Customer Reviews for

Hold Tight

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hold Tight for a Fun Ride!

I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always readi...
I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tamer Psychological Thriller

An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few pl...
An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few plot lines quickly pulled together in the end made the ending seem a bit too convenient.

posted by Lisa_in_SoCal on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    EXCELLENT

    Couldn't put the book down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Good Suspense Thriller

    Interesting story line. This is the first of his books I have read, but I will surely read others. It kept you guessing throughout the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Kept me Interested

    This was the first book i have read by this Author and I truely enjoyed it! It had a lot of twists andturns and I enjoyed how all of the characters intertwined in a way that was unexpected. I would recommend this book to others as a good summer read. I am definitely going to pick up more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Tightly wound thriller

    First, if you're a parent, especially of a teenager, 'Hold Tight' might be a disturbing and thought-provoking read - that is, if you're not already going through some of the crises that Tia and Michael Baye are navigating with their sullen and withdrawn sixteen-year-old son Adam. After the suicide of a friend, Adam's personality change worries his parents enough that they install a spyware program on his computer despite their qualms about invading his privacy. What they find will lead Michael to a teen nightclub where he is assaulted and then investigated by the FBI, who insist the club is a front for all sorts of illegal activity. Meanwhile the Baye's ten-year-old neighbor needs a kidney transplant that may not happen because of the secret his mother is keeping and Adam's sister Jill has a friend who is devastated by a teacher's thoughtless classroom remark. Did I mention there's also a serial killer that investigator Loren Muse (from 'The Woods') is trying to catch? A lesser writer might fumble these disparate plot elements but Coben juggles them beautifully, and plausibly ties them all together at the end. Along the way he raises provocative questions about how modern American parents are raising their kids: providing them with all the latest gadgets and gizmos while neglecting their emotional and developmental needs for the sake of career and financial success. Coben masterfully renders his young characters with all of their very adult trials and tribulations, and he gets their 'teen-speak' and tech-savviness exactly right. The only reason I didn't give 'Hold Tight' five stars is because some readers might find the commentary mentioned above a little heavy-handed and distracting. Either way I'd highly recommend the book for all suspense-thriller fans. Also recommended: 'A STRANGER LIES THERE' - this mystery won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Tun those pages

    Anther great book, he coninues to write great books,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Tight Squeeze

    There's no doubt that Harlan Coben can write a good thriller, and he does that here, thus my 4 stars. But, wow, there is just so much going on in this book that you almost need a flow chart to keep things straight. When you sit back and try to add it all up, well, it just doesn't. So it requires a large suspension of belief, one which Coben fans will no doubt easliy offer. But he could have written a much tighter novel that still would have us all hold tight.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Strong Coben, but not his finest.

    I greedily anticipate every Harlan Coben novel that comes out, and although I liked this book- I didn't love it. The characters weren't as fleshed out as previous characters like Myron Bolitar. Strong writing and plot, but the novel is missing Coben's usual ornery dialogue. I am now again waiting for his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3