Customer Reviews for

Hold Tight

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hold Tight for a Fun Ride!

I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always readi...
I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tamer Psychological Thriller

An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few pl...
An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few plot lines quickly pulled together in the end made the ending seem a bit too convenient.

posted by Lisa_in_SoCal on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Hold Tight for a Fun Ride!

    I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a thought-provoking timely profound thriller

    In Glen Rock, New Jersey, the recent suicide of teenager Spencer Hill has sent shockwaves throughout the community as parents wonder could their offspring follow suit and teens ponder what they could have done differently to prevent the tragedy. Since Spencer killed himself, his classmate, sixteen years old Adam Bave has been acting strange as he shows no enthusiasm for anything at all. His aloofness would have been ignored as a teen thing by his parents, Tia and Mike, but with the Spencer death they fear their child could be depressed and perhaps be the next suicide. Panic stricken as they debate security vs. privacy, the Bave pair place spy ware on their son¿s hard drive.--------------- A few days after their intrusion, Tia and Mike begin feeling a bit better and silly as nothing out of ordinary has happened until a message from an unknown source menacingly states: 'Just stay quiet and all safe'. At the same time a grieving Betsy Hill, Spencer¿s mom keeps asking her self how she failed to see the signs as she goes through an on-line memorial until one photograph stuns her on the night her beloved son killed himself, neighbor Adam Bave or someone who looks similar is standing nearby her son. ----------------- Harlan Coben is at his best with this intimidating one sitting thriller that has the audience pondering on different levels security vs. privacy. Adding to the overall discomfit levels caused by this deep chiller is the knowledge the setting can be just about anywhere in the States as Glen Rock happens to be a suburb of New York City. However what makes HOLD TIGHT a strong suspense is not the menace though this culprit is frighteningly deadly and dangerous it is the Bave parents¿ dealing with the choice of to intrude or not to intrude that on a family level parallels the 9/11 to eavesdrop or not to eavesdrop. Readers will believe they could be the Bave or Hill family as Mr. Coben writes a thought-provoking timely profound thriller.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Through no fault of his own, Harlan Coben is an author I overloo

    Through no fault of his own, Harlan Coben is an author I overlook often. That's really unfortunate and sad because he is a wonderful story-teller. His ability to create characters that a reader can connect to and really care about is exemplary. In addition, placing these unique and interesting characters into stories that weave in and out of the nooks and crannies of his mind to end up in a book that keeps the reader glued to their seat from start to finish takes extraordinary skill. I found myself so intensely focused on this story, anxiety building wondering what would happen next.




    The sad fact that I haven't read many of Mr. Coben's books is completely my fault. As I stated above, I overlook this author often. It's likely down to laziness on my part. I don't take the time to take a good look at what is being offered when I am in the mood for a thriller / suspense story. Fortunately, it's never too late to teach a reader new reading habits.




    I loved the way this author takes multiple story lines and knits them together into one book and so they are all connected. The best part is how realistic the story is. It's as if the kinds of events described in this book are taken from current day media headlines. Murder, suicide, bullying, parental spying, disobedient children, psychosis and even revenge. Whatever your reading preferences are leaning toward, this book can deliver on many levels.




    Don't make the same mistake I did. If you have not considered Harlan Coben when you are looking for something in the thriller / suspense genre, it's not too late to rectify that. You will be glad you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    One of my favorite Coben's works. I just read it for the second

    One of my favorite Coben's works. I just read it for the second time
    and enjoyed it as much as the first. He is without peer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Loved It

    This is my third or fourth Harlan Coben and I'm getting hooked. I really enjoyed that this book had several independent stories going on at one time and all weren't intertwined until the end. Kept you guessing. I'm not going to give too much detail on the story line as it was somewhat complicated. Basically, the main plot centered around two (slightly overprotective)parents searching for their missing teenage boy who could be in danger, only to find that he and his friends may be involved in a complex drug ring. Secondly, a connection is made between the murder of two very different women, a divorced, lousy mother and a typical suburban supermom/wife. Third, there is a couple who are seeking a kidney for their ill child. Finally, there is a father trying to help his young teenage girl get over some torment at the hands of her schoolmates due to a careless remark from a teacher. Want to know how these stories are related? Read the book! If you love suspense, you will love this one. I would recommend reading "The Woods" first, as some of the characters from that book reappear here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    <3 this book!

    Ist amazing and blows you away. It can be hard to remember all the characters, but it is AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    AWESOME

    My first Harlan Coben novel, but it definitely won't be my LAST. I could not pu this book down. So many twists and turns that all end up being combined as one. INCREDIBLE BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Always great!

    Another great late night reading from one of my favorite authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Awesome book...impossible to put down!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Amazing- HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    One of the authors best mystery/suspense. I felt like i was on a thrill ride. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Awesome!

    Excellent book. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    best author

    I absolutely love all of his books!! This one being one of my favorites!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Couldn't Put It Down

    This was the first Harlan Coben that I have read but I am glad I chose this one! I loved the book, it had so many twists and turns I couldnt put it down. Loved how it all came together in the end made for a very very fun, interesting read. I am usually one for some romance but feel it would have been misplaced in this book, surprisingly I didnt miss it; the plot kept me going. I highly recommend and will be looking into more of his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great, suspenseful read.

    Harlan Coben really knows how to weave an intricate, suspenseful tale, a must read for the mystery novel fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    If you love Harlan Coben, you'll love this book! He is a master when it comes to plot and characters. If mystery is your thing, this won't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Once again, Coben doesn't disappoint!

    Twist-filled plot...thought provoking for parents of children of any age...drama and mystery for those with kids and without. Rich, complex characters (some returning from Coben's previous novels).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    Another awesome book

    I had just recently read the newest book "Caught" and couldn't wait to look for more books to read by this same author. I have to say the writing style was just a bit different. I've never read a book where you are reading one paragraph and the next paragraph will be something from a whole other setting. Usually a book will skip a few lines so your brain can regroup or it will start a new chapter. I had to totally concentrate reading each sentence not knowing when it would be talking about something different. Don't get me wrong, the book was a quick read and kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A tremendous thrill!

    I read this book in one day. The author has the ability to keep the reader on the edge of the seat. The plot constantly twists, keeping the reader with the inability to put the book down. It tells the extent to what a father will do to save his son. WOW! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Great book, but...

    I loved this book, but I can hardly stomach Scott Brick's narrating. He sounds the same in every book he narrates...snotty and whiny and sarcastic. It's sickening. Sure wish authors would chose someone else to read their books. Not sure why he has received so many awards! Anyway...the book held my interest. I'll not listen to another audio book narrated by Scott Brick though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Excellent!

    This book was very hard to put down. Great story with twists and turns. Absolutely loved it! --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5