Customer Reviews for

Hold Tight

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hold Tight for a Fun Ride!

I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always readi...
I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tamer Psychological Thriller

An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few pl...
An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few plot lines quickly pulled together in the end made the ending seem a bit too convenient.

posted by Lisa_in_SoCal on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    best author

    I absolutely love all of his books!! This one being one of my favorites!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Couldn't Put It Down

    This was the first Harlan Coben that I have read but I am glad I chose this one! I loved the book, it had so many twists and turns I couldnt put it down. Loved how it all came together in the end made for a very very fun, interesting read. I am usually one for some romance but feel it would have been misplaced in this book, surprisingly I didnt miss it; the plot kept me going. I highly recommend and will be looking into more of his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great, suspenseful read.

    Harlan Coben really knows how to weave an intricate, suspenseful tale, a must read for the mystery novel fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Grocery Store...but only if you must!

    Absolutely painful. If I never read another work by this author, his laughable and juvenile style sticks in my head with a permanency that will always make me remember his name. To his credit, the story does flow. He simply treats the reading audience like we are all about twelve and a half. I completed this to complete it, then I threw it in the trash. Utter crap!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Loved It

    This is my third or fourth Harlan Coben and I'm getting hooked. I really enjoyed that this book had several independent stories going on at one time and all weren't intertwined until the end. Kept you guessing. I'm not going to give too much detail on the story line as it was somewhat complicated. Basically, the main plot centered around two (slightly overprotective)parents searching for their missing teenage boy who could be in danger, only to find that he and his friends may be involved in a complex drug ring. Secondly, a connection is made between the murder of two very different women, a divorced, lousy mother and a typical suburban supermom/wife. Third, there is a couple who are seeking a kidney for their ill child. Finally, there is a father trying to help his young teenage girl get over some torment at the hands of her schoolmates due to a careless remark from a teacher. Want to know how these stories are related? Read the book! If you love suspense, you will love this one. I would recommend reading "The Woods" first, as some of the characters from that book reappear here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Okay, not great

    I don't know, I just couldn't jump up and down about this book. Easy to read, but the story was too predictable, and the characters not believable enough to merit even one more star. Just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    If you love Harlan Coben, you'll love this book! He is a master when it comes to plot and characters. If mystery is your thing, this won't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Once again, Coben doesn't disappoint!

    Twist-filled plot...thought provoking for parents of children of any age...drama and mystery for those with kids and without. Rich, complex characters (some returning from Coben's previous novels).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Would have liked SOME romance in the book

    Some people may like that there was no romance in the book, I however appreciate wondering what will happen between two characters later in a book. Keeps me turning the pages. Other than that, it was pretty good. I like when a book holds my interest and this one did. Some times' it gets a little violent but that's ok. I prefer the Bolitar character so I'll be reading one of those novels next. There was one character that was the protagonists best friend that intrigued me, yet he hardly came up anywhere in the book. It was as if Harlen thought he would use him as a character, then changed his mind. Then brought him in once or twice later. Other than that, I like Harlen's style of writing and his characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A Good Read

    Mr. Coben is rapidly becoming one of my favorite writers. I believe "Hold Tight" is the third one I've read of his and I'm giving him my third Thumbs up. His books get a little off-beat, a little weird, a little far out, but that's what I'm looking for in a novel sometimes. In "Hold Tight", that's exactly what happens. You hold tight until the very last page. And after the last page, you look to see when his next endeavour will hit the market. I'll be there for it. This one is intriguing, especially if you have kids, worry about them and sometimes fear for the worst for them. Heaven forbid his story could happen, but he certainly makes you think that it could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Another awesome book

    I had just recently read the newest book "Caught" and couldn't wait to look for more books to read by this same author. I have to say the writing style was just a bit different. I've never read a book where you are reading one paragraph and the next paragraph will be something from a whole other setting. Usually a book will skip a few lines so your brain can regroup or it will start a new chapter. I had to totally concentrate reading each sentence not knowing when it would be talking about something different. Don't get me wrong, the book was a quick read and kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Excellent

    Could no put the book down. Have read a few books by this author and liked all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A tremendous thrill!

    I read this book in one day. The author has the ability to keep the reader on the edge of the seat. The plot constantly twists, keeping the reader with the inability to put the book down. It tells the extent to what a father will do to save his son. WOW! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Great book, but...

    I loved this book, but I can hardly stomach Scott Brick's narrating. He sounds the same in every book he narrates...snotty and whiny and sarcastic. It's sickening. Sure wish authors would chose someone else to read their books. Not sure why he has received so many awards! Anyway...the book held my interest. I'll not listen to another audio book narrated by Scott Brick though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Excellent!

    This book was very hard to put down. Great story with twists and turns. Absolutely loved it! --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Master of the hook and twist

    Pure Harlen Coben, proving again he is the master of the hook and twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    A new kind of Coben

    I really thought this one was a bit different from other Coben books I've read. I'm a big fan of him and I think that his writing continues to mature with each book. I like the seriousness of this book as well as the realistic problem that the story surrounds. Usually technology based fiction is a bit over the top but this book was great. I would recommend it for true Coben lovers or for first time Coben readers alike. I think reading this book as a first Coben would get you hooked in a heartbeat. I am a book collector and it's been a while that I've been so hooked to a book I can't sleep without finishing it however this book I just had to stay up for. I recommend Coben and Patterson as the best mystery writers out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Every parents nightmare

    The whole time I was reading this I was wondering about all the texts that my son and his friends send back and forth. I know this is fiction but it makes you think. Very exciting and hard to put down. Coben keeps you enthralled through the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like Koontz, you'll love Coben...

    I don't really know why I ever even let a Harlan Coben book reach my book shelf before I have read it. They are always that good. I think this book, Hold Tight was a breath of fresh air - a suspenseful read that I could dive into and not fully make it out until the book was complete.

    It is true that I loved my last read, The book Thief, as well. That book was more on the read slowly and let the beauty of the words sink in style. This book rolls over you like a freight train and you love the page turning effect it has on you.

    So today - a day that I stayed in bed due to I dont even know what - flu I guess.. I slept, and I read. Its a little sad that it takes a day like this now where I am inmobilized to actually find time to read! Yet, as I stared out the window at what looked to be a pretty nice day and thought about all I could be doing - I have to say the book made the day a lot better.
    Harlan is a fun, realistic writer that I find to be a lot like Dean Koontz except that Dean can go what I call "Dark Dean" at times and I find a few of his books to out there where I dont get that from Harlan.

    Anyway - another fabulous read - well developed characters and while there is a lot of different things going on in the book at once, I found it flowed well and I did not get lost in the plot.. errr.. plots. A 5 in my book. Literally ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Hold Tight" is a 21st Century Sobering Reality Check in Fictional Format

    My Harlan Coben odyssey began with a borrowed copy of his latest..."Long Lost"...and promptly encompassed his entire collection of 15 novels. I read "Long Lost" at the beginning of April and devoured the rest of his collection by mid May. I'm currently experiencing severe withdrawal symptoms...and seriously considering pleading with Coben to produce another novel before the end of 2009.

    This man is an amazing author...superbly talented...who holds ones spellbinding interest from page one to completion....with nary a dull sentence in between. It's pointless for me to critique each book that I've read because I'd have the same review comments for each one.

    Suffice to say...if you are a mystery lover...in my opinion...your life will never be entirely complete if you don't read Coben's collection...especially his Myron Bolitar series. Throughout my reading of his entire 15 book collection...I was never able to guess the final guilty party in any of the tales. That...for me...is quite amazing...and says volumes for Coben's talent as a yarn spinner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10