Customer Reviews for

Holding On and Letting Go

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I love this book

    Henry David Thoreau famously wrote that "the mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation." That message, however, rarely gets passed along to young adults, who need a reminder that everyone they know--friends, parents, and teachers included--are all facing internal struggles, doubts, and fears. This novel, rather than relying upon two-dimensional characters filling a cliched role, captures that uncertainty and insecurity that only a teenager can feel. With characters with depth and relatable emotion, this novel truly breaks new ground for young adult novels and appeals to readers who are a older than the targeted young adults. Outside of Taylor Swift (first two albums only), the essence of young adult life is rarely captured as well as it is here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    A real page turner. Author brings characters to life Iaughed &am

    A real page turner. Author brings characters to life Iaughed &cried sometimes within same paragraph. Great teen and young adult book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down.  What stared as a light read ende

    I couldn't put this book down.  What stared as a light read ended up resonating with me so much that I couldn't fall asleep till I finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down. It shows how people react to trag

    I couldn't put this book down. It shows how people react to tragedy differently, and how to cope and move on without forgetting your loved ones. Although it brought me to tears this book is a must read for everyone. Can't wait to read the next book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    This story captures the struggle we have of maintaining our rela

    This story captures the struggle we have of maintaining our relationships while facing our own personal challenges. Everyone will be able to find a character they can identify with. I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    OMG!! I absolutely loved this book! I was a gifted a cop









    OMG!! I absolutely loved this book! I was a gifted a copy from the author, Lucy Kelly in return for an honest review! Let me tell you, once I started it I couldn't put it down. I was totally wrapped up in all the character's lives.  I felt like I was right there in the room with Em, going through all the emotions she was going through! I found myself cheering for her and her friends with every chapter.  Em lost her little brother Peter to leukemia but it was as if he was always right there with her, cheering her on as well. I finished this book with tears in my eyes, a lump in my throat......it was so bad at one point I had to send an email to Lucy and let her know what she was putting me through!  Job well done Lucy! I can't wait to continue on with this series so hurry up! Thank you so much for giving me the chance to read your book! Five stars all the way!! Read this book! You will not be sorry!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic heart-wrenching emotional roller coaster

    To be quite honest, this review is difficult for me to write. Not because this was a book I didn't like, but because it's a book that's left me completely speechless, and touched me in a way I wasn't expecting. This contemporary realistic fiction novel is, by far, one of the best books I have ever read. I can't remember a story that's made me cry as much as this one has, and I loved every minute of it. The situations and events in this story are so real, and so deep, it's impossible not to be moved.

    The main character, Emerson (Emmy), is a young woman I can relate to very well. Many of the things she went through in this story hit close to home, and I loved connecting to her throughout this book. I think she would be a very relatable character to anyone who's lost a loved one, especially a sibling. All her friends are characters with personalities I think anyone can relate to as well, and associate with someone in their own life. The depth of the realism these characters have, and that this story has created, is truly breathtaking. Every single character grows, and overcomes obstacles in their lives, which fills this story with inspiring triumphs and achievements.

    This is truly one of the best books I have ever read, it both in story, and simply in the writing. It flowed smoothly, and while there were editing mistakes, they were no match for the powerful story Mrs. Coleman created. Overall, this is a book I plan on keeping for a long time to come, and plan on reading many more times. I'd recommend this story to anyone who enjoys young-adult realistic fiction with innocent contemporary romance.

    *I was given an ecopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

     Review from Lisa Jane: The Cover: The cover is ok, simple and

     Review from Lisa Jane:

    The Cover: The cover is ok, simple and to the point. It drew my attention.
    The Characters: The characters were good but I had a hard time connecting with a couple of them (might be a fault of my own).
     The Story Line: The story line was simple yet intricate.
    The Writing Style:  It was fine, however there were some minor spelling errors that made me double read.
    The Ending:  the way the ending played out was surprising but probably the best part of the book.

    ...I didn't get to start this book right away when I received it so when I did get to it I had forgotten what it was about, thus no expectations from it.
    It started off alright and was very interesting. Gave you some questions you needed answers to and drew you into the story line.
    I found the characters to be good but lacking in some aspect and I can't quite put my finger on what it is. I had a hard time picturing Matt and Emmy but that may be a fault of my own since there was description and traits given.
    I loved the story line and how it relates to real life and young people today and it was well written in that aspect. I just wish it was a little more of a roller coaster ride. After the first few chapters it seemed to lull in the middle then towards the end it got exciting and I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed the spike towards the end.

    This book was good and I would recommend it to anyone, and I will - to my 16 year old daughter :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    I really loved this book ! I like the fact that it's realistic.

    I really loved this book !
    I like the fact that it's realistic.
    In realistic stories it is always worse when bad things happen, because you realise the same thing could happen to you any day.
    And these kind of books make you realise how lucky you are with what you have, and that's why I thought this book was absolutely beautiful. 

    While I was reading this book i couldn't stop thinking about 'my sister's keeper' and I actually smiled when I read Matt's last name is Fitzgerald :D

    I would like to thank the author for this absolutely beautiful and awesome book ! :)Don't hesitate, just read this book ! You won't regret it ! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a deeply emotional read for me! After losing both

    This was such a deeply emotional read for me! After losing both my mom and maternal grandfather to brain cancer before I even hit high school, I'm all too familiar with the weight of grief that manifests in anger, sadness, loneliness, and just plain hurt. Every time Emerson visited her brother's grave and spoke to him, I cried. When she heard a girl making fun of her deceased brother, I cried. Who makes fun of a deceased little boy like that by the way?? I wanted to wring that girl's neck. Every emotion Emerson felt, I felt it too. We seemed to be kindred spirits. 

    The book alternates between Emerson and her best friend Matt's point of view. The way Emerson describes her pain resonated with me, and the things she said are things I've said before. I was particularly struck when she said she has a hard time even just breathing and getting out of bed in the morning - I know what she's talking about. There were times I had to put down the book to catch my own breath. There is no better way the author could have expressed the toll grief takes on a person.

    Matt's deep love for Emerson shows the strength of his character. He wants to love Emerson through this time, and what else can you do when someone you love is suffering from something you can't change or take away? He isn't afraid of the depth of Emerson's despair, and he doesn't give up no matter how many times she pushes him away. It's obvious Matt is wise beyond his years and cares about what's really important in life and not the silly superficiality of high school. How many guys his age can you say that about? 

    I think there are times when a person becomes comfortable in his/her own grief - not that feeling miserable is what the person prefers but rather the person is afraid to move forward and do something to alleviate the pain. One worries that by letting go and accepting what's happened, the deceased loved one will be forgotten, not to mention that taking the first step forward is the hardest. This is why it's absolutely crucial that the person has all the support he/she needs. Matt was that support system for Emerson, and his perseverance in being there for her no matter what impressed me. 

    I just could not and would not put this book down. I went through the entire spectrum of emotions while reading, and it was cathartic for me. I found myself examining how much progress I've made moving forward in my own life since losing significant loved ones and was surprised to see I've come a long way from where I began. It's amazing! And this is just the beginning to a series in which I'm really looking forward to where the author takes us next. :D 

    I received a copy gifted from the author for an honest review as part of her blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holding On and Letting Go by Lucy A. Kelly (5/5- Book Tour)

    Holding On and Letting Go by Lucy A. Kelly (5/5- Book Tour)




    Provided by the Author




    I absolutely love this book, it has a lot of the elements that make this story a page-turner. From the first page to the very end, I found myself completely immersed in the world of Emerson Caulfield, a sixteen year old whose life has been full of eventful events since the day she was born. Her parents have stopped acting as parents and she has lost her little brother as a young girl. Taken to France by her parents, Emerson leaves everything behind, including her best friend Matt. It wasn't long after that, that she comes back to where everything started and it doesn't take long before her life starts to take her into new a new path. What I like about this book is that the point-of-view changes back and forth between Emerson and Matt. It definitely helped me understand them more and their situations. Every single character in the book has its challenges and problems. I also like how everyone evolves and grows throughout the story. Not only were the characters easy to relate to, but they also had compelling backgrounds. The author does a very good job describing the story and it is also very well-written. There were moments were I found myself attached to the characters and as the story progressed it was very hard to put down. Matt and Emerson's story is one that everyone needs to read, not only is this book full of sweet moments between them, but it is also full of mystery that will leave you wanting to know more. I recommend this story to those that love contemporary young adult novels, full of romance and self discovery. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Awesome

    This is the kind of book that makes you want to finish it in one night! Hope the author considers another book soon:) Might be interesting to write a story from the Em and Peter's parent's point of view. I will keep an eye out for future books for sure!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1