with a sad storyline that has a girl finding herself in the world. Overall, "Hold still" is a very emotional book about loss, suicide, and depression. To read how Caitlin went on with her life after her best friend died was arresting and to read how strong she became was wonderful. Make sure to have some tissues with you when you read the book. I highly recommend this book to teenage girls still trying to find themselves in the world, or even a 'book-hungry' reading enthusiast. I hope all who read this enjoyed it as much as I did. I give this book four stars.

    nh - pd1 - poplit

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Heart-wrenching and beautifully written...

    I read this book earlier this year for a quiz bowl competition my school participates in. The begining starts out slow but not in a how-many-more-pages kind of way that a lot of authors struggle with. Caitlin is such a believable character and the author some make what is, by its self, a depressing situation, and turns it into something hopefull. I absolutley loved the book but I recommend not reading this in public or while wearing mascara that is not water proof ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    Hold Still is a beautiful and articulate book coming from the heart of a teenage girl whose best friend committed suicide. Within the year of her friend's death she deals with grief, anger, and sadness and discovers what she stands for in this coming of age story. This is a story about love and friendship with subtle humor. If you like books with a gloomier side you will like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Caitlin's best friend Ingrid has killed herself and left her a j

    Caitlin's best friend Ingrid has killed herself and left her a journal explaining to her in letters to her about her decision to end her life. In Nina LaCour's debut novel, she touches upon themes that teens face on a daily basis. The loss of a friend, the loss of innocence and the idea of pulling yourself out of this and trying to move on.

    Caitlin's journey takes us on a myriad of feelings as she reads through the journal and tries to piece together why she never saw the signs of the depression eating away at her friend. She in some respect feels extremely responsible for Ingrid's circumstance. She alienates herself from her friends at school and refused to see a therapist that her parent feel is necessary to get over her grief.

    But through this grief she meets Dylan who shows her that she can still be friend without forgetting her friend. Caitlin also finds a romantic interest in someone who was always there along the periphery. But because she and Ingrid were so tight, she never allowed any guy close enough. Caitlin also has to be the one to tell Ingrid's romantic interest that she really was into him. As Caitlin reads through the journal, the desperation hit me and I found myself crying big fat tears.

    I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I got this book and ever since I got I was glued to it.One of the best books I have evr read, and I have read a lot of books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    By far a favorite

    I have always been into sad books because they are the most emotimol. I reccomend this to everyone who has somekne special in their lives! Amazing book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    This book is very dramatic and realistic. I strongly recommend it!!!

    'By four-thirty I've thrown several thrashing fits, given myself a headache, put my fist in my mouth and screamed.'-Caitlin
    Dramatic, gentle, and powerful. Beautiful, tragic, and devastating. Simple, honest and deep. All words that describe the amazing literature configure in two-hundred and twenty-nine pages bound into a book. Hold Still by Nina LaCour is a book that will have tears in your eyes and make, you experience joy in your heart at the same time. Words that fly right off of the page and into your heart, you will never read another story so drastically brilliant.
    Lost and alone Caitlin finds life hard to survive after her friend commits suicide. Having no one else to help fill the void Ingrid left she sees the world as a useless bottomless pit. Caitlin knows as long as she walks around depressed and angry at life for Ingrid's fatal condition that her life will get much worse. With newfound friends and company she starts her travel to recovery, new destinations lie ahead and a life can expressed in a simple black bound book.
    Reading Hold Still was eye opening for me. This book makes me think so much about my life and why it's as bad or as good as it appears to be. What is really important in life and why that is so important. How people think they know whats wrong with some one else but they possibly can't they're not living through it. Why do you lose people? Why do they die? Realizing you can never really understand how some one else feels and why they feel that way is why it is so hard to connect with someone on a deep level. This book expresses those hardships, analyses them from a teenagers point of view which is the best way to show how much it effects your life.
    I think that if you really want to know what a hard life is you have to live it. Putting yourself in someones shoes isn't enough. Now I know that when you've lost something you can't retrieve it. Nothing can recover the vast longing you have for it. Can't wish it back, can't waste time crying for it. The best way to grieve and be happy is to let it go, and then thats when you start your road to recovery letting all the negative energy 'hold still.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2