BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hold Tight

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hold Tight for a Fun Ride!

I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always readi...
I have read so many of Harlan Coben's books and I've never been disappointed! Once you get involved in the suspense and the action, it's really hard to put his books down and this book is no exception. When children are in danger, despite their ages, I'm always reading in high gear. You want to somehow help, so you're riveted. The characters are real and you buy in at the very beginning! Mr Coben has given us another page turner and the pages just don't turn fast enough!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tamer Psychological Thriller

An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few pl...
An entertaining Coben. For once, a psycho torturer who doesn't have a major role and isn't that scary!

Not my favorite Coben, but definitely entertaining for many hours in the car. A modern plot and overly mature teenagers made the story seem very plausible. A few plot lines quickly pulled together in the end made the ending seem a bit too convenient.

posted by Lisa_in_SoCal on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Master of the hook and twist

    Pure Harlen Coben, proving again he is the master of the hook and twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    A new kind of Coben

    I really thought this one was a bit different from other Coben books I've read. I'm a big fan of him and I think that his writing continues to mature with each book. I like the seriousness of this book as well as the realistic problem that the story surrounds. Usually technology based fiction is a bit over the top but this book was great. I would recommend it for true Coben lovers or for first time Coben readers alike. I think reading this book as a first Coben would get you hooked in a heartbeat. I am a book collector and it's been a while that I've been so hooked to a book I can't sleep without finishing it however this book I just had to stay up for. I recommend Coben and Patterson as the best mystery writers out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Every parents nightmare

    The whole time I was reading this I was wondering about all the texts that my son and his friends send back and forth. I know this is fiction but it makes you think. Very exciting and hard to put down. Coben keeps you enthralled through the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like Koontz, you'll love Coben...

    I don't really know why I ever even let a Harlan Coben book reach my book shelf before I have read it. They are always that good. I think this book, Hold Tight was a breath of fresh air - a suspenseful read that I could dive into and not fully make it out until the book was complete.

    It is true that I loved my last read, The book Thief, as well. That book was more on the read slowly and let the beauty of the words sink in style. This book rolls over you like a freight train and you love the page turning effect it has on you.

    So today - a day that I stayed in bed due to I dont even know what - flu I guess.. I slept, and I read. Its a little sad that it takes a day like this now where I am inmobilized to actually find time to read! Yet, as I stared out the window at what looked to be a pretty nice day and thought about all I could be doing - I have to say the book made the day a lot better.
    Harlan is a fun, realistic writer that I find to be a lot like Dean Koontz except that Dean can go what I call "Dark Dean" at times and I find a few of his books to out there where I dont get that from Harlan.

    Anyway - another fabulous read - well developed characters and while there is a lot of different things going on in the book at once, I found it flowed well and I did not get lost in the plot.. errr.. plots. A 5 in my book. Literally ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Hold Tight" is a 21st Century Sobering Reality Check in Fictional Format

    My Harlan Coben odyssey began with a borrowed copy of his latest..."Long Lost"...and promptly encompassed his entire collection of 15 novels. I read "Long Lost" at the beginning of April and devoured the rest of his collection by mid May. I'm currently experiencing severe withdrawal symptoms...and seriously considering pleading with Coben to produce another novel before the end of 2009.

    This man is an amazing author...superbly talented...who holds ones spellbinding interest from page one to completion....with nary a dull sentence in between. It's pointless for me to critique each book that I've read because I'd have the same review comments for each one.

    Suffice to say...if you are a mystery lover...in my opinion...your life will never be entirely complete if you don't read Coben's collection...especially his Myron Bolitar series. Throughout my reading of his entire 15 book collection...I was never able to guess the final guilty party in any of the tales. That...for me...is quite amazing...and says volumes for Coben's talent as a yarn spinner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    I couldn't put this book down! The characters are believable and you really start to care about them. There are 4 or so different parts of the story that all intertwine in the end, making it very suspenseful. I highly reccommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Harlan Coben's "Hold Tight" is a MUST READ!

    "Hold Tight" is a MUST read for every parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, sister, brother, neighbor or anyone else not listed. A timely book that is filled with valuable internet information that we and all children need to know to keep them safe or at least informed of the psychopaths, drug dealers and crooked cops that are out there reading all of the personal "space" pages on the internet. This book is a real page turner filled with suspense that will not let you put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this book down!

    I just read this book for my book club group. Normally, this type of genre does not appeal to me. I probably would not have read this book if I was not in a book club, but I must say, im glad I did! This book captivated my attention from beginning to end. The plot was confusing at times because there are so many unique and different story lines going on at once. However, the story lines all comes together at the end and the reader is left with all questions answered. A definite read for book clubs!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Wow-as usual for Mr. Coben

    Loved this book. I've like every book I've read so far and now am reading his earlier series with Myron Bolivar. Mr. Cohen has a fan in me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Typical Harlan Coben

    I couldn't put it down! Loved every minute of it. Wish he could kick out books as fast as I can read them! The wait is so long between books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Well Scripted Maze

    This book is great. I almost wish I had not read it just so I could start over and read it again. The book has tremendous depth. I felt like a fish on a hook, oh so slowly being reeled in. The book has many turns and twists that beautifully wind together. I would love to see the chart the author used to link all these characters together. This is the best book I have read since 'Cold Moon' by Jeffrey Deaver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Couldn't put it down.

    I got this from a friend who read it in 3 days. I sat down on my day off and read about 90% of it. Finished it in 2 days and can't wait to get more of his books. It's a must read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    AWESOME!!!!!

    I loved this book. It had many characters and was just great. Recommended to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    JDO RN

    The reader better Hold Tight! This book has it all twists & turns! A twist ending! I loved it! I love ALL of Coben's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Coben Does it Again!

    I just finished this book, and Wow! What a ride! Lots of twists and turns, but can you fit the puzzle together? I'm not a parent, but I sure could empathize with these people. This is one great book...don't miss out on the suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Incredible read

    Very seldom will I give a book 5 stars but this book deserves that and more. What a fast moving, unbelievable plot. I was hooked from page one and it just kept on going.He pulled in so many twists and turns I thought I would get motion sickness! This is simply one of the best suspense books I've read in a long time. Coben truly knows how to pen an amazing plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Fantastic

    I loved this book.I didn't want to put it down and when I had to I couldn't wait to pick it back up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Wow! This is his best!

    All I can say is, 'WOW!' This was one outstanding book and one of the best books I have read in years. The twists and turns are mind boggling and the characters are all well developed. This is definitely his best book, and I have read them all. I have always liked him as an writer, but never thought he finished his books quite right. But that is not the case with Hold Tight. He had you from the first page and never let go. Not quite sure how anyone could give this book less than 5 stars. If you don't think this sort of stuff goes on in real life, you need to take a closer look. Read this book. It will knock your socks off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Fasten The Seatbelt On Your Favorite Reading Chair An Get Ready For A Rollercoaster Of A Read!

    Hold Tight is definitely one of Harlan Coben's top three books -- and it may be his best yet! It is a book that grabs your attention from page one and never lets go until the last word on the last page. Hold Tight is largely plot-driven, although Coben's characters are mostly interesting and ones that most people, and particularly parents, will be able to relate to. They are not characters, however, whose visual profiles came strongly to life for me. Further, if you have read Coben's Myron Bolitar series, I think you'll consider the characters of Mike Baye and his friend Mo to be pretty reminiscent of his characters, Myron Bolitar and his friend, Win. As I said, the strength of this book is its plot, not its character development. But what a plot it is! Basically, the book revolves around two story lines: '1'Mike and his wife trying to deal with the increasing withdrawal of their 16-year-old son after a friend's suicide and '2' a pair of brutal, seemingly senseless killings, which serve to highlight the domestic troubles that ensue and which punctuate the tension and engulf the Baye family, their friends and neighbors in a sea of tragedy. In addition to Hold Tight's exciting plot, Coben wraps the story around the following highly relevant ethical questions that most parents have to wrestle with: How do you weigh a child's privacy against a parent's right to know? How do you differentiate normal teenage rebelliousness from out-of-control behavior? When and how do you intervene if suicidal signs appear? Be prepared to put off whatever you were planning to do once you start Hold Tight, as you won't want to put this book down. I highly recommend Hold Tight to all readers of exciting, suspenseful plot-driven thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    great book

    amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5