Customer Reviews for

Hold Tight

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hold Tight for a Fun Ride!

I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always readi...
I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tamer Psychological Thriller

An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few pl...
An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few plot lines quickly pulled together in the end made the ending seem a bit too convenient.

posted by Lisa_in_SoCal on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Thriller

    You have to give Harlan Coben props - he knows how to keep the reader spellbound. There's lots going on in this high-intensity tale of suspense about a simple plea for help gone bad. Very bad. It's hard to figure out how two women beaten to death, a dedicated but frazzled teacher who loses his classroom cool one day, and a father's search for his missing son tie together, but in the end they do. In the meantime, the reader is taken on a great thrill ride with plenty of twists and turns.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Makes a parent think

    I am a Harlan Coben fan to begin with but this book took a new direction. Any parent of a teenager will carry the lessons in this book with you. It plants ideas that will continue to make you think long after you have finished the book.
    It was good read, easy to follow and it grabs you and holds you throughout.
    I would recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    cant put it down

    if you are looking for a book to read on the train to work, or at night before bed to unwind, you will be late. once you start it is hard to stop. this is my first and now im looking for more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    It was pretty good

    I didn't enjoy this one as much as The Woods, but still a good novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Very enjoyable

    When I first started reading this book I put it down because I couldn't get into it. A week later I opened it again and finished it in two days. It was a page turner and I was anxious to see how it ended. I'll have recommeded it to my book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Plot Spoiler Reviews

    PLEASE STOP HARRIET KLAUSNER'S "REVIEWS"!!! This woman reveals the entire plot in every review she writes and unfortunately we like the same writers. I am so tired of reading reviews to decide to purchase an e-book and coming across her plot spoilers! What is the point of giving us the choice of flagging reviews if nothing is done about it? I have seen many other complaints about this same person - PLEASE MAKE HER STOP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    To spy or not to spy...

    Should parents use spyware to monitor their children's activities online? In his latest fast-paced thriller, Harlan Coben explores this question and more.For Tia and Mike Baye, the decision is a tough one. Their 16-year-old son, Adam, has not been acting like himself since the suicide of his best friend and they are very worried about him. Tia convinces Mike that they need to install spyware on Adam's computer and almost immediately they see a cryptic email that makes them believe that Adam is harboring a perhaps-dangerous secret. Adam then disappears and Mike sets out to find him, determined to help his son at all costs.Coben weaves two other storylines into the narrative as well, and all three converge in a dramatic fashion in the end. HOLD TIGHT has all the usual action, twists and turns of a Coben thriller, along with the added debate of how far will parents go to protect their children? A must-read for all Harlan Coben fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good but not his best

    I love Coben. He is my favorite suspense/thriller/mystery writer. He is amazing. I was expecting more out of him with this book. I found The Woods and other books like Gone For Good and Just One Look to be better. I am not saying this was not a great book, just did not grab me like most of his others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Good!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Would have liked SOME romance in the book

    Some people may like that there was no romance in the book, I however appreciate wondering what will happen between two characters later in a book. Keeps me turning the pages. Other than that, it was pretty good. I like when a book holds my interest and this one did. Some times' it gets a little violent but that's ok. I prefer the Bolitar character so I'll be reading one of those novels next. There was one character that was the protagonists best friend that intrigued me, yet he hardly came up anywhere in the book. It was as if Harlen thought he would use him as a character, then changed his mind. Then brought him in once or twice later. Other than that, I like Harlen's style of writing and his characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A Good Read

    Mr. Coben is rapidly becoming one of my favorite writers. I believe "Hold Tight" is the third one I've read of his and I'm giving him my third Thumbs up. His books get a little off-beat, a little weird, a little far out, but that's what I'm looking for in a novel sometimes. In "Hold Tight", that's exactly what happens. You hold tight until the very last page. And after the last page, you look to see when his next endeavour will hit the market. I'll be there for it. This one is intriguing, especially if you have kids, worry about them and sometimes fear for the worst for them. Heaven forbid his story could happen, but he certainly makes you think that it could!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Excellent

    Could no put the book down. Have read a few books by this author and liked all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    Unique story idea.

    Well written; keeps reader's interest

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Had trouble putting it down

    Purchased the book for a book club without even reading the backcover. I couldn't put it down. The book ties in all the characters very well without trivializing the plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow to start, but reels you in.

    Once I got about a third of the way through the book, I was hooked. It was startling, thought provoking and exciting. Not at all what I expected at first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Great Book!

    Exciting from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    This was not an over the top outstanding book but it did keep my interest. The only thing is that the chapters skip around a lot from character to character, hard to keep it all fresh in the memory what's been going on with each family. All in all a good read. Will read more from this author, this is the second Harlan Coben book I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    Page Turner

    Not one of his best, but still quite a page turner. Great, quick read with a great message to it. I love his mysteries and his Myron Bolitar books. Have read them all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    I could put it down.

    Great plot line but it simply didn't flow with twists and turns like his other books. I continued to ask myself if I would have done the same thing with my sons. I don't think so. I wish the author had built a background for this family and give us an idea of why the boy did what he did. I'll buy Coben's next novel but this one was a bit disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    Another Bestseller!

    Harlan Coben is one author who is on my 'Must Read' list. His latest - Hold Tight- does not disappoint! Tia and Mike Baye decide to 'spy' on their 16 year old son after much deliberation. Adam's best friend Spencer committed suicide and Adam himself has been distant and non communicative. They are worried about him, but also worry that they have crossed a line by 'spying' on him. They install a program on his computer that catches all keystrokes including instant messages. They are stunned when they intercept one that reads ' Just stay quiet and all safe'. Mike is a doctor and he and his partner are searching for a match for a kidney transplant for the young son of Mike's next door neighbour. All is not as it seems on the surface at this house either. The mother of Spencer cannot accept his suicide and is constantly searching for answers as to why he killed himself. What she finds opens up the whole tragedy again. Adam disappears - has he run away or has been abducted by the sender of the 'all safe' message? Mike tries to track him and is attacked by unknown assailants. The local police are also dealing with the unsolved murders of two local women. All these seemingly disparate stories come together in a way you can't imagine. Although the ending gets wrapped up a little too neatly, its still a good read. Coben is one of the best selling thriller writers today. If you enjoy James Siegel, James Grippando, Jonathan Kellerman, or John Sandford (new one in the Prey series coming soon!) you will enjoy Coben.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3